We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVE ME SOME HH” 5 of 5 stars
Review of HogsHead Kitchen and Wine Bar

HogsHead Kitchen and Wine Bar
1555 Fording Island Rd. Ste. D, Hilton Head Island, Hilton Head, SC 29926
843.837.4647
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 319 Restaurants in Hilton Head
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Seafood, Wine Bar
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Bluffton, South Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“LOVE ME SOME HH”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

This is on my list of top restaurants in area. The Chef and staff have taken everyday fare and made it fresh and new. Love everything about HH. Food,drinks, staff and decor ++++++++++++++++.
back very soon for some Shrimp and grits and chicken waffles. a must for locals and tourist who want to taste the south

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    29
    8
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Augusta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

I wish we had found this gem sooner on our trip rather than our last night at Hilton Head! The menu got us so excited... everything was so different and sounded delicious. I had the coconut shrimp curry. Delish! My husband loved his scallops, shrimp, and mussle pasta dish. They have the best dessert selection. We had the chocolate sampler. OMG! Soooo good! This place will be our first stop the next time we vacation here. Until then, we willl be dreaming of it!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Upscale food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Don't let the unusual name fool you. This restaurant is top notch. Everything is made from scratch even the pasta. It is hard competing with all the great restaurants in Hilton Head but they are right on par. They take reservations even during high season which are recommended.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Eclectic Menu and YUMMY food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

This small restaurant in a little strip mall off 278 is one of the best meals in the area. The menu is an eclectic mix of everyday foods with a twist (Rosemary Caesar Dressing). The portion sizes are large and the wait staff is experienced and professional. They have an outside covered seating area and had a small band playing on the evening we were there. Save room for dessert. The homemade chocolate sampler is WONDERFUL!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head Island
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Professional & Polished but Relaxed and Welcoming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

This great place is right across the bridge from Hilton Head Island at the Moss Creek Center, but hardly a problem, and we came from the southernmost part of the island. As soon as we walked in, we knew someone knew what they were doing. The ambiance was sophisticated but in a relaxed way. Polished wood, real candles in the votive lights, white tablecloths and cool light fixtures added to the warm welcome we received at the door. We sat at the bar and a bartender named Malea was on duty. She was professional and polished, but warm and relaxed like the ambiance. The menu was refreshingly different for the area " - again sophisticated and polished but still "approachable". The presentation was great with a crisp black napkin under each unusual dish set on a white plate. Places around here rarely go through that extra step anymore and I appreciated it. Everything we tried was delicious! The quality was superb and the prices most appropriate for the offerings. Only one problem, we ate too much! We highly recommend this spot if you want to get away from the island crowds. We can't wait to return!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed HogsHead Kitchen and Wine Bar also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to HogsHead Kitchen and Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HogsHead Kitchen and Wine Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.