We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food but not comfortable seating for a long meal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of HogsHead Kitchen and Wine Bar

HogsHead Kitchen and Wine Bar
1555 Fording Island Rd. Ste. D, Hilton Head Island, Hilton Head, SC 29926
843.837.4647
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #39 of 290 Restaurants in Hilton Head
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Seafood, Wine Bar
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Bluffton, South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food but not comfortable seating for a long meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

The food and service was excellent. However, we sat on the banquette along the wall of the main dining room. The banquette is actually a church pew, as described in the restaurant web page background section. I was in pain after our 90 minute lunch that included 3 courses and French wine. The other chairs were hard also, I noticed. The place mats were too small for the plates and I am not sure if they were changed for each customer. However, the restaurant had nice decor as far as the pictures on the wall and other decorations. I enjoyed looking around as I ate. I think the wine masked how much pain was in. I have lower back problems and should have paid more attention to where I was sitting.
The management was very friendly and visible. They seemed to care about their clients so perhaps they will consider the following request:
I wish the restaurant would add cushions to the banquette.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    29
    8
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food and awesome service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

First time here and believe me we will be back! I personally had the sweet potato chowder and it was perfect. Service was excellent. Great combinations and reasonable prices!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton SC
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Best restaurant off island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Had our anniversary dinner at the hogshead restaurant ...pleasantly surprised one of the best restaurants off island and near Bluffton South Carolina. The mussel appetizer best I've ever tasted. Local swordfish was special of day. Excellent food and service

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

Loved this restaurant .....amazing food and sat outdoors to listen to a fun band!! Food was outstanding-make sure to add this to your lists of must do's in HH

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Strange name, but ....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

This new addition to he greater Hilton Head scene was a good surprise.

Based on the name, we expected a BBQ joint. But no. This is a upscale french restaurant with really good food. The name is based on the hogshead barrel used in France to age wine!!!

The young owners are very customer friendly and mingle with diners in a professional way (ready to chat when asked, but respectful of privacy when not).

Our party of four enjoyed an excellent dinner and will be back.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed HogsHead Kitchen and Wine Bar also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to HogsHead Kitchen and Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HogsHead Kitchen and Wine Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.