We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good enough” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort

Save Saved
You added Inn at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Inn at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7 Lighthouse Lane, Hilton Head, SC 29928   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off + $50 Credit
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Hilton Head
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Good enough”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

The Sea Pines area of Hilton Head Island is geared more toward vacation rentals (condos, homes), so there really aren't many traditional hotels to choose from. That said, relatively speaking, the Inn at Harbour Town probably has the best hotel accommodations on the island.

This place pretty much lives up to expectations for its location and price range; however, I do wish the beds were a little softer (they felt almost firm), the bathrooms had a double sink, and the toilet was in a separate room. As I was traveling with family, these two bathroom improvements could have made getting ready a little easier.

There is a new pool on the Inn's back patio, and it is absolutely lovely. They envision an area of tranquility for this site, but a pool's a pool... fun will be had, There's also a more raucous shared pool in front of the Inn, beyond the tennis courts.

One thing to note is that there is no beach nearby. You need to bike, drive or take the island trolley to get to one. You might notice from a satellite search a small strip of beach near the harbor lighthouse, but this is (in my opinion) disgusting and un-swimmable.

If/when I return to Hilton Head, I'll probably look into a rental closer to a beach.

-Don't forget to stop at the Sea Pines welcome center (off Greenwood Drive, just beyond the roundabout- right-hand side), just before the Sea Pines gate, to get your pass that allows you "free" entry into the Sea Pines Resort area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    56
    12
    5
    5
See reviews for
59
160
7
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

Nice room, no problems at all with anything in our room. One small hiccup at check-in that was fixed the next day. We later got a hand-written card and bottle of champagne from the manager apologizing for the error. It wasn't a huge mistake but I still found it quite nice that they took the time to do that.
Coffee each morning on the floor was nice.
All the staff around the entire resort was super nice and cheerful.
Even though there were a ton of people all over, it was a nice stay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

First the good stuff: beautiful place with pleasant amenities; large bathroom with deep tub, nice tile and overhead shower; pleasant staff; tea/coffee service every morning was nice; bikes available at no charge
Not so good: staff pleasant but ineffective and not particularly well trained--little stuff that adds up so you can't help but notice--they remembered our name, but didn't pronounce it correctly and never asked if they had it right; upon arriving we put "do not disturb" on our door, and at 5:30 had a call noting that the sign was out, but were we going to want turn down service (what part of do no disturb is not clear?--noted that turn down runs from 5 to 10 pm!); on a weekday, mid-stay there was a business group with a reception on the patio, playing LOUD amplified music, starting about 5:30, very unpleasant in our room even though we were not directly over or next to the patio--we went to dinner and it was still going strong at 8:50--desk had no idea when they were quitting and were unable to allow us to speak to a manager, despite our calm and pleasant request. Next day told the manager in a constructive way that I understood their need to host events, but that perhaps, especially for a reception such as the previous night's, they could specify non-amplified music or a limit on the volume as it is disturbing when you want to relax in the room. Manager asked me "do you want a gift card or something toward a future stay?" (not "I will mail you a gift card and I apologize for the inconvenience and will forward your comments to our management team")--By the way, I declined her offer, noting that I was trying to help them, and did not want compensation. Maid service was ok, but should have been impeccable--things like they forgot the ice bucket liner every day and didn't always replenish products. When I asked for an explanation of my bill and the charges to my Amex, the desk staff could not explain things concisely and clearly. For the price, I think there are better places to stay.

Room Tip: ask for a room at the end of the hall--on the 2nd floor there was a small function room that had a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPRMarketing, Marketing Manager at Inn at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at The Inn at Harbour Town. We regret that your experience was not what you anticipated.

The housekeeping and front desk staffs work together in the evenings to follow-up with every room that has a privacy sign to confirm a convenient time for their evening turndown service. Some guests prefer their privacy; however the phone call and attentive service is typically appreciated and provides guests with an option. It also provides our thoughtful staff an opportunity to bring ice, clean towels, water or any of the bathroom amenities that need to be replenished.

On the occasions that we host an event on the Inn terrace, we make certain that the event has concluded, and the music is turned off at a reasonable hour, as not to disturb our guests. In this particular instance we instructed the guest that the event would end at 9pm, which was the case. We apologize for the disturbance it may have caused, although this is very rarely an issue.

We regret that you encountered these atypical experiences with our staff; we can assure you that all staff at The Sea Pines Resort emphasizes quality and unparalleled customer service. We typically receive overwhelming positive feedback regarding our unparalleled customer service and professionalism.

Again, thank you for your feedback and know that we aim provide highest level of service possible for our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seabrook Island, SC
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Our arrival was met by a lovely hotel intern who gave us the grand tour. Our room overlooked the first hole of the famed Harbour Town golf course and was more than adequate--loved the Molton Brown toiletries. We booked a pkg that Included breakfast that was by individual order and very pleasant on the outdoor terrace. Complimentary bicycles were available and we biked to the forest preserve. We walked to the harbor for drinks before dinner and had prebooked two dinners at wonderful Hilton Head restaurants, Trattoria Divina and The Jazz Corner. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Inn which was also next to the very active racquet club.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livonia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

The entire staff was very sweet, professional and attentive. The staff, their friendly care and attention to details make this hotel special! This would be the only place we would consider staying when we return. We didn't golf but the course looked very nice home of the RBC Heritage classic. The pool was very nice with a great view of the course. Breakfast was very good with a peaceful setting overlooking the first tee. The beach club made for a special day at the beach. The food at the beach was just ok and the beach chairs and umbrella was extra but the nap by the waves was worth it! The hotel offers free use of bikes which was nice and a free trolley. Tennis courts looked in top shape but we didn't use our complementary time. Sunset boat ride was nice. A very nice three night stop between Savannah and Charleston. We ventured off the resort to Raun Thai for a very good tasty dinner.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Buddy Trip to Hilton Head to play golf.

The room was great, large lcd tv, fine amenities, nice sized balcony overlooking the first hole of Harbour Town Golf Links.

We took advantage of the van service at the hotel which will take you all over Sea Pines, as well as the free bikes included in the stay.

Service was perfect and very personal, we had only good things to say about our time there and look forward to returning to Sea Pines soon.

We did enjoy breakfast on the veranda on one of the mornings which was delicious and timely enough to allow us to make our tee time at Harbour Town across the way.

Grounds are immaculate, a great place to stay. I think the pricing is on the higher end of hilton head, but I believe they deliver value for it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I stayed here with my husband for three nights over Memorial Day weekend. This hotel is fabulous! We had such a great stay. The entire staff was friendly, efficient and very helpful. We requested a room with a view of the golf course which is a must-do. I had informed the hotel during booking that we would be celebrating our anniversary while we were there, and they left us champagne and a handwritten note one of the nights. We also received a $50 gift card to any of the Sea Pines restaurants. Seriously, this hotel went above and beyond and we were wowed the entire stay. I would recommend the Inn to anyone, but especially couples or families with older children. We did not even have time to check out the amazing golf course or tennis facilities, but they are top notch. We walked the three minutes over to Harbour Town for dinner each night, as this is the perfect location! I cannot say enough good things about the Inn at Harbour Town! Stay here! We will again!

Room Tip: Request a view of the golf course!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort

Address: 7 Lighthouse Lane, Hilton Head, SC 29928
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Inn at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the intimate atmosphere of The Inn at Harbour Town, located within The Sea Pines Resort’s 5,000-acre estate. This award-winning, AAA Four Diamond, Forbes Four Star property and Preferred Hotels & Resorts member features 60 deluxe guest rooms complete with all the finest amenities, such as personal butler service, turn-down service, valet parking and 24-hour room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Inn at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Harbour Town - Sea Pines Hotel Hilton Head
Hotel At Harbour Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.