We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad start to our relaxing vac” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Inn at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort to your Saves list
Inn at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7 Lighthouse Lane, Hilton Head, SC 29928   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off + $50 Credit
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Hilton Head
Seattle, WA
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Bad start to our relaxing vac”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Do not put the Inn's address in your GPS, you cannot get in until you check in at the "Welcome Center". Very frustrating.
The Welcome Center is on Greenwood Drive on the right as you approach the Sea Pine gate.
Also they give you a "guest amenity card" at check in which they tell you is good for 10% off, but we did not see where... If you use it just to charge to your room you'll be okay, don't think it's really going to give you a discount.

Love the morning coffee/tea service. The oatmeal with fruit compote was wonderful!

Also loved their turn down service including chocolates, who does that anymore?!?

terrible pillows, we're used to down.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPRMarketing, Marketing Manager at Inn at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent visit to The Inn at Harbour Town. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our evening turndown service, as well as the breakfast.

We apologize your arrival at The Sea Pines Resort what not what you had anticipated. We do our very best to inform guests of our check-in process prior to arrival. Every guest receives information in an email confirmation regarding the check-in process at The Sea Pines Welcome Center as well as a pre-arrival concierge call.

Guests of The Sea Pines Resort are entitled to valuable discounts and charging privileges courtesy of the Guest Amenity Card. Guests receive 10 percent off all of the resort’s restaurants and retail locations, such as: Harbour Town Grill; Topside Waterfront Restaurant, the Harbour Town Bakery & Café; as well as the Harbour Town Golf Links pro shop and Sea Pines Racquet Club. For a complete list of restaurants and retail locations providing a valuable discount courtesy of the Guest Amenity Card, please visit our website: www.seapines.com/guestcard

We appreciate our guests’ feedback and do all we can to provide the highest level of service possible for our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    57
    13
    5
    5
See reviews for
61
177
8
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cary, NC
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

I had to cancel a reservation I had made at the Inn. Upon checking the confirmation sent by the hotel, I noticed there was no place to cancel on the e-mail. I called the hotel to cancel and was told by them that I would have to go to the main Internet site to cancel to avoid paying a fee. She also explained that I would have to enter the confirmation number without the first letter. This is ridiculous and shows a total lack of customer service. This necessitated going to the confirmation to write down the number and then going to the main site to cancel. By the way, had I not called and been told to omit the first letter, there was no indication on the main site that this was necessary.
Reviews of room, cleanliness and location are based on prior visits.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPRMarketing, Marketing Manager at Inn at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
We deeply regret that you did not enjoy the high level of customer service typically experienced by our guests and appreciate your feedback. The Sea Pines Resort continually strives to provide the highest level of customer service possible, to ensure that our discerning guests enjoy an experience they expect and deserve; we apologize that you were provided with incorrect information and disappointing customer service. Our professional reservation agents will gladly modify or cancel a reservation at no cost, as long as it is within our cancellation window. We thank you for your comments and encourage you to visit the Inn at Harbour Town this summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We just returned from THe Inn at Harbour Town.....everything is 5 star....the rooms are beautiful, gracious, and perfectly decorated. And the bed..... perfect.....great sheets, duvet.....maybe the best we've ever slept in! And, now that thy have added a pool...it is perfect for any get-away.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room that overlooks the golf course AND has a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Don't get me wrong the rooms were really nice and the service at the Inn was great but the architectural style of the overall property is outdated. Very 80's. Just not what i was expecting for the price...Plus, the breakfast menu was very limited:(

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPRMarketing, Marketing Manager at Inn at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at The Inn at Harbour Town and for sharing your comments.

We are continually striving to offer premier amenities that our valued guests deserve and expect, which is why we completely revitalized and refreshed The Inn at Harbour Town in September 2011, even though it was only slightly more than a decade old at that time.

We are also in the midst of an exciting resort redevelopment updating many of our facilities and amenities. For more information about all of the exciting changes, click here: www.seapines.com/development.com

The Inn at Harbour Town is also featuring a brand new breakfast menu, as well as all day poolside menu, to accompany the brand new luxurious boutique pool.

We thank you again for your feedback and hope you will include The Inn at Harbour Town among your future vacation plans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed 4 nights at the hotel and slept well every night. The room was beautiful, down to the art on the walls - no floral posters framed in plastic here!
However, the pool was closed and the pool that was made available wasn't heated.
Additionally, our 8 year old daughters were walking around the back patio/grassy area when a hotel employee came outside and, not having seen our children, casually mentioned the crocodile that lives on the hotel/golf course property! When we told her our girls are on the grass she went to red alert to et them on the patio. Perhaps a sign would have been helpful! I had nightmares for several nights!!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed at the Inn for 3 nights in March 2013 and had a really excellent time. We had originally wanted to stay at the Inn for 4 nights but it wasn't available on our first night. We took the first night at the Omni resort instead so were able to compare the difference between the two hotels. While the Omni was nice (although still ongoing major construction) and great value at half the price of the Inn, the Inn is far and away the better hotel. The location is just great too, with the ability to have a nice stroll in the evening for dinner and drinks at the Harbour Town itself, rather than have to drive everywhere.

The Inn at Harbour Town hotel itself is lovely, with a real luxury feel, as was the room we stayed in - with a view over the golf course. Noticed that some rooms had balconys which ours didn't and it would have been a nice addiiton, but not sure how much extra it would have been. The room was so nice anyway, that we didn't even bother to ask. The Molton Brown goodies in the bathroom were great too!

The pool construction didn't bother us in the slightest, and the staff were at pains to highlight it to us and welcomed us to come to them if there was anything about it that inconvenienced us. No need, there was no impact at all. When it is finished, I am sure it will be lovely, but a bit small to be classed as a swimming pool I think. Probably more a nice area for a splash around to cool off, not sure if you would actually be able to swim in it.

I don't play golf, but my husband does and the golf pro was very accommodating making it all easy to arrange for us. Because I go round with my husband in the buggy, we like to go out ourselves if possible, and while that is pretty easy in the UK with no questions asked unless it is REALLY busy, it always seems to be a headache in the US. No worries in Sea Pines - hassle free.

I'd recommend the nearby bakery for pastries/snacks, but didn't use it for lunch. The Crazy Crab at the Harbour was great for dinner, as was the Quarterdeck. Both nice and relaxed atmospheres. Fish tacos at Quarterdeck were great!

Room Tip: Golf view rooms will be better, and if it's not too pricey get a balcony - although don't fe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davenport, Iowa
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Read other reviews so knew to ask for a room, with deck overlooking the golf course. Got a great room. Very comfortable bed so we slept well. Crummy weather so didn't do much but eat and ride bikes. Loved the beach. We rode bikes there each day-sometimes twice a day! Checked out the umbrellas conveniently placed by the door. Used the Inn's computer to print plane tickets. Coffee, tea and hot chocolate available every day. The pool will make a nice addition to a charming inn. Friendly and helpful staff. Was never disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort

Address: 7 Lighthouse Lane, Hilton Head, SC 29928
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hilton Head
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Inn at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the intimate atmosphere of The Inn at Harbour Town, located within The Sea Pines Resort’s 5,000-acre estate. This award-winning, AAA Four Diamond, Forbes Four Star property and Preferred Hotels & Resorts member features 60 deluxe guest rooms complete with all the finest amenities, such as personal butler service, turn-down service, valet parking and 24-hour room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Inn at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Harbour Town - Sea Pines Hotel Hilton Head
Hotel At Harbour Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.