We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rated #1 in Hilton Head, and rightly so” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort

Save Saved
You added Inn at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Booking.com
and 4 more sites!
Inn at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7 Lighthouse Lane, Hilton Head, SC 29928   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 26 hotels in Hilton Head
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Rated #1 in Hilton Head, and rightly so”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Yes, it's expensive. Yes, it's nice. It's not on the water, but there is so much more to Hilton Head than the beach. Especially if you play golf - which we do not! But I wanted to stay some place a bit more upscale than the Hilton (which is very nice) and so we tried this place, which was only about $50 a night more expensive. We were greeted by the porter as we drove up, and he unloaded the car and took us inside to check-in. Once we had done that, our concierge took us to our room and for a brief tour of the resort. The room was impeccable, triple sheeted beds, nice TV with DVD, thousands of pillows, granite counters in the large tiled bathroom. Turn-down service, housekeeping came at least twice a day to clean up after us, great service, beautiful location. Harbour town is within walking distance and is very nice as well with some shops, several restaurants and all of the neat boats to look at. The only complaint I had with the hotel is that the room had one of those central A/C units (not a typical window unit) which was rather quiet and came on and off as needed. Problem is - I prefer a constant, loud unit (like most hotels have) because that helps to mask the noise from the neighboring rooms and the drunks loudly staggering up the hallway after a late night.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    204
    53
    12
    5
    4
See reviews for
55
141
4
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lutherville,md
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Last weekend, my wife and I with another couple went to Hilton Head. We flew to Savannah and drove the short distance to Hilton Head.

The Inn at Harbour Town is at the end of the Island and part of the Preferred Hotel group. Only 3 stories high and 60 rooms. It sits next to one of the 3 golf courses on that part of the island. There are 2 room views- the tennis court and the golf course with the later being about a $ 20.00 upcharge.Both are very nice. There is a good Spa very close to the hotel but not on the premisis. The hotel will take you to the SPA. The hotel has many bicycles for guests free of change. There also is no charge for the gym or wireless internet. YOu also get 2 hours of free tennis time on their courts.

Room Tip: We got one on the first floor # 101, very quiet and at the end of the hallway but this one did not h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, South Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We've stayed and relaxed together with my son and nephew for a quick boy's only weekend at the Inn at Harbour Town in early June this year.

The room was very spacious, with state of the art amenities, and the price compared to any other 4 start hotel we stayed in before was very attractive.

The hotel and rooms were way above our expectations, the butler service was courteous and irreproachable, and the concierge service was as helpful as it can be to help us reserve activities throughout the weekend.

We've enjoyed the beautiful Sea Pines Resort by biking, playing tennis, visiting historical sites, enjoying a dolphin cruise and relaxing at the beach - activities which kept us all the time entertained and relaxed during our getaway.

We want to thank the Inn and resort staff for the wonderful time, and we are looking forward to return next year for yet another memorable "boy's weekend!"

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, ca
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

This is a small three story hotel which places a very heavy emphasis on personal service. Very comparable to the service at a Four Seasons hotel.

The hotel is located within a large gated community known as Sea Pines. When you arrive at the gate, you first have to park and enter the Welcome Center to receive your parking pass. The staff must call ahead to the hotel, because by the time you arrive (about a 5 minute drive from the gate), the bellman at the door greets you by name. That is typical of the service provided here. The front desk is not a counter, but two desks in the lobby offering concierge service.

There is a small bar in the lobby, and breakfast is also served in the lobby. The breakfast includes a selecition of fruits and baked goods, and fresh to order omelettes.

As mentioned in other reviews, the main activities that are connected with the hotel are golf and tennis.

In the large room, the beds are very comfortable. The oversize bath tup has a menu of special treatments that you can order from a butler.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

It is really important to understand that this is a GOLF resort. This is not a typical beach or pool resort.

It is absolutely beautiful, very exclusive, very remote and very golf. Rooms are top notch. The whole staff is British.

Things to understand about your stay.
The #1 Tee is right out the back door
There are probably 25 clay tennis courts out the front door
There is a pool.... maybe 100 yards from the hotel. It is just a pool, similar to a club house pool in a subdivision. There was no drink or food service there.
The beach access is a 5 minute drive.
Everybody rides bikes to get around
The nearest store for amenities is a gas station on the compound, they do have everything you need though.
The beach areas is very nice with a bar and grill. Chairs and umbrellas are available for rent, but no pool.
We had friends that went Kayaking and really enjoyed it.
This is a 5000 acre compound with several pro level golf courses, with tons of out door things to do, but dont think you are going to be pampered at a pool.
>>>>> RENT A CAR <<<<< Taxi from airport is over $70

All in all, it was a beautiful stay. Great service, Great Golf

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the golf course
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redlands california
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

The service at the Inn is near the best I have ever encountered. The setting on the golf course is beautiful. The rooms are quite luxurious. The one flaw is the Inn does not have a restaurant or an adequate kitchen on the premises. The breakfast is average to good at best. The room service food was just about the level of MacDonalds. In fact, it was so bad, I complained and to their credit they treated me to a free dinner at the adjacent Harbour Town Grill. Stay here. Do not eat here.

Room Tip: Great place to stay. Do not eat here. Especially do not order room service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPRMarketing, Marketing Manager at Inn at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you for choosing The Inn at Harbour Town and for sharing your comments.

Situated within The Sea Pines Resort on Hilton Head Island, our luxurious Forbes Four Star, AAA Four Diamond inn offers personal 24-hour butler service to ensure that all of our guests enjoy an unforgettable experience.

While the inn does not currently encompass an onsite restaurant, guests of The Inn at Harbour Town enjoy: 24-hour room service; a deluxe continental breakfast, including made-to-order omelets, served daily in the inn’s Tartan Lounge; and convenient access to several outstanding Sea Pines Resort restaurants, such as the Harbour Town Grill – just steps from the inn – and the Harbour Town Bakery & Café – famous for its freshly baked items.

We regret that your dining experience was not consistent with the experience typically enjoyed by our guests, but thank you for your valued feedback and hope you will consider The Inn at Harbour Town among your future travel plans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Stayed at the Inn for a 5 day getaway. We had fabulous weather every day. We were impressed with the Inn from the start, the staff was gracious and so polite, it was beautifully decorated and so convenient to everything. We loved being able to take a short walk into Harbour Town for dinner and shopping. We golfed at all three golf courses within Sea Pines and recommend all of them. We had spa treatments at Le Spa and were very happy with the service and reasonable spa prices. We enjoyed two dinners at Topside, one at Harbour Town Grille and one off site at EAT. All dinners were enjoyable. We enjoyed lunch at Salty Dog and at the Lakeside Pub before golf. We would recommend both. Also would recommend a day trip to Savannah, wonderful art galleries and the City Market is worth checking out as well. Take advantage of the complimentary bikes at the Inn. Also the coffee on each floor in the morning was a nice treat and gave us time to relax and read the paper in our room before breakfast.Breakfast at the hotel is good as well as at the Harbour Town Bakery. We had a 2nd floor corner king, very large room. The bathrooms are luxurious. The staff were so polite and friendly and the inn was small enough that they referred to us by name. All in all we could not have asked for a better experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Inn at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort

Also Known As:
Inn At Harbour Town - Sea Pines Hotel Hilton Head
Inn At Harbour Town - Sea Pines Hotel
Hotel At Harbour Town
Address: 7 Lighthouse Lane, Hilton Head, SC 29928
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Inn at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the intimate atmosphere of The Inn at Harbour Town, located within The Sea Pines Resort’s 5,000-acre estate. This award-winning, AAA Four Diamond, Forbes Four Star property and Preferred Hotels & Resorts member features 60 deluxe guest rooms complete with all the finest amenities, such as personal butler service, turn-down service, valet parking and 24-hour room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Inn at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.