We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service surprising experience.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Harbour Point and Sunset Pointe at Shelter Cove

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott's Harbour Point and Sunset Pointe at Shelter Cove to your Saves list
Marriott's Harbour Point and Sunset Pointe at Shelter Cove
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4 Shelter Cove Lane, Hilton Head, SC 29928   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi For Members
Ranked #8 of 27 Hotels in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
Franklin, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great service surprising experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

I just stayed here and was a bit scared I made the wrong mive due to not being on the beach. Wow was I surprised by the quaint location, and great staff. Its small but in a very good way and you wont be bored. Dont be scared of the beach access. The shuttle they run to the beach is better than driving...trust me on that since there is no parking at the beach. Also, the closer time shares appear to be a bit of a drag getting your stuff to the beach. I'll be back for sure!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Harbour Point and Sunset Pointe at Shelter Cove, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Thank you for your five-star review, Scott! We are thrilled our quaint location fulfilled your expectations and enhanced your vacation experience! You comments and tips are greatly appreciated and will be shared with our team. Thank you again for staying with us and we hope we will see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

I've been visiting Hilton Head since Sea Pines was being developed, and have always stayed near the back gate of Sea Pines. I love that area, but have always missed seeing the beautiful sunsets that I see at other beach locations. Recently I visited a relative staying at Marriott's Harbour Point and Sunset Point and immediately fell in love with it and wondered how I had missed this place all these years. The marsh, harbor and wildlife is really great but the sunsets are some of the prettiest I've ever seen. The units have been updated and are tastefully decorated, and the staff there seems to be very friendly and engaged in making sure your vacation is truly enjoyable If these were condo's for sale, I'd buy one today! I will be back to visit soon.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room with a great sunset view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tripturn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We love Hilton Head because of all the fun things to do such as the beach, tennis, golf and biking not to mention the great seafood. For many years, we have been during the July 4th holiday and have stayed at Harbour Point. It is something we all look forward to doing since it is in a great location and the room we have is up on the fifth floor overlooking the sound. We were pleasantly surprised at the great upgraded renovations that were done to our unit. New carpet, new stainless steel appliances which included a washing machine and dryer that could handle bigger loads. The clean unit was beautifully decorated including the second bedroom and bathroom. I do like the split plan. My favorites about the place includes the tennis clinics every morning with a super great pro that has been there for a few years and remembers his students! The courts are clay and lighted. Also, there is a shuttle that with a phone call will come by to take you to the beach or nearby locations. The beach is about a 6 minute ride to Palmetto Dunes Beach House and you can rent bikes at the Marriott and ride on the paved bike paths. Shelter Cove is less than 5 minutes away by bike. The property offers a lot for a family to do and build fun memories. There are pools with updated lounge chairs, ping pong and other planned activities. Nice built in grills are provided in certain common locations and bench swings to sit and enjoy the great views. They do offer shuffle board and bocce ball and indoor Wii games. Fitness center has a good variety of free weight equipment and enough things for a basic workout since it is a small room. There is shopping nearby and you are not far from my favorite grocery store, Publix! Just when you get into your routine of relaxing activities, it is time to pack up and leave. Maybe two weeks next time!

Room Tip: I would not be near the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Dottie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Harbour Point and Sunset Pointe at Shelter Cove, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Thank you for your TripAdvisor review! We are pleased to hear you both had a nice experience at the resort and enjoyed many of the activities including the tennis clinic. Your comments regarding your vacation experience is greatly appreciated and will be shared with our team. We look forward to seeing you again soon, maybe even for two weeks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McCormick, SC
Level Contributor
294 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

It depends on which unit you stay in. If you're in Sunset, bldg. 6, and you are in 6101, 6201, 6301, or 6401 you will not have a good view of the water. If a good water view is important to you, avoid these units. Other than this the resort is very good. Shelter Cove is located mid island with plenty of all kinds of shopping near by.

Room Tip: See comments regarding rooms with poor views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank captmorgan40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miamisburg, OH
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Stayed here for a week in mid May 2014. Was very impressed with how clean and well maintained the property was. The rooms were up to date with furnishings and appliances, and everything worked perfectly. It was also very quite and peaceful for the most part. I guess you will always have screaming kids by the pool. To me, the view of Broad Creek and the activities (boats, wildlife) is much better than any ocean view. The Shuttle service to the beach was quick and painless.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OhioLax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

4th time at this resort. Nice to see the units have been updated - at least the Osprey building. First part of the week it was cool enough to have the windows open - they only open 2 inches each, but by Thursday when the heat set in the aircon did not keep up with heat at the end suite (305) very nice for the sunset view became a sauna in the late afternoon.
Easy ride on the bikes over to the beach and short walk (about a mile) to the new Krogers in the Shelter Cove shopping mall that is under massive transformation.

Room Tip: Osprey 305 is an end unit so has the additional side window along with 105, 205 and 405. very nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Harbour Point and Sunset Pointe at Shelter Cove, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
We are delighted you enjoyed the updated villas, Phil! Thank you for your positive TripAdvisor review and we look forward to hosting you again at Marriott's Harbour Point & Sunset Pointe!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Mirada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

We stayed at Harbour Point May 14 for one week and enjoyed every minute of our vacation. The rooms were clean and spacious and we had all the conveniences of home. Our room was located on the 4th floor with a view of the bay and a small pond outside of our balcony. The rooms appeared to be updated and the weather was in the mid 70's for this time of the year. We experienced rain in the late evening on one day, but it was a welcome change from the 100 degree weather we had been experiencing in California. A small alligator in the pond came out every day and we nicknamed him or her Wally. We experienced a wine tasting social on one evening and a chocolate tasting on another day, which were both very enjoyable. We walked over to the Shelter Cove marina which was very close by and had a good time visiting the shops and stores and we ate dinner at La Fontane which had good food and a nice view of the harbour. We visited Charleston, Savannah, Bluffton which has a great restaurant named Buffalos at Palmeto Dunes, and we visited Pickney Wildlife Preserve and Beaufort which we really enjoyed. We enjoy the outdoors so seeing green trees and being able to go on day hiking trips made our vacation memorable. Be sure to also see Sea Pines Plantation and the Harbour lighthouse.

Room Tip: We stayed in a top level corner room which are always sunnier and brighter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelerLaMirada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Harbour Point and Sunset Pointe at Shelter Cove, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Thank you for your review of Marriott's Harbour Point & Sunset Pointe! We are happy your family enjoyed the many activities and wildlife at the resort! Thank you for staying with us on Hilton Head Island and we hope you will return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
5.3 mi away
Inn & Club at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort
3.7 mi away
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
#7 of 27 in Hilton Head
4.5 of 5 stars 559 reviews
3.0 mi away
Beach House, a Holiday Inn Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines
Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines
#10 of 27 in Hilton Head
4.5 of 5 stars 238 reviews
1.5 mi away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
3.4 mi away
Marriott's Grande Ocean
Marriott's Grande Ocean
#3 of 27 in Hilton Head
4.5 of 5 stars 612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Harbour Point and Sunset Pointe at Shelter Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Harbour Point and Sunset Pointe at Shelter Cove

Address: 4 Shelter Cove Lane, Hilton Head, SC 29928
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 27 Hotels in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Harbour Point and Sunset Pointe at Shelter Cove 3.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Marriott's Harbour Point and Sunset Pointe at Shelter Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Harbour Point And Sunset Pointe At Shelter Cove Hotel Hilton Head
Marriott Hotel Hilton Head
Marriott Hilton Head
Hilton Head Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing