We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save Saved
You added Marriott's Harbour Point and Sunset Pointe at Shelter Cove to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Marriott's Harbour Point and Sunset Pointe at Shelter Cove
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4 Shelter Cove Lane, Hilton Head, SC 29928   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #10 of 26 hotels in Hilton Head
Crittenden, Kentucky
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We have stayed in several Marriott Vacation Club's over the past several years including Marriott's Grand Ocean in Hilton Head and I have to say that Marriott's Harbour Point is right up there with and may even outshine Grand Ocean. We didn't know what to expect as we were not on the beach but overlooking the Broad River. I have to say I actually liked it much better. The resort may be small but it was quiet and peaceful. We had an excellent view of the marches from the fourth floor end room. The rooms had been updated and were very nice. I loved the big walk in shower we had in the master as I am not much on tubs. The rooms were smaller but since this vacation was just our immediate family and not the extended that usually travels with us so it fit us just perfectly. It would have been tight if they had traveled with us. We used the Dune Buggy to take us to the beach and we didn't have very long waits to catch it. Also loved watching the dolphins play in the river from our balcony.

The only down sided to the resort was that the pools were a little smaller than other MVC's. But overall it was a great vacation with our girls.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    57
    43
    15
    2
    1
See reviews for
53
41
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chesapeake, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed at Marriott's Sunset Point at Shelter Cove for one night in June. When we first drove up to the property, my impression was that it was dated. However, upon entering our condo, I could see that the soft goods had recently been replaced and it looked like they'd done a good job in sprucing up the paint and fixtures. Our two-bedroom condo had a to-die-for view of the beautiful low-country marshes and the setting sun. Just thinking about the view - the fishing boats putt-putt past, the water fowl feeding, the paddle boarders glide by - takes my blood pressure down a few notches. We sat on the deck and had a long happy hour before heading over to the Sunset Point - a gazebo at the end of the property that's perfectly situated for watching the sun slip down into the marshy waters. We were charmed to see other guests grilling their dinner in the public grills and enjoying a few brews by the fire pit. This is a friendly place, and it seems that the guests take full advantage of the amenities. There's a beautiful pool that sits on the water. The work-out facility seems small and while we were there appeared to be still in renovation. If you'd like to go to Hilton Head and have a different experience from watching the waves crash, this place is a great location to take in the "other side" of Hilton Head.

Room Tip: We were on the lowest floor, but the views were still beautiful and relaxing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

On the night of our arrival, the front desk at first did not know how to give directions to registration. The following morning when we went in to ask advice about what to do around town, one of the employees told us the front desk wasn't open yet, much to our surprise. I thought front desks were supposed to be open all day, for other arriving guests! Also, the employees are not competent at all. They just stand there, and not let us know what is going on. For example, my family and I tried night swimming at about 10:30pm, and as soon as we jump in the pool, the pool service guy who had been walking around the perimeter of the pool, informed us it was closed. Why he couldn't tell us when we had gotten there is beyond me. Overall. I definitely wouldn't recommend this place, because it obviously needs a lot of improvement.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Harbour Point and Sunset Pointe at Shelter Cove, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
We are sorry to hear that you did not have a positive experience at Marriott's Shelter Cove. This is not typical of the guest experience at our resort and we would appreciate an opportunity to personally address your concerns. Please contact us at customer.care@vacationclub.com or at 800 860 9384. We look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasig
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

The "resort" itself was dry, featureless and offers little to do. Beaches were far, not much ammenities to speak off except for an overly tiny gym, a basketball court ON THE DRIVEWAY, 2 pingpong tables and hooray a shuffle board. You have to pay to use the bikes which isn't all that fun to begin with.

Rooms are fairly large and comfy but no head turner by any stretch.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We have been traveling to HHI for over 20 years, and have ALWAYS stayed at Marriott's Harbour Point, this years trip was even better, then have totally remodeled EVERY villa. The villa's have everything you need except your clothing and food.

Room Tip: We have stayed in MHP #320, and it's amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We have stayed at this resort many times, not much has changed, a good all round resort. However , watch out for the rockers on the sunset view deck. I feel asleep in one, it rocked back and snap the legs broke off and i was on my back on the deck. I reported to the manager, yes he asked if i was ok, which i was, but didn'!t ask my name, room number or give me his card for any follow up. The rockers were not removed, it was like it never happened. The bed was one of the hardest beds I have ever slept in, on this occasion I was very happy to leave.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Garden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Close to everything, great view, well equipped kitchen. Great walking trail to shops, beach, and Disney's Resort. Convenient to everything we wanted to do. Loved the fireplace. Two-bedroom villa spacious and well decorated.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marriott's Harbour Point and Sunset Pointe at Shelter Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Harbour Point and Sunset Pointe at Shelter Cove

Also Known As:
Marriott`s Harbour Point And Sunset Pointe At Shelter Cove Hotel
Marriott`s Harbour Point And Sunset Pointe At Shelter Cove Hotel Hilton Head
Marriott Hotel Hilton Head
Marriott Hilton Head
Hilton Head Marriott
Address: 4 Shelter Cove Lane, Hilton Head, SC 29928
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 26 hotels in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Harbour Point and Sunset Pointe at Shelter Cove 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Travelocity so you can book your Marriott's Harbour Point and Sunset Pointe at Shelter Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Harbour Point and Sunset Pointe at Shelter Cove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.