We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice quiet relaxing property” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Harbour Point and Sunset Pointe at Shelter Cove

Save Saved
You added Marriott's Harbour Point and Sunset Pointe at Shelter Cove to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Marriott's Harbour Point and Sunset Pointe at Shelter Cove
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4 Shelter Cove Lane, Hilton Head, SC 29928   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rewards Members Save 25%
Ranked #10 of 26 hotels in Hilton Head
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Nice quiet relaxing property”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We have been to a lot of Marriott's and really enjoyed this one. We have 4 kids and they had plenty to do with the convenient pools, bike rental and tennis courts just steps away. The rooms were just renovated and nice, spacious and clean. We normally only like oceanviews but this was beautiful looking into Shelter Cove. We would definitely come back here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    64
    49
    17
    3
    1
See reviews for
62
44
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I have stayed at several Marriott properties over the years and all of them have been Excellent stays from arrival to departure and Harbor Point has lived up to all of my expectations. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: I recommend a 1st floor room facing the cove.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I'm very impressed with this resort. I stayed in the Sunset Building, and this place was very clean, new appliances, brand new furniture. This is 5 star quality...not sure why people are downgrading this resort unless they are staying in another building. My timeshare stay was with the Sunset Pointe resort. I would come back in a heart beat.

I will have new pics posted shortly. You will be impressed as much as I was on my entrance into the villa.

Check in my easy, received parking pass for car. Handicapped accessible....elevators and stairs. My 2 bedroom villa sleeps 6: a king size bed, two twin beds, and a queen size pullout couch. Full size kitchen with stove/oven, dishwasher, full fridge, dishes, dining room, mini washer and dryer.

Walmart is up the street if you forgot anything or need to buy more laundry detergent for washing.

There are bike rentals available on the hotel property, but I think prices are cheaper elsewhere on the island. You end up paying for convenience which I don't blame. They do not allow you to bring the bikes to your room or left outside so bring a bike lock. Not sure if they offer a block lock but it wouldn't hurt to call.

Housekeeping is available if requested for a small fee. During my stay I didn't find the need to ask for housekeeping. There were enough towels for us to change out once during our weekly stay.

GPS location is correct. When you first arrive in Hilton Head, follow the 278 business route. You will start to see signs for Palmetto Dunes. Tip: If you pass the Hilton Head Diner on your right, you went too far. Your turn was immediately before the Diner.

Harbour Pointe and Sunset Pointe are located in the same area. Look for the registration sign for both resorts.

My party consisted of adults so I cannot review on the activities for kids.

You are 1 hour from Savannah and 2 hours from Charleston. Definitely try to see both cities even if it is only one day each.

Wifi is available at no fee.

No complaints...very quiet. I was on the top floor and in the corner villa. Barely heard my neighbors.

Beds were very comfortable making it feel like home away from home.

Room Tip: Ask for Sunset building and top floor villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvidTraveler57
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Spent 8 days at Marriott Harbour Point in Shelter Cove middle of March. Arrived about 3 pm and our villa was ready.

We received a second floor unit, one of the larger ones, facing the marsh area. Was recently redecorated with new granite countertops, new carpet, new furniture, and draperies.

The two bedroom unit had a washer/dryer which came in handy, full kitchen, and fireplace we turned on in the evenings for a pleasant atmosphere with the chilly evenings.

Was nice to watch the boats and kayakers come and go in the marina. There are several shops and a few restaurants you can walk to along with a nice Belk store in the Shelter Cove Mall.

It is not on the beach and the resort area is a small one with about 5 buildings. However, the unit was spotless, a safe area, and easy access to the whole island.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
259 reviews 259 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 117 cities Reviews in 117 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We rented a two bedroom unit for a week. The units are older. Ours had just been carpeted and painted a bright yellow. The new carpet smell was quite strong. The unit had a nice view of the marshes. Bedrooms were good sized. We had the twin beds in he second bedroom made into a king bed which was nice. Master bath was very large. Beds were I comfortable but the decor was unmatched. The living room had two fairly comfortable chairs but a saggy sofa bed. Kitchen is well furnished but no sugar/salt/creamer packets. (I called and asked about salt and they told me they did not furnish. ). There are five or six steps up to the elevators in the front. There is a side ramp around the side of the building to push up carts.

We liked it. Not as nice as most Marriotts but ok. We would go back. There are bike rentals right there. Good restaurants near by. Not much to do in Hilton Head if you are not outdoorsy.

Room Tip: They all looked pretty good. Five units on each floor. 4 and 5 were probably least desire able.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

A room with a view is always preferred so, other than a main floor 2 bedroom suite next to a walled area with some kind of intermittent humming and buzzing noises ( ac? ) no complaints about this typical Marriott well maintained property. All is just as the photos. Great pools, and sundeck with shade when needed and the best place at the resort for a sundowner with lovely views of the salt marsh and inlet. Clean BBQ's ! Spacious units with standard Marriott furnishings, and beds ( not luxurious by any means, but all perfectly acceptable). Internet included. Locale is perfect for all ages and all levels of activity. Looking to relax in September - works for us. Looking for activities, perfect too. Short walk to Marina and good quality restaurants. There are indications this is a well used timeshare, it is very acceptable, and well maintained, but don't expect the luxurious. It's a pretty spot for sure.

Room Tip: A room with a view is always better than looking at a walled unit that hums and buzzes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massapequa, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This was our 3rd return to the Shelter Cove area. We have stayed in other Marriotts on Hilton Head, including beachfront, and loved them too. But we really love the Sunset Pointe location in Shelter Cove because it is in such a great area. The marina is a quick walk with great shops and better restaurants. It's not as crowded and noisy as other areas. A bit more upscale. The hotel itself has always been great, never any issues. The staff is lovely, always helping us with early check in, and the rooms have always been in perfect order. We've never had a complaint and have always had nothing but praise for this location.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott's Harbour Point and Sunset Pointe at Shelter Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Harbour Point and Sunset Pointe at Shelter Cove

Address: 4 Shelter Cove Lane, Hilton Head, SC 29928
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 26 hotels in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Harbour Point and Sunset Pointe at Shelter Cove 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Marriott's Harbour Point and Sunset Pointe at Shelter Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Harbour Point And Sunset Pointe At Shelter Cove Hotel Hilton Head
Marriott Hotel Hilton Head
Marriott Hilton Head
Hilton Head Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Harbour Point and Sunset Pointe at Shelter Cove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.