We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulously fantastic food! Energetically friend staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vine

Vine
1 N Forest BeachDrive, Coligny Plaza, Hilton Head, SC
+1 843-686-3900
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 319 Restaurants in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $40 - $80
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: We are a dark cramped restaurant located in a strip mall in Coligny Plaza. We play our music loud, keep our lights uncomfortably low making is hard to read your menu, large taper candles provide minimal lighting and drip on your table. Our staff will explain our dishes and ingredients in excruciating detail, our outdoor seating is in a parking lot. Our service is sub standard and our food ordinary. If this sounds appetizing then we would love you to join us for a memorable culinary journey. Our Chefs have lived throughout the world, our 300+ bottle wine list is almost all small boutique and rated wines. We work as a team and take pride in meeting and exceeding every guests expectation. Dress is club casual and no children under 14 PS we are not an Italian Restaurant!!
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fabulously fantastic food! Energetically friend staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

I visit Vine as often as possible with friends and family! It is with a doubt the best restaurant on Hilton Head for dinner. Vine consistently delivers incredible entrees and a great dining experience like no other restaurant on the Island. Tonight, my son ordered the kangaroo with a chocolate espresso sauce that had him hopping out of his seat for more. He could not stop raving about the kangaroo! Others in my party ordered the duck breast flambéed and osso bucco. Everyone finished their meals feeling overwhelming satisfied. For an appetizer, my wife ordered a delicious cheese plate that was full of balance and incredible flavor complemented with a variety of fresh fruit and spreads. Although cheese plates are not typically on the menu, the chef will prepare one for you based on availability. The variety of cheeses presented exceeded our expectations; especially since this not a typical menu option. If you like beets, you may want to consider the beet cobbler for an appetizer! It's so good I order this appetizer every time I am in for dinner! What makes Vine such an incredible dining experience for me is the small, intimate setting of its indoor and outdoor dining areas. The warmth of its atmosphere creates a convivial mood for wonderful conversations with your friends and staff. The embrace of the service staff, servers, chef and owner is welcoming! You will leave the restaurant with a "love it" experience that will keep coming back over and over again. I suggest Vine really for any occasion; but more importantly for the person who wants an incredible dining experience from start to finish with savory entrees and dynamite service.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    527
    44
    32
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent once again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

We visited this restaurant last week and our meal and the entire experience were excellent. We had been here on a previous visit last year and we were not disappointed this time. The food was outstanding. I sampled the foie gras a fellow diner ordered and it was very good. So was the osso bucco and the butter fish. My only regret was due to the time of year, my favorite heirloom tomato and mozzarella salad was not yet available. The crunchy basil they sprinkle on top along with the outstanding dressing makes it a treat you will not want to miss if you go when it's in season. Steve was very helpful in pairing wines with every dish and his choices were spot on. I am surprised to read a previous review complaining about the size of the restaurant and the decor etc. They make it clear it is a small space, that they are cramped like a European bistro and they make the best of it. It should not have been a surprise to anyone. We have been coming to Hilton Head regularly for almost 15 years and there are quite a few great dining options both on the island and just off the island. Despite the previous review expressing disappointment, you will have several great choices while in the area but you will not find any better options than Vine while in Hilton Head.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson, SC
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Would not return to this restaurant”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

The good: attentive servers, varied menu, excellent appetizers.

The bad: very cramped quarters set in a noisy, cheesy souvenir strip mall. To maximize revenue the owners have converted a narrow outside patio into an "indoor" eatery by enclosing it in plastic sheeting and heating it with propane warmers. The patio floor is uneven causing tables to wobble. The chairs are very hard and uncomfortable [they also wobble]. Passers-by are literally at your table. The number of tables and chairs in this patio area are far too many for the small space making it extremely difficult to get into or out of your chair and one is literally rubbing shoulders [and backs] with other diners. This patio dining area is less than 10 feet from the parking lot so ones view is of the front of parked cars. The setting is more suitable to a pizza parlor than a fine restaurant. But the most disappointing aspect of this restaurant has to do with their prices. They are far too high for the quality of food and ambiance provided [for example I had the ravioli dish that cost almost $30. I was served 6 ravioli with parsley sprinkled on top. No sauce. They were plain tasting and pasty]. Our bill came to almost $120 for the ravioli and two osso bucco dishes and one appetizer. No salads. No wine. No dessert. I understand that in Hilton Head everything is required to be more expensive. But this restaurant is charging way too much for what it is providing. In reliance on their excellent TA ratings, we reserved our table weeks in advance and drove for an hour to get there. How it rates such good reviews is puzzling. As we drove away we were reminded of the story about the king who was not wearing any clothes. Bottom line: if you go, be prepared to be disappointed and to spend too much for too little. A thoroughly regrettable experience....

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head Island
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Food and Wine Hilton Head!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

We love this restaurant. Great food, great wine, great service! Small atmosphere and a warm relaxing place to have dinner :)

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Top on HHI”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Phenomenal gourmet restaurant on HHI. Warm atmosphere with friendly servers, maitre d Harry and owner Steven. Great specials and regular menu. Terrific wine list. Visit for a special occasion or just a great dining experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vine also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Vine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.