We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic experience in off beat setting.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vine

Vine
1 N Forest BeachDrive, Coligny Plaza, Hilton Head, SC
+1 843-686-3900
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 322 Restaurants in Hilton Head
Price range: $40 - $80
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: We are a dark cramped restaurant located in a strip mall in Coligny Plaza. We play our music loud, keep our lights uncomfortably low making is hard to read your menu, large taper candles provide minimal lighting and drip on your table. Our staff will explain our dishes and ingredients in excruciating detail, our outdoor seating is in a parking lot. Our service is sub standard and our food ordinary. If this sounds appetizing then we would love you to join us for a memorable culinary journey. Our Chefs have lived throughout the world, our 300+ bottle wine list is almost all small boutique and rated wines. We work as a team and take pride in meeting and exceeding every guests expectation. Dress is club casual and no children under 14 PS we are not an Italian Restaurant!!
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience in off beat setting.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

This is currently the most innovative restaurant on the island. Hard to get reservations but worth the inconvenience. Locally produced foods prepared in the most innovative ways. The staff makes you feel welcome and add to the experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    491
    40
    31
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Morehead City, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent choice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This restaurant is small but the service, food and wine selection are as superior as any place I have ever dined. Intimate for a couples, impressive for business and superb with friends. Not a family restaurant. An absolute must-try for your next visit to the island!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“One of the best meals we have ever had....anywhere in the world.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

First, they take reservations and the place is difficult to get into. It came highly recommended,,,and lived up to expectations. We ate on the patio and listened to well-played jazz as we dined. Our service was excellent and our food was even better. Beautifully presented and exceptional taste. One could put this restaurant anyplace in the world and it would shine.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“It not as upscale as the staff seem to think it is”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

First off the food is excellent not astounding but very good. It is over priced for the kids passing by with the drippy ice cream. The main thing was the male server who took our reservation. First he sized us up and was less than thrilled to take our reservation. He was smug and the only reason we went was our guests wanted to go. I hope he realizes that while restaurant service is a respectable job he is in fact a waiter.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve8009, Owner at Vine, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Ignorance strikes once more! Read before you write and you too would have neither have joined the "blinded by the obvious club" nor added support to my 3 star reviewer hypothesis!

Moreover, you have become the last straw for any further walk in reservations. Harry appears not to have sized you up properly , as he let you in. We neither judge by what you wear nor how your appear , simply on your attitude and openness to enjoy the spirit of life and food. There are diners and there are eaters, dining is an art, eating is a function, I'll speculate you are an eater.

We are not seeking to be tested and truly prefer those without an adventurous spirit or a quest to have fun simply pass us by; in short we seek a diner.


For those wishing to dine please come to join us for ordinary food, sub-prime service, screaming kids with ice cream cones passing, an occasional honking horn, dripping air conditioning vents, a chef that wears blinding pants , and maybe even a random streaker, heck anything can happen when eating in a parking lot!

What truly continues to amaze me is the lack of articulation of the 3 star reviewer, again short burst of me me me!

There are 300 reviewers that disagree, therefore you are either a genius or another goat in a herd of wild horses.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Terrific island dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Very creative menu and attentive staff. My husband and I each had an appetizer and entire. All were top quality. Best find of the long weekend. Definitely will return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vine also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Vine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.