We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This Place is Fabulous!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Annie O's Southern Eats

Annie O's Southern Eats
124 Arrow Road, Hilton Head, SC 29928
843-341-2664
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #49 of 290 Restaurants in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Augusta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“This Place is Fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We just took our second trip to Annie O's and it was just as good as the first time! The staff is wonderful. The food does take a little bit of a wait, but huge portions, and it is so worth it. I've had the corn chowder, shrimp and grits, and collards. My husband had pork loin with hash brown potato bake. They have a full bar and a kids menu. Don't let their shopping center location fool you!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    84
    23
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Virginia
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Really good inexpensive food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

I ordered the chicken and waffles. These were very good and the gravy was great. Not overly spicy. Just the way I like it. Susie potatoes were great this time.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle, wa
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“The best fried chicken!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We only went here once, for lunch. But I fantasized about that fried chicked for the rest of our trip and really wanted to go back for more!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia, United States
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Southern home cooking...definite go!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I have never eaten here before, despite the over 20 years we have been vacationing on the island. Great cooking and reasonable prices, especially for Hilton Head!!! I had the Tomatoe Pie, which I am dreaming about having again ASAP... High marks for the pimento cheese dip (on warm biscuits.YUM!), the chicken gumbo soup. and Catfish!! We will be back!!!!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“southern delights”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

I ate here once when they first opened because a friend said they served the best fried chicken he had ever had. I have to say I was underwhelmed and did not share his opinion. However, I'm glad I gave it a second chance.I ordered three different entrees to take out, so I was able to taste quite a good sample of their menu. The shrimp and grits was delicious. The shrimp were large and cooked perfectly and topped off yellow grits and a creamy pink sauce. Many S&G dishes suffer from including an overwhelming amount of andouille sausage that overpowers the taste of the S&G. This dish did not make that mistake. In fact, if there was any sausage it was not detectable. The second time was a charm for the fried chicken which was crispy on the outside and juicy inside. It only had a hint of pepper sauce taste, although the menu suggests that it would have more. That was fine for me. Three generous pieces were included along with two sides. I tried the collard greens (a little too sweet) and mac and cheese (bland). Perhaps other sides would be better choices. The winner of the three entrees was the tomato pie with salad. I've made a version of tomato pie but it always comes out a little too heavy and too runny. This one was light and fluffy filling, fresh juicy but not runny tomato slices, and a flaky pastry crust. Delicious! The salad that came with it was also crispy and fresh with mixed greens and chunks of tomatoes and cukes. A citrusy mustard dressing came with it. Over all, a great food experience, and the prices were very reasonable. I can't speak too much about the restaurant atmosphere since I got take out, but there is a small bar area and a small dining room. The bar was empty except for one person, but the dining room seemed mostly full.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Annie O's Southern Eats also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Annie O's Southern Eats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Annie O's Southern Eats, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.