We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great southern! Real deal!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Annie O's Southern Eats

Annie O's Southern Eats
124 Arrow Road, Hilton Head, SC 29928
843-341-2664
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #49 of 290 Restaurants in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Great southern! Real deal!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

Been to this place a couple times,always good! I'm a local chef on hilton head, and I eat out a lot .i took my mom in for dinner tonight were both southern to the core and the food is the real deal! Pleasant service and honest food, nothing fancy or pretentious just good. If you want to experience real southern cuisine in HH go to Annie o's

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    84
    23
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kingston Springs, Tennessee
1 review
“Great New Year Day meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We really enjoyed our meal! My daughter had the tomato pie, my son-in-law had the sweet potato ravioli, my husband had the fried chicken, and I had roasted pork with cabbage and black eyed peas for New Years day! The atmosphere was very relaxed, service was great! I would definitely recommend this place and will go back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greer, South Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“My, my I love tomato pie.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

After seeing a write-up about Annie O's in Taste magazine, it quickly became my top pick for trying during this year's Hilton Head visit. Annie O's has a great menu--meatloaf, crab cake, tomato pie, friend chicken, coconut cream pie, and many others. They also offer a full bar.

I had the Tomato Pie which was delicious. It was a custardy, quichey, cheesy mixture which came with a side salad. I tasted a companion's meatloaf which was yummy, and another companion shared a delicious piece of fried green tomato with me. After all of this, I didn't make it around to trying the coconut cream pie. Oh, but we did have the pimento cheese and biscuits as an appetizer. Those biscuits were delicious, southern perfection.

I enjoyed the atmosphere, as well. Johnny Cash and Kenny Rogers played on the stereo while we ate, and the bright restaurant is decorated with burlap curtains and ceilings.

My overall rating would have been an excellent if it weren't for the wait, though. It was a long wait for the food and the ticket, and I noticed that others in the restaurant were waiting, too. The waitstaff was friendly, but unfortunately, the long wait really does knock down the rating. Having said that, I'll close by saying that I would definitely go back again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluefield, Virginia, USA
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Best Southern Food Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Wow this restaurant is fantastic. Annie O's is almost 2 years old now so it's starting to pick up notice by the locals and it is a real hidden gem. Kind of small so expect a short wait but it's worth it. The fried chicken is out of this world and it literally is a whole plate of chicken. The collard greens are possibly the best I've ever had (apparently adding smoked turkey is the trick). The shrimp and grits and crab cake sandwich are phenomenal. But if they offer the catch of the day as sheepshead in a cornmeal breading with a cabbage, leek and cream cheese topping I suggest not passing that up. Super friendly staff, cozy atmosphere and hands down the best food.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Quality, Quantity and VALUE!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

A bit "off the beaten path" this place is worth tracking down. While on vacation in Hilton Head we saw this restaurant featured in the A Taste of Hilton Head magazine left in our timeshare. Chef and owner Tom Egerton is a graduate of New England Culinary Institute, so I new this had to be good. We were not disappointed! The food was excellent and the portions were substantial. I rarely need a box for left overs, but Chef Tom humbled me. I couldn't finish, but I enjoyed that meal a second time the next day. HIGHLY recommended! By the way - I am a professional chef myself.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Annie O's Southern Eats also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Annie O's Southern Eats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Annie O's Southern Eats, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.