We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harbour Town Lighthouse

Harbour Town Lighthouse
Harbourtown's yacht basin, Hilton Head, SC 29938
803-785-3333
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 27 Attractions in Hilton Head
Type: Lighthouses, Shops, Landmarks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Serving as the centerpiece of the Sea Pines Plantation, this lighthouse structure is colored like a candy cane and features a small shop at the top.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great view!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This was the first time that I actually climbed the lighthouse and I can't believe I haven't done it sooner! The entire way up you are seeing memorabilia from the Civil War on. The view from the top was spectacular and the clerk who worked in the gift shop was very informative.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    173
    100
    25
    16
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Urbandale, Iowa
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Not worth the money to go up to top”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

They charge you $3.75 per person to climb the stairs to the top. It's a very quick trip up and down. The views are ok once you are up there, but not great. If it was free I would suggest this, but not for the price. I think we were completely done in less than 15 minutes

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Expected a Light Station”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

This place is more of a Light Trinket Shop than anything else. All the marketing pics make it appear taller than it is. The shop at the top and all the little ones around it sell mostly touristy junk. Not worth the time if you're looking for a light station like Tybee, Ponce de Leon etc...

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brazil, Indiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
“Had a lot of fun.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

The lighthouse is lovely, and the shops were a lot of fun to explore. I could have stayed an entire day in the shops alone, there were so many things to look at.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicholasville, Kentucky
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Nice to see it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Decided to see the lighthouse you always see on the Harbour Town golf tornament. It is impressive, but like what others have said, if you aren't buying souvenirs, there's not a lot to do.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harbour Town Lighthouse also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Harbour Town Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbour Town Lighthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.