We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Have to see Harbourtown if you visit HHI” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harbour Town Lighthouse

Harbour Town Lighthouse
Harbourtown's yacht basin, Hilton Head, SC 29938
803-785-3333
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 29 Shopping in Hilton Head
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Serving as the centerpiece of the Sea Pines Plantation, this lighthouse structure is colored like a candy cane and features a small shop at the top.
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Have to see Harbourtown if you visit HHI”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Loved all the shops, restaurants and just sitting in a rocking chair to look at water and boats. Great Day

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    196
    110
    26
    16
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Neat town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Neat town with a pier, lighthouse, restaurants, and shops. We didn't tour the lighthouse because we have 3 small children but it was neat to look at. They also have a playground for small kids that my children enjoyed.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Views great, food OK.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

The views are great, and how can you mess up hamburgers, chicken sandwiches and such.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tinley Park, IL
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Good views, but even more interesting is some of the history you will learn”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012 via mobile

On the way up, there are numerous exhibits and pictures that show you the history of the area. At the top, you get some great views of the area, and you can stand so that you are visible on the webcam (we called the family back home and they could get on the computer and see us while we talked to them). If you've never been here, it's worth doing at least once.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“better for older children”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

the lighthouse climb is 114 steps, most can do it. i went with 2 kids under 10 and they just wanted to run to the top to look, but on the way up you can stop to read about the history (and catch your breath). once on top is a shop, which to me is a nuisance, i'd rather have the extra room for outside to see the pretty scenery. bring your camera and money if you want more souveniers.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harbour Town Lighthouse also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Harbour Town Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbour Town Lighthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.