We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location has it all!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bluff Villas

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hilton Head
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bluff Villas
Save
You added Bluff Villas to your Saves list
1735 Bluff Villa, PO Box 5220, Hilton Head, SC 29928   |  
Hotel amenities
Atlanta, GA
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Location has it all!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

After years of traveling to Hilton Head and staying in either Palmetto Dunes or Shipyard we decided to stay in Sea Pines for a change. We had stayed in Harbour Town over New Years but in the summer we wanted to be closer to the beach. We loved it! Rented unit 1691 from VRBO. The unit had a few flaws (rusty shower curtain rod, outdated (though comfortable) bedroom furniture) but overall very clean and comfortable. There is a flight up to the third floor but we are in okay shape so not bad. The thing we loved the most was the location. We happen to like South Beach Marina even though it is touristy. Walked "next door" to Salty Dog and to go on Zodiac dolphin watch (amazing). Easy walk across the street to the beach. Loved how quiet and remote this area of the beach is. We drove another day to the Sea Pines Beach club. It was much more crowded but had bath facilitiies, chair/umbrella rentals and a restaurant/bar. This would have also been an easy bike ride. There were bike rentals also right next to us at South Beach and we biked to Harbour Town and back very easily. I will say it is probably the most remote part of the whole island but we didn't mind driving into town to eat a couple times. It's really only about 10-15 minutes. My husband also played tennis at the South Beach tennis center next door. This area has everything you need: shopping, restaurants, beach access, marina, tennis, pool, bikes. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at Bluff Villas Memorial Day weekend. Booked a studio unit through VRBO. For a studio the room was quiet big. Plenty of room for my wife and me. The Murphy bed was very comfortable in the living room/bedroom combo. There was a full kitchen that was well equipped. I liked te fact there were plastic cups to take out to the beach. There was also a small bathroom. The view of South Beach marina was very nice and had a great view of the sunrise in the morning. The beach was an easy walk across the street with a beautiful sunset. Saw lots of dolphins swimming near the shore. South Beach village with the Salty Dog Cafe and other attractions were also within easy walking distance. Would definitely recommend villa 1815 for a weekend getaway for a couple.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2008

We loved the the 2-bedroom apartment we stayed at in Bluff Villas, and the location was fabulous. It is at the end of the island so there was very peaceful with no traffic. The beach is right across the street. Because the beach faces Dafuskie island there are hardly any waves - perfect for children. It is also the home of dolphins that can be seen close up mornings and evenings. South Beach Marina was a 2-minute walk and has 3 restaurants, an ice cream stand, small shops, and an old-fashioned grocery store. In the evenings, the Salty Dog Outside Bar serves hamburgers, sandwiches and provides free entertainment. It's a wonderful family place!!

  • Liked — Clean, beautifully decorated, location.
  • Disliked — Nothing that I can think of.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2006

A very nice condo but be aware it is at the absolute south end of the island, just beyond the Salty Dog (a grotesquely overrated tourist trap). South Beach is not as nice as the other beaches farther up the coast and parking near (or biking with a lot of gear to) the better beaches is difficult. Also, it is quite a long ride to the restaurants outside of Sea Pines. But the units at Bluff Villas are clean, newer, spacious and generally a very good value, which is what attracted us. All things considered, we would recommend them and stay there again.

We ate at a very small Thai restaurant called the Taste of Thailand and had one of the best Asian meals ever, anywhere. I highly recommend it while in Hilton Head.

  • Stayed August 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2006

We started staying at Bluff Villas ten years ago because it was the cheapest condo place inside Sea Pines. The price has gone up some, but it is still the best bargain in SP and the location can't be beat. You can walk to South Beach for shopping, food, Cappy the Clown, outdoor music, etc; have access to tennis, pool and kayaking; and can use the little beach or ride bikes to the SP Beach Club. The condos are not luxurious but are well maintained "beach" homes that include full kitchens, patios and a quiet location. Great views on the Sound side. Perfect for families. Our three have grown up at Bluff and at 19, 17, and 15 still look forward to our annual (and sometimes more!) trip to "our" condo.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bluff Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluff Villas

Address: 1735 Bluff Villa, PO Box 5220, Hilton Head, SC 29928
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Bluff Villas Hotel Hilton Head

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bluff Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.