We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Spot -- Inside & Out!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coastal Discovery Museum

Coastal Discovery Museum
70 Honey Horn Drive, North End, Hilton Head, SC 29926
843-689-6767
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 88 things to do in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: If the beach gets boring, families head to this interactive museum to learn about the history and wildlife of sea islands.
Harrow, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great Spot -- Inside & Out!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We spent the entire afternoon here, first reading the information inside and admiring the art gallery and then heading outside. The 3 different boardwalks out into the marshlands were full of interesting wildlife and informative plaques. The gardens were very well done with lots of information to read. A great spot to spend time outside.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    221
    121
    19
    4
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lake Milton, OH
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“How to make a basket”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

This is a lovely place, very interesting, lots to see. My daughter and I took a sweetgrass basket making class and it was great fun and educational. We hope to do it again the next time I am visiting. This is a must see for visitors!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Interesting for children and adults”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We attend archaeological meetings there from time to time. They deal
with the various historical aspects of Hilton Head and South Carolina.
Just a nice place to visit.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Extremely RUDE!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Walked in to make a reservation not realizing they had just closed. (The door was open) The woman behind the desk said "We're closed" in an annoyed & angry tone of voice. We will need to think long & hard if we actually want to return.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ATL
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Been coming to the Island for a decade and never visited until March 2013. No fee but $3 donation per person is recommended. Spent an afternoon exploring the history, geology, critters, civil war impact, slavery, agriculture and ecology of HH Island.
Would highly recommend this attraction for the whole family.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coastal Discovery Museum also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Coastal Discovery Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coastal Discovery Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.