We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakers 113 very disappointing” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Breakers

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Breakers to your Saves list
The Breakers
1 North Forest Beach Drive, Hilton Head, SC 29928   |  
Hotel amenities
Bedford, Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Breakers 113 very disappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

We stayed at the Breakers in room 113 in 2013. We were very disappointed upon entering the room. It had a bad odor, & a very dirty feel to it. The walls had visible dirt on them as well as damage & unfinished repairs. The floors near the base boards had visible dirt & grime. The advertised sleeper sofa was disgusting. It's very old, visibly dirty, springs punching threw the very thin, damaged mattress & worst of all was the smell! It smelled like dogs had slept on it for years it was horrible! If a room advertises it sleeps 4 due to a sleeper sofa then it should be a decent quality one. Everything was grimy & very dated. We cleaned up food off the floor that the maid had missed. The balcony only had 2 very weathered plastic chairs so you have to bring kitchen chairs out if you have more than 2 staying in the room. The washer smelled of mold so I didn't use it but did try to use the dryer. The dryer took hours to dry only a few items. The bed sheets had stains on them so thank goodness I had my own. The carpet in the bedroom was dirty, and had stains. The view from the balcony was nice but is obstructed by very large palm trees. The room is tiny. We couldn't wait to get back home. Loved hilton head but if we come back unfortunately we will not be staying here. The room really put a damper on our vacation & I feel its false advertising as well as overpriced due to the conditions. I thought you should have an accurate review of this room. As far as the breakers property it's older and a little dumpy on the back underside but the main pool area is decent. The board walk to the beach is very nice & updated with 2 showers. The owner of the room was very pleasant & helpful during the renting process, which made me feel taken advantage of after seeing the condition of the room. The area the breakers is in is very nice & convenient. With restaurants, gift shops, & grocery stores within walking distance. Overall the room needs a deep, deep clean, new appliances, some updates and most definitely a brand new sleeper sofa!

Room Tip: If you stay at the breakers you will want direct ocean front for sure! Be careful as there are large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    23
    16
    5
    10
See reviews for
26
36
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

My girlfriend and I decided to spend a week in Hilton Head and booked room 307 through Homeaway. We stayed the week of 10/26 through 11/2.

We found the unit perfect for the two of us. I would think if you had a small child it would be OK; 4 adults it's definitely too small. Our unit was on the 3rd floor. There are no elevators at the Breakers, so if climbing stairs is an issue for you, try to get a unit numbered in the 100's - the first floor, located over parking.

The large king bed was a bonus and very comfortable. The mini kitchen was great in that we could buy breakfast and lunch supplies for the week and not have to go out for all of our meals. The living area was comfy, although I would say it could use a new couch. I believe it was a sleeper, but I would bet it is not very comfortable. There were flat screen TV's in both the bedroom area and the living area. They were great to watch the Red Sox win the 2013 World Series! The unit also had a washer dryer unit. We knew this before we left and we did not need to pack as many clothes for our stay. This was a nice convenience.

From the unit balcony over the tree tops you could see the beach and water - a nice view. A great place for morning coffee and to talk about plans for the day.

The Breakers unit is right on Hilton Head beach at marker 60. It is also directly across the street from Coligny Plaza, which offers shopping, restaurants and a grocery store (Piggly Wiggly). We rented bikes at Atlantic Bikes right next to Coligny - offseason rate of $20/bike/week. Not a bad deal.

The Breakers has a nice pool area in the center of the complex. As other reviewers have commented, the pool seems to be small for such a large complex. As this was offseason, we had no troubles getting chairs and loungers. I can imagine in peak season this would be more difficult. I was also surprised that there was no bathroom facility at the pool area. I know this would mean more maintenance, but it was a pain to run back to the room.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay at the Breakers. Because these are individually owned, the experience from room to room will vary. I read a review on here from someone who had stayed in room 307 previously. Luckily, I found most of the comments to not be true.

I would recommend the Breakers and in particular condo 307 for couples. Great location to operate out of for a relaxing week in Hilton Head.

Room Tip: Try to research the room as much as possible - the condition varies from room to room. For water vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We (2 adults, no children) stayed at Breakers 337 in October. The first level is for parking, so essentially we were on the fourth floor, which is the top floor. There are no elevators, however, we knew this in advance. The condo is small but large enough for two people. The bedroom had a queen bed. It does not have a closet, thus, no place to hang your clothes. The bathroom is small but adequate with a combined tub/shower and a single vanity. It had a full size kitchen with full size refrigerator, stovetop & oven, microwave and dishwasher. It included basic pots & pans. Free wi-fi is included. Once we re-booted the modem, the wi-fi worked fine. The condo needs some renovation - the sliding glass door to the balcony was "cloudy." The condo had a large (60 ") TV in the living room. The condo is in a good location with great views of the ocean & beach. It is a very easy & short walk to Coligny with shops & restaurants.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the top level for best views. In addition, you don't need to worry about noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I have stayed at the Breakers before. I know they're small,a bit outdated but they are right on the ocean and I was looking for a unit that still had the bunk beds in the hall for my grandson. This place was awful. The wallpaper is torn, there hasn't been one update done since this was built. The TV was out part of the time, the blinds are broken, the only light that worked in the bedroom was the closet. The worst part was that by just walking around the unit getting settled, our feet were black with some kind of dust. The walls had dirt on them beneath the registers where who knows what was blowing out the air conditioner. The deck furniture was rusted and the table had cardboard under two legs for it to sit level. Also, I had stayed at the Breakers before and knew it was a U-shaped complex so they all overlook the pool. No - there is a strip of units that don't overlook anything but the parking lot and this was in that strip. We had paid in advance for five nights but we left and paid again to stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: Look at a layout of the complex before you choose a unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Indiana
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

Perfect for 2 people. Great location. Master bed is very firm. You can't beat the views. Owner was very quick to respond to any questions as was the company that runs it for the owners. Pool is heated. You have a view of the pool and beach from this room. We'll be back!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

The units are all one bedrooms and about 36 ft x 12 ft. Excellent location within walking distance to shops and restaurants. The pool is a little small but this place is on the beach. Just glad it is not high season here which would make it very crowded. Ours is unit 106 which is a TAN unit. Nice furniture, bed and things in the unit but the parking lot view leaves a lot to be desired even if the balcony is large. The floors need a good scrubbing and they need to do a little maintenance. Good for two people with average to low expectations. Other units in the same complex are nicer with many different owners. Not all units are the same. This review is for this TAN unit. Would consider this place again but only as a TAN VIP.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

First mistake was signing up through TAN. Our veranda overlooked the parking lot, the room was in need of a good cleaning; crumbs on the floor and it was quite sticky. Didn't realize I was going to have to buy cleaning supplies, toilet paper, dish washing liquid and trash bags and salt and pepper. It was nice that they had a washer and dryer and even an iron. The pool was nice, glad I was on the first floor since THERE IS NO ELEVATOR! I would NOT stay at this place again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Breakers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Breakers

Address: 1 North Forest Beach Drive, Hilton Head, SC 29928
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
The Breakers Hotel Hilton Head
Breakers Hotel Hilton Head
Breakers Hilton Head

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Breakers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.