We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“335 - Perfect location for beach & bars” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Breakers

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Breakers to your Saves list
The Breakers
1 North Forest Beach Drive, Hilton Head, SC 29928   |  
Hotel amenities
Cork
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“335 - Perfect location for beach & bars”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

My husband and I spent a week at the Breakers, staying in condo #335. We had a fantastic time and loved the condo. It was absolutely perfect for us - with great views of the beach and freshly decorated inside with all the amenities we needed. The condo is very close to the beach (just at the bottom of the property's steps) and Coligny Plaza, with all its nice bars, restaurants and shops (including Piggly Wiggly), was a minute's walk across the road .The condo was in excellent condition and spotlessly clean when we arrived.

We arranged the rental directly with the condo's owners (via VRBO) who couldn't have been easier to deal with. They sent us all the information we needed before our trip and sent back our security deposit almost as soon as we left.

I would particularly recommend this condo for couples, or a family with max 1 or 2 small children, who love to be right on the beach but still have bars, restaurants and shops on the doorstep.

We'll be back!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    23
    16
    5
    10
See reviews for
26
36
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. louis
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

We rented thru Resort Rentals of Hilton Head island, unit 116. The pics on the website were just like the unit. The units are small, but perfect for 2. NO elevator, no big deal for us, just keep that in mind if you have mobility issues or little ones. No problems at all with Resort Rentals; we did get 10% discounts to several restaurants by showing our rental card The unit was fairly clean.We used a folding camp chair in the living room to add more sitting space if one of us was spread out on the couch. The view of the ocean was great, you are right on the beach. We preferred to not have a pool/ocean view, more private, less noise. There were lots of families there and the pool was crowded often. The pool area with chairs is large enough. There are lifeguards on the beach since the public access is next door. We did not mind the crowds on the beach. Having Coligny next door was a plus..easy to get a coffee/meal/grocercies. We will return to the Breakers next time if it's just the 2 of us.

Room Tip: Each unit is individually owned, so do your reseach. We liked Resort Rentals of Hilton Head Island
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union, New Jersey
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

We went to Hilton Head Island in July and have been going yearly for the past 15 years. We have always stayed at the Breakers in either 109 or 219 ...both great units. Unit 109 is Ocean front...quiet and very convenient because there are no elevators. Unit 219 pool/ocean which is great so I can watch my teenagers from the balcony if they choose to go down to the pool without me. Coligny/Restaurants/Shopping all there for you...when we go in the spring, we rent bikes and bike to dinner. We often cook dinner in...everything is available...stove/microwave/pots/pans/blender...VERY convenient and REASONABLY priced...remember, each unit is individually owned...hope my review is helpful...if you haven't been to Hilton Head Island, you are missing out!

Room Tip: 109, 219...great rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood, Indiana
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

We were a little worried about some of the reviews that we saw about the breakers. We were very satisifed with our stay last week. Great location right on the beach and walking distance to dinning and shopping. The view from our unit was beautiful. It was clean and had been recently updated with a Hilton Head Oceanside decor that was really nice. My teenage Daughter's reaction when we open up the patio blinds said it all. "We are coming back here again and staying in this same room." It has a nice pool that is checked and cleaned every morning and there is security onsite at all times.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, IN
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2011

The facility's pool and proximity to the beach was great. We had a wonderful view of the ocean too. The security company patrolling the grounds was commendable. The apartment, billed as a "villa" was far from it. The carpeting was soiled, the bathtub stained, and at least one burner on the stove did not work properly. The upholstered furniture is old and soiled and the kitchen is wonderful if you enjoy "retro 70's". At the time of rental, I specifically asked the agent if the unit was "clean" and was instantly assured it was -- evidently, they don't visit the units they rent! When we tried to write a review through the listing company, Resort Rentals of Hilton Head, we received push back because they demanded a signed copy of our rental agreement and credit card verification. We hadn't kept a copy of the rental agreement once we left, and were not going to share credit card information; so I imagine our less than favorable review won't be seen on their website. We will return to Hilton Head again . . . but not to this property and I'll use a different rental company as well!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enola, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2011

Stayed in unit # 109...great location on first floor, very nice ocean view, only complaint about location was being next to floor steps , right outside bedroom window so we heard everyone coming and going. We rented through TAN and had no problems.
Kitchen was adequate, rooms clean, hot running water, working refrigerator/freezer. Ideal for 2 people but would be crowed for more. Bedroom was small with queen size bed, but would rather have the bigger bed than more moving around room. Flat screen TV in both living room and bedroom. Bed linens, bath towels provided as well as toilet paper. Great location with Plaza behind the Breakers. Would recommend this unit to anyone.

Room Tip: Remember room 109 for great ocean view from balcoy
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, IN
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2011

Our stay at The Breakers was wonderful. We booked through TAN and were pleasantly surprised (after staying at several of their other properties not on Hilton Head...)! The room had a king sized bed and pull-out couch. The in-unit washer/dryer was a must for us. The view from the balcony was mostly pool/partial ocean. The real value of this location was of course the direct beach access and Coligny Plaza. We would certainly stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Breakers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Breakers

Address: 1 North Forest Beach Drive, Hilton Head, SC 29928
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
The Breakers Hotel Hilton Head
Breakers Hotel Hilton Head
Breakers Hilton Head

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Breakers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.