We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This wonderful resort really gets it right!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Grande Ocean

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott's Grande Ocean to your Saves list
Marriott's Grande Ocean
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   51 South Forest Beach Dr., Hilton Head, SC 29928   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rewards Members Save 20%
Ranked #4 of 26 Hotels in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Howell, NJ
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“This wonderful resort really gets it right!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

My wife and 4 y.o. daughter took a last minute "exchange" vacation to Ocean Watch on 10/16 thru 10/22. It took us about 14 hours to drive down from NJ including stops for breakfast and lunch. We arrived a day late about 9:20pm and were disappointed in the room we were given. It was on the first floor and the balcony was completely obscured by trees. But the front desk was very helpful and let us choose between two newly vacated rooms the next morning - we were able to move one floor up in the same building (making the transfer of our belongings very easy). The rooms are very spacious and well appointed: full kitchen, two bedrooms and two bathrooms (the master has a whirlpool tub), large balcony, three TV's, etc.

There are two clusters of buildings on the property - one surrounds a large pool and a small pool, with kiddie pools and hot tubs scattered about. The other cluster surrounds a "lagoon" with a pool located just before the beach, and several more kiddie pools and hot tubs in the area. We preferred the "Dolphin" cluster with the large and small pools (as well as the pool bar and snack shack). There is one heated outdoor pool on the lagoon side and a heated indoor pool. The indoor pool was closed for renovation while we were there but we were told beforehand and didn't miss it at all, as the outdoor pools were still a decent temp. The grounds are very well maintained and have a lush, tropical feel to them.

There is plenty to do with a full complement of resort activities (some free and some with a small charge), a putting green, lawn games, bbq grill areas, and the beach is just steps away. You can rent bikes for a very reasonable charge and there are bike paths all over the Island - the nicest ones in the Sea Pines section which is just down the road from the resort. The beach is wide and the sand hard packed which means it is easy to ride along the beach as well. We rented two adult bikes with a child seat on one and were amazed at the beauty of Hilton Head as we rode around the Sea Pines section for many miles.

The resort staff were very professional, friendly, and helpful! There was no maid service as we were not using the resort as a "hotel", but we didn't need it as every room comes equipped with a washer and dryer.

Parking was great as every building has a parking area underneath, with some overflow parking spaces outside. It was nice getting into a car that wasn't broiling from being outside in the sun!

We had a fantastic time and will definitely come back, most likely in mid October again when the weather is still warm and the island not too crowded. We had mid 70's to low 80's the entire week and not a drop of rain!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    123
    26
    10
    5
See reviews for
261
146
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tennessee
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2010

Tripadvisors did not steer us wrong on this one. The location was fabulous and close to everything we needed or wanted. The rooms are absolutely huge and it is set up so that parents have some privacy and so do the kids. They provided you with everything you might need for your stay. The resort had several pools and a pool bar that served excellent drinks. The food at the Dolphin was excellent for lunch. The only negative thing at all was the indoor heated pool was under repair and my daughter didn't get to use it at all, and they quality of beach chairs was way under par considering the cost of this resort per night. Other than that, we had a fabulous stay and would highly recommend this location to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2010

We travel here every year. It is soooooo relaxing. Not too crowded. Plenty of space both around the pools and in the unit. Very roomy living area, feels like a home. Beds are comfy and the balconies are spacious. The property itself particularly the landscape, is gorgeous and very well kept. We always look forward to our vacations at Marriott's Grande Ocean!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hatteras, NC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2010

Our room/villa was a real disapointment. Upon entering the door from the balcony the musty/moldy smell of old wet carpet was nearly unbearable. Febreeze did not do the trick either. The property was clean, but tv in master whistled a high pitch very loudly after on for 10 min. Maid service was nearly non-existant and towel supply bleak. Would not stay here again. Having worked at Marriott in sales I was so hugely disapointed that they had lost their touch in luxury. It was not like this 2BR/2 BA villa was a low rate by any means.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2010

My family have been going to the Marriott Grande Ocean for the past 8 years. We first stayed at the Marriott Sunset Pointe and were none too thrilled.
All the "action" is at the Grande Ocean.
There is a full array of children's activities, most complimentary, from goofy golf, to beach soccer. My teenage daughter even partakes in the tie dye tee shirt making.
This year we stayed for two weeks by trading a week we had at the new Surfwatch.
It was well worth it. There's nothing like being right on the ocean.
We drive from NJ, so the extra days this year were great.
Now, if a top floor is what you want, forget it....They are now instituting a new policy, that rotates the top (5th) floor. First to owners, then guests. Nothing is direct Ocean front unless you pay up to a platinum, or elite level...Not worth it!
The staff are okay...Needs as far as the unit, reservations, and tennis/golf packages are very good. They are often just quite busy with complaints about room location. Always, if you have little ones, ask for the Dolphin pool location...Nothing over the grill...
The sales team are very annoying, they will try and try to get you to go to one of their other properties, usually Surfwatch. The newest of the Marriott chain. You have to be direct and up front (unless you want to see it) that you have no interest!
There are 4 outdoor pools, one is a lap pool, and they have an indoor lap pool. they have tennis courts across the street, and free lessons if you're an owner. They also have numerous Jacuzzis. Some are hotter than others, you have to check them.
The property also has the quiet "Lagoon" side. Great for older adults who do not need to be in the middle of the action (Dolphin pool).
They have numerous grills all over the property, and we have never had to wait for one. There are so many restaurant's on the Island that you would want to check many out. Many also offer delivery to Marriott at a nominal fee.

It is overall a wonderful property. Many people from other Marriott properties all over the country,including Maui prefer the Grande Ocean. Please don't hesitate if you have any ?????
The suites comfortably sleep six. With two bedrooms, one with two queen beds, the other with a king. In the living area there is a pull out be, which I'm told is comfy. They all have a kitchen, fully stocked with all the pots, pans, plates, utencils, etc.
Also provided are a washing machine and dryer in all units. They have done a great job with renovating units, and keeping them very clean and tidy.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2010

We stayed at the Marriott Grande Ocean from August 29th until September 5th and had the best week's vacation in a few years. Even though Hurricane Earl was causing mayhem in the Carribean and up the US seacoast, we weren't affected at all. We had a straight week of sunny mid 90s weather, with nice breezes off the ocean to help keep things comfortable. The surf was a little bit rougher because of the hurricane, but that made things even better. The resort is top notch and is kept very clean. Our condo was a 2br with a beautiful view of the ocean from the 3rd floor. It is more than big enough for a family of 4 (11 and 15 year old kids) and having a complete batroom including jacuzzi tub and large shower in the Master room was perfect. If you really wanted to you could fit 6-8. The pools were very clean and not too crowded, which I think is because of the time of year. I think many schools in the US are back at that time, so most of the families were made up of older folks with their 30 something kids and young grandkids. No problem getting a chair by one of the many pools, or on the beach. Bring your own chair and umbrella to save some money. On site bike rentals were great and not too costly. We biked to Sea Pines by one of the paths and came back by the beach, which wasn't too difficult because of the hard packed sand. The ocean was an amazing 84 degrees all week and very very clean and free of seaweed. the Grande Ocean is a time share but there was no heavy pressure to attend any info sessions at all, which was nice. We were asked once and declined and that was the end of it. I can't speak to the cost of the Grande Ocean because we were using a friend's time share. This is a very family oriented resort so don't expect lots of night life. There are many daily events planned however, but nothing much other than movie night after 7:30 pm. They did have a couple of welcome coctail events which was a nice touch and they didn't charge an arm or a leg. There was a $5 (free refill) margarita hour and a free wine and cheese hour during the week which were put on as welcomes. There was also a Hawaiian Luau on Labor Day for $20 per adult and $15 per child. We had already left, but it sounded like fun. All in all it was a great week.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, PA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2010

This was our second visit to Hilton Head, having previously stayed at Barony Beach Club. Personally, I preferred the Grande Ocean. The resort is smaller so everything is closer walking from wherever you stayed. The workout facility looks out over the beach and pool area. The villa had a full size washer and dryer, first I have seen after staying in a few Marriott time share resorts. The beach was clean and you can rent umbrella and 2 chairs for about $20/day. Walgreens also sells chairs/umbrellas if you prefer. All of the pools were great, we tried them all. One complaint that I did have was that one day we went to a pool where 2 people were in it, 5 sitting around it but all chairs were taken. We were there for hours and no one came back. Their paperwork says loss prevention monitors and will remove after 30 minutes but that did not happen. Sort of annoying. There are plenty of activities and even a dj dance party at the pool one day. For dinner, we ate at Grumpy Grouper (fair), Fat Baby's pizza (great), Frankie Bones (great, has smores for dessert which was a hit for the kids) Skullcreek Boathouse (great), Amigos (casual, authentic Mexican food, delicious have been there before) Redfish and Cornbread (go early to avoid the wait but great), Black Marlin (great). There was a pool bar and even a restaurant that served lunch by the pool. Overall, we would go back again and had a wonderful time!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott's Grande Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Grande Ocean

Address: 51 South Forest Beach Dr., Hilton Head, SC 29928
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Grande Ocean 3.5*
Number of rooms: 290
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Marriott's Grande Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Grande Ocean Hotel Hilton Head
Marriotts Hilton Head
Marriotts Hotel Grande Ocean
Marriott Hilton Head

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Grande Ocean, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.