We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best vacation spot - highly recommend!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Grande Ocean

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott's Grande Ocean to your Saves list
Marriott's Grande Ocean
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   51 South Forest Beach Dr., Hilton Head, SC 29928   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #3 of 27 Hotels in Hilton Head
Tipp City, Ohio
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best vacation spot - highly recommend!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

First visit to Hilton Head - highly recommended by several co-workers. The Marriott Grand Ocean was also recommended by a family who has vacationed in Hilton Head for over 20 years. The Grande Ocean was fabulous! I am always leary about the cleanliness of a rental, but this was exceptionally clean. Our villa had been renovated recently. The furniture was clean and comfortable. The carpet/floors were clean. We loved the size of the master suite. We traveled with our 21 year old son and his friend. They had their own bedroom/bath. It worked out great. The kitchen is roomy and clean. The updated appliances were wonderful. I loved the laundry room - full sized washer and dryer! The complex was very nice. There were chairs in the sun or shade. Our villa was close to the lap pool which offered a more adult environment and sun or shade. They had activities planned each day. We enjoyed Jim's Pool Bar. Easy access to the beach. The staff was exceptionally friendly - from the front desk staff to the workers cleaning the pools to the security workers at the front gate. We will return and would highly recommend!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    115
    23
    9
    3
See reviews for
239
131
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

This is the best Marriott property on the island. We stayed in a room renovated last winter and we were very impressed at the upgrades. Lighted mirrors in the baths. Stainless appliances and comfortable furniture. The amenities are abundant while being a short walk to the beach. The north courtyard is like taking a walk through the park. Plenty of activities for the entire family. The staff was friendly. With underground parking, the car is cool if you decide to leave this piece of paradise. We were disappointed to leave and already booked for a return visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

This was our first visit to hilton head island, but will not be our last. We are vacation club owners and wanted a getaway to a beach with warm water without going to florida or the Caribbean. This was one of the nicest vacation clubs we have stayed in overall. In the review, I will also mention barony beach club as we had family staying concurrently and used their facilities as well.
The room we had was one of the renovated rooms and the other half should be done in December. These are very nicely appointed and quite spacious. Full sized washer and dryer, well stocked and spacious kitchen, two large walk in showers and a jacuzzi bath tub. I did not like the feather pillows but must admit I never tried to call for different ones. Our room had a side view of the beach and a very large balcony. One bedroom with a king and the other with two doubles. Only 5 of us so didn't need to use the pullout sofa. In comparison to the barony beach club, the rooms were significantly nicer.
There were 4 outdoor pools and one indoor pool with a lap lane in two pools. Water felt like bath watered didn't even need the hot tub to warm up after 2 hours straight in the pool. Main pool had some shooting jets and bubbles to make it more interesting and there was music at times. Pools at the barony were better for younger kids however as the garden villas there had a fun tube water slide and kids splash pad and zero entry pools. The lack of a zero entry pool at grande ocean was one of the few disappointments.
The beach was a little small but very easily accessible. Nice sand and again felt like bath water. It was southern Caribbean warm. Waves were better at grande ocean but not too big for small kids. Waves were almost non existent at barony but I though beach was slightly nicer. Long walk to ocean from some barony villas.
Fitness center was decent but not spectacular. There were plenty of other activities as well. Tried to rent bikes but they didn't have what we needed on that day. Looked comparable to other bike rental places we looked at.
Location was excellent. Close to see pines and an easy drive to shelter cove. Was about 15 to 20 minutes to barony beach on the north side. I liked the location better than the other marriott resorts. Grocery stores nearby were reasonable but the new Kroger was worth the extra drive.
Hilton head itself is definitely more classy than typical east coast beaches. It is hot in June but there is so much shade from the large old growth trees it was comfortable to walk around or bike outdoors during the day. If you are looking for a boardwalk, amusement parks, heavy crowds, load people, a drinking or party scene, then hilton head isn't for you. If you want a fun, clean, relatively quiet and beautiful beach getaway with warm water though, this is perfect. We will be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Our first time in Hilton head and we stayed here with kids. Very family friendly. Beach a little crowded. Pools wonderful. Awesome things to do. Wish there was a real restaurant on site. Villa superb. Very friendly staff. Would recommend and we will be back!

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

My son's family and I stayed here to meet up with my other son's family who come down every other year as part of a relative's timeshare. We ended up paying $595/night to get in the buildings closest to the beach, $580 for other buildings. The only way I could justify the price is that it allowed us to stay in the same resort as the others, all 6 of us could stay in the same room & they had kitchens & washers & dryers. The suites are very nice. We had a suite with a king bed with whirlpool tub, separate shower & toilet area as one bedroom. The other bedroom had 2 queen beds, a bathroom with a huge shower in it. The living area had a pull out couch & 2 chairs with a nice large TV & next to that was a large dining set that sat 6, on the other side of that was a fully equipped kitchen. Then walking in was a full laundry area which was really nice to have. There is a 4 seat dining table on the terrace but we overlooked the back of the pool bar area & the south pool so the view wasn't terrific but saw a little sliver of a view of the ocean. We couldn't get on any floor higher than the first floor, though since we had 3 kids we didn't mind it all that much as we were right next to the stairwell. The stairwell is VERY poorly lit, is one of my negatives.
The amount of pools was great, it is a very short distance to a very nice beach. They provide you with beach towels in the room but you have to rent beach chairs, umbrellas etc. There are lots of poolside loungers free of charge. There are showers and hoses to wash off when you come back from the beach.
There is a pool bar which was pretty good but the wait was too long. They had a snack shack which we didn't use as it was pricey and a Marketplace shop that was also pricey but had really good pizza.
Parking for the room was under the building but the spaces are tight. There is more parking outside the building for guests. I guess that is one nice thing because the whole resort isn't taken up with parking lots.
What I despised about the place was the phone calls before coming down to try to get us to buy a timeshare and we even got a call right before checking out. They are trying to get us to come back for 4 days/3 nights for $599 so i feel like the price i paid for these 2 days finances that. I cant say that I would have paid this price had my other son not already been staying there & we had an infant with us and didn't want to be going long distances back & forth.
We were only there for 2 nights so didn't get to do a lot of events. We did go to Harbourtowne & you get a free parking pass as part of the room. We had dinner there, listened to some of the kids concert, got ice and the kids got to play on the really nice playground.
Overall for the limited time we were there it was a fun trip.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Great location, nice beach for walking/sitting or riding bikes. Free pass to Sea Pines which is an easy bike or car ride. Very convenient to restaurants and attractions. Rent a car since you will want to explore area and participate in boating etc which is not onsite.

Room Tip: We had a second floor ocean room, but could see only a sliver because of trees. A third floor room w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We stayed in a two-bedroom suite for a week with another couple and enjoyed the hotel immensely. The villa was large and had a well appointed kitchen, a large balcony overlooking one of the swimming pools, and a nice big laundry room that came in handy! The suite was well decorated, and the furniture was comfortable. The BBQ grills they have around the pools (which we used a couple of times) complete the beach vacation experience. The grounds are lovely and well maintained, very pleasant surroundings.

The beach-front location of this hotel is great - you can walk right out the grounds and stroll on a nice long beach, or you can rent bicycles to ride on the beach. A short walk away is a nice shopping area with some restaurants - we walked to breakfast and to dinner a few times from here as there are pedestrian-friendly pathways leading to multiple shopping and dining areas.

The only down side here was that they didn't replenish the shampoos and bath soaps in the room, which surprised me for a Marriott - a trip to the front desk to replenish the supplies was disappointing as well, as they only gave enough for one day. If I were to stay here again I would take my own supplies.
Other than that, it was a great stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott's Grande Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Grande Ocean

Address: 51 South Forest Beach Dr., Hilton Head, SC 29928
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Grande Ocean 3.5*
Number of rooms: 290
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Marriott's Grande Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Grande Ocean Hotel Hilton Head
Marriotts Hilton Head
Marriotts Hotel Grande Ocean
Marriott Hilton Head

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Grande Ocean, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.