We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marriott Delivers Again!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Grande Ocean

Save Saved
You added Marriott's Grande Ocean to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Marriott's Grande Ocean
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   51 South Forest Beach Dr., Hilton Head, SC 29928   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rewards Members Save 25%
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Hilton Head
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Marriott Delivers Again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

What a memorable week at the Marriott Grande Ocean. Let's start with the core of resort, it's amazing staff. If you own at a Marriott resort or part of their Destination Program you already understand there is no better! From early communications weeks prior to check until we left the resort every single staff member we interacted with was beyond gracious, more than friendly and ALWAYS strived to provide the very best service, no task to small or large and always met with a smile and a sincerity I have found no where else!

We arrived the 1st week in May, heated pools, abundant sunshine, a resort a near capacity that never felt overcrowded. We were very fortunate to have stayed in the Dolphin building which was recently renovated, very tastefully I might add. I can be redundant to so many other reviews here but I will merely let you know, the resort is fantastic, with the most attentive staff, location best on the island accessible to everything! Just plan your vacation and let them show you what so many of us learned, they do it right each and every-time and care about their guests and owners. Thanks for giving myself and my family another week of fond memories!

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    113
    21
    8
    3
See reviews for
226
118
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

This was my first time to Hilton Head Island. The property was pretty. My only complaint is that there were not any Ocean Front Rooms available. I think they are for Owners the majority of the time. We felt a little young for majority of the crowd. There were some young families. We came with another couple and we are around 50 yr old. Things shut down early. The snack bar is only open for lunch12-3. Since the weather was funky. We played ping pong, rode bikes, played cards, and walked on the beach. It was a very very relaxing vacation. Since it is an island and they only have the one internet service, the reception and connectivity even in the office is sketchy.
Our departure was at 5:30 pm so they did give us a later check out.

Room Tip: We stayed in the dolphin as recommended by trip advisors. But the highest room available was on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We have been going for years. My kids start the countdown months out. It has beach and pools. Our family LOVES the activities. From the sand castle contest, trivia, bingo, scavenger hunt, beach soccer, tie dye shirts to corn hole, we have done it all! The Grand Ocean definitely holds a special place in our family memories. We're headed there again very soon!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

This is a fantastic resort. We asked for an updated room and were given one in the Penguin building. It seems to have been just renovated - everything is brand new! We got here a little early and were able to check in about an hour before standard check in time. The amenities in the room are fantastic. The pools are great, although be warned that only two of the outdoor pools are heated. One of the heated pools is reserved for adult lap swim several hours a day. There are multiple hot tubs, which are very nice and spacious. There are fun activities for kids, such as Easter S'Mores made with marshmallow Peeps. We also rented bikes for the week for $30 and we have used the HHI bike paths a lot. Beds are extremely comfortable. We had a wonderful week and would like to come back.

Room Tip: Ask for a recently renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Had the wonderful opportunity to stay for a week in March at this relaxing Marriott with family. We stayed in the section Sand Castle which had a great view of the dolphin pool and just a glimpse of the ocean. We found our location central to everything, taking only minutes to get to an indoor pool and spa on a rainy day. We really did not partake in any of the activities while there, but saw people biking, playing ping pong, and using the large chess set in the outdoors. People also were enjoying bocce and shuffleboard.? We did enjoy the Crows Nest which was a lovely room with a great view of the ocean where we sipped our wine prior to dinner. On our first morning there We were unable to get our coffee maker to work, so I went to the front desk to explain. They sent me to their Market for free Starbucks, while at the same time sending up a new coffee maker. Very efficient in pleasing their guests. We enjoyed our lunch at the cabana by the poor. Pretty yummy for poolside fare. Loved the great swings between the pools,as well as our walks on the beach. Definitely no complaints staying here.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Grande Ocean, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thank you for your five-star review of Marriott's Grande Ocean! We are happy to be your relaxing hideaway on beautiful Hilton Head Island. Please visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

By Hilton Head Island this oceanfront hotel is a bargain. It sits on a good beach and is well staffed. The room we had was very large with a nice ocean view. Hotel staff was friendly and very helpful.
I was there on business and the room was great to work in.

Room Tip: Ask for partial ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Grand ocean just keeps improving. There are so many things to keep our little ones busy. Just happy with this visit. I will continue my visits here on Hilton Head and with Grand Ocean. Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Grande Ocean, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Thank you for the great review of Marriott's Grande Ocean! We are happy you enjoyed our recent updates and look forward to continuing to provide you with an exceptional vacation experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott's Grande Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Grande Ocean

Address: 51 South Forest Beach Dr., Hilton Head, SC 29928
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Grande Ocean 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Marriott's Grande Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Grande Ocean Hotel Hilton Head
Marriotts Hilton Head
Marriotts Hotel Grande Ocean
Marriott Hilton Head

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Grande Ocean, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.