We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Beautiful Place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Grande Ocean

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott's Grande Ocean to your Saves list
Marriott's Grande Ocean
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   51 South Forest Beach Dr., Hilton Head, SC 29928   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #4 of 27 Hotels in Hilton Head
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“A Beautiful Place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We returned after 7 years for a family gathering to the Grande Ocean and had a wonderful time. We had 2 full units and loved hearing the ocean waves from our balconies. The rooms are nicely appointed and spacious, and we were pleasantly surprised at how comfortable the king size bed was in our room. We loved the Christmas lights strung all over the main entrance driveway - so festive! A short walk to the beach provided great time in the sand with grandchildren. We were happy to discover that beach chairs can be rented from the bicycle area. There are still turtles in the lovely ponds. We enjoyed the outdoors pool table, ping pong table and giant chess set. Extra Bonus - Free newspapers each morning by the elevator. We can always depend on Marriott to provide a high standard of villa living.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Grande Ocean, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
On behalf of our entire team, we thank you for your five-star review of Marriott’s Grande Ocean! We are happy to hear feedback from such a loyal guest and appreciate your continued patronage. Our team looks forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    116
    23
    9
    3
See reviews for
239
132
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Not really a cold or mild weather vacation fan, but our most recent trip in December to Hilton Head with a stay at the Marriott Grande Ocean proved pleasant and healthy. I was required to renew my walking, biking, and sightseeing abilities rather than lounge around some hot sunny pool or beach. The grounds are typical Marriott with a lot of indoor activities for interested kids-adults. The real treat was being able to ride a rented bicycle for miles on the beach and on the islands great bike trails. Golfing was pretty affordable and was glad to slow down an see the neighborhood at bike level and gain an appreciation for the slow southern style of enjoyment. Would not go in the summer due to the increase in prices and length of lines for eating out.

Room Tip: Higher floors provide better views over tree canopies
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We have been visiting Grande Ocean for 20 years. The unit we were assigned to this time was in dreadful shape. After we had taken all our luggage up to the room, I saw that we were just above the one heated pool on the property and realized it would probably be noisy. My husband then told me that he had requested that building so I decided to try to live with the noise. It was indeed very noisy with people shouting and whooping at all hours with no regard for other guests. As we settled in I discovered that the kitchen and laundry room were in dreadful shape and the bathrooms were not much better. When I phoned the front desk to ask that something be done about the dishwasher since it was extremely rusty inside, I was told that as long as it was working, nothing would be done because the building was due to be refurbished sometime in 2014. We were then offered a chance to move but at that point had already unpacked a month's worth of clothes. Since both of us are senior citizens with physical challenges, the idea of having to pack up everything again and move was just too daunting.

The first time I tried the dishwasher, it would not start. The door seemed to be loose and after jiggling it around, it finally started but stopped about halfway through, leaving the dishes covered with a sandy film. Tried it several more times and it finally did run a full cycle. We had to go through that every time we wanted to do the dishes. When I started to do laundry, I found that instead of the full size washer that had always been in the laundry room, there was a small front loader that would only hold about 4 or 5 tee shirts and that the dryer drum was extremely rusty. I asked that something be done about the dryer. Apparently someone came while we were out and painted over some of the rust spots but not all. When I tried using the washer (had to get down on my knees to load it), it left the clothes so mangled and tangled that it actually ripped the strap off one of my camisoles; the dryer left a rust stain on one of my husband's tee shirts. I ultimately decided to wait until we got home to do any more wash. There was also large stain of some kind on the toe kick tile in the master bath.

Handicapped parking has always been an ongoing problem at this resort and that was the case this time. There were three cars with handicapped tags in the building but only one handicapped space available. If you didn't get there before the other people you were pretty much out of luck for a covered handicapped space.

We have had many happy times at Grande Ocean and love Pool Bar Jim's but this was pretty much a disaster. This property should have been refurbished about 5 years ago before it got into such bad shape. We left early and will not be back until/unless a major refurbishment has taken place.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Grande Ocean, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Thank you for your review for Marriott’s Grande Ocean. We apologize for not meeting your expectations on your recent stay with us and appreciate your feedback. The resort will begin renovations this week to upgrade all of our villas. We are also sorry to hear the noise from the pool was a concern and always encourage our owners to let us know their location requests. Our recreation team also enforces pool hours to make sure our guests are not disrupted at night.

We would welcome the chance to personally speak with you about your stay and invite you to contact our Customer Care team at Customer.Care@vacationclub.com or at 800-860-9384. Thank you for being a part of the Marriott Vacation Club family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

We traded our time share for a week here and the family loved it. The location was perfect for everything. Right on the ocean and a few minutes from Sea Pines by bike. The hotel also gave us a weekly pass to visit Sea Pines (normally costs $5 per day). The bike rentals were on site and were very reasonably priced $30/week. It was conveniently located to stores and restaurants as well. The hotel staff were particularly friendly and helpful. They also had lots of activities for children each day and free movies at night. This was our first visit to Hilton Head and we loved it and will definitely be back to this Marriott,

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the lagoon. It is very quiet and pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks County, PA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

My husband and I spent a weeks vacation at this fabulous resort. We are ready to go again. The suites were fabulous with all the amenities that we required and more. Our room overlooked the heated outdoor pool and hot tub. We walked on the beach every day.

Room Tip: Whether and ocean view or lagoon view, they all were fabulous
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Bethel, Minnesota, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

We stayed at the Marriott's Grand Ocean resort in Hilton Head the week of Christmas, 2013. It was a fabulous resort with many activities and recreational opportunities. The resort had an indoor pool/hot tub which was perfect for the chilly days. The grandchildren had fun playing on the beach. The activities staff had many fun things planned throughout the week. The accommodations were "first-rate"!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparta, North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

My daughter treated me as a stress reliever. We stayed in Starfish bldg on Dec 6. for a long weekend. It was perfect. The rooms are beautiful and spacious. There is a huge laundry room in the villa.The weather was in the 70's. We rode bikes to Harbor Town and South Beach. Salty Dog had good lunch. We had chicken salad and crab soup. We saw alligators, birds and many beautiful sites. The cushioned lounge chairs were nice to sit in the sun. The beach walkway was neat and we enjoyed the beach. The workout room overlooks the beach and also has tv if you prefer that. The staff was great and switched our room to give us a better view. They found a shoe I lost in the first room and immediately returned it. Kudos to the housekeeping team..Tanger outlets is a short drive and my daughter found some great buys. We ate at Hot Mamas(great sweet potato fries) and Sea Shack (great food). The hot chocolate at the eatery on the property was nice. The sitting area near the library overlooking the beach provided the perfect spot to enjoy our hot chocolate and talk. This will be one of my favorite memories. I look forward to returning and bringing my girls for mother daughter time.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott's Grande Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Grande Ocean

Address: 51 South Forest Beach Dr., Hilton Head, SC 29928
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Grande Ocean 3.5*
Number of rooms: 290
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Marriott's Grande Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Grande Ocean Hotel Hilton Head
Marriotts Hilton Head
Marriotts Hotel Grande Ocean
Marriott Hilton Head

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Grande Ocean, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.