We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dream Vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Grande Ocean

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott's Grande Ocean to your Saves list
Marriott's Grande Ocean
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   51 South Forest Beach Dr., Hilton Head, SC 29928   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #4 of 27 Hotels in Hilton Head
Bucks County, PA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Dream Vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

My husband and I spent a weeks vacation at this fabulous resort. We are ready to go again. The suites were fabulous with all the amenities that we required and more. Our room overlooked the heated outdoor pool and hot tub. We walked on the beach every day.

Room Tip: Whether and ocean view or lagoon view, they all were fabulous
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    116
    23
    9
    3
See reviews for
239
133
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
East Bethel, Minnesota, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

We stayed at the Marriott's Grand Ocean resort in Hilton Head the week of Christmas, 2013. It was a fabulous resort with many activities and recreational opportunities. The resort had an indoor pool/hot tub which was perfect for the chilly days. The grandchildren had fun playing on the beach. The activities staff had many fun things planned throughout the week. The accommodations were "first-rate"!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparta, North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

My daughter treated me as a stress reliever. We stayed in Starfish bldg on Dec 6. for a long weekend. It was perfect. The rooms are beautiful and spacious. There is a huge laundry room in the villa.The weather was in the 70's. We rode bikes to Harbor Town and South Beach. Salty Dog had good lunch. We had chicken salad and crab soup. We saw alligators, birds and many beautiful sites. The cushioned lounge chairs were nice to sit in the sun. The beach walkway was neat and we enjoyed the beach. The workout room overlooks the beach and also has tv if you prefer that. The staff was great and switched our room to give us a better view. They found a shoe I lost in the first room and immediately returned it. Kudos to the housekeeping team..Tanger outlets is a short drive and my daughter found some great buys. We ate at Hot Mamas(great sweet potato fries) and Sea Shack (great food). The hot chocolate at the eatery on the property was nice. The sitting area near the library overlooking the beach provided the perfect spot to enjoy our hot chocolate and talk. This will be one of my favorite memories. I look forward to returning and bringing my girls for mother daughter time.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

First time staying at our new Christmas vacation spot. Great view of the wide HHI beach. Great accomodations. Great kitchen layout. Could use better pillows like most Marriott condos. indoor pool is nice in winter, but you can also do the ocean on at least a couple of days

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Grande Ocean, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Thank you for your five-star review of Marriott’s Grande Ocean! Our team is delighted your family chose our resort as their new Christmas getaway. We look forward to many more years to come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Coast, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Yes it's right on the ocean. Most others are on inlets.
The units are hugh. Its the size you would live in. Hugh master with large connecting bath. Second bedroom has two queens, also connecting bath. Living room, dining room , eat at bar connecting to open kitchen. There is a large laundry room in unit. Nice fitness center. Even a heated pool inside. Also pools outdoors with hot tubs. Parking under buildings. Onthat note in winter don't stay on level one. Floors stay cold. Or you could wear slippers. Activities are many.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

We had the opportunity to take a 4-day, three-night weekend visit to the Marriott Grand Ocean on October 2013. This was a discount offering to pre-view the property and take the 90-minute "sales pitch."

Hilton Head in October is very quiet, as most of the kids are back in school, so there is very little activity at the resort. The weather was pleasant enough to ride bikes on the beach and play golf, but a little too chilly to go into the ocean or resort pools.

When we checked-in, we were offered only ground and first floor units which were very disappointing to us. We were told they were "sold out" for the weekend, which was simply not the case. If we were going to an ocean property, we would have liked to at least seen a glimpse of the ocean from our room. However, because we were only offered lower floor rooms, and because of the dense foliage outside our porch, we had limited view of anything.

When we had asked at the front desk during check-in if we could get a villa that didn't face the parking lot or lagoon, suddenly other villas were available. We were offered more than six to choose from. Clearly, regardless if better views or higher floors are available at the time, you won't be offered these villas which must be a directive from the management. Interesting that we were invited to the property with the clear intention of trying to sell us more Marriott property and offerings, yet made no effort whatsoever to impress us with their property or service.

I also found it curious that we were bombarded by the concierge people upon check-in with offerings to make dinner arrangements each evening. They made sure we stopped by to let them know where we wanted to eat and insisted they made the calls to the restaurants on our behalf. It was evident to us there was a push to certain restaurants featured in their handsomely prepared display book in the lobby to get you to consider certain establishments, likely with gratuities exchanged behind the scenes.

We felt the villas and properties, in general, needed to be spruced-up. Our villa, although updated with granite and modern appliances was in need of repair in certain areas. The handle to our sliding door to the porch was nearly falling off and needed maintenance. The shower faucets hot/cold water ring over the spigot fell off when the handle was engaged. Housekeeping clearly hadn't cleaned the porch before our arrival as we found a stamped out cigarette butt on the floor - yuk. So much for having a smoke free property.

One of the oddest things we found is that we stayed at the villa one night and used the gas grill to prepare our meal with the intention of having a nice dinner on the porch. As the sun goes down earlier in October, it got dark around 6:30 or so. We brought the meal up from the grill area and began setting the table on the porch and looked around for the light --- no light. We had no light on our porch. I don't know if they expect people to utilize the porch after dark or not. However, it's real difficult to utilize the space when you can't see anything. Some of the best opportunities to take advantage of the pleasant weather in the evening is to spend time outside of the villa - strange.

Check-out was fine and uneventful, but unlike most Marriott's, no mention of whether we enjoyed our stay - come back again, etc, etc. The trip was very basic by Marriott's standards and certainly unimpressive for an opportunity to sell a customer a piece of property.

For the fine print, not that I expected something for nothing, however, I am a lifetime Platinum Premier Marriott member and have stayed over 1000 nights at Marriott properties all over the world. We are also Marriott Vacation Club owners with property in a different state and have owned there for over 15 years. I mention this as I am quite familiar with Marriott service and amenities. I believe the service and upkeep of this property negatively influenced whether we would not only upgrade our ownership, but also whether we would be interested in returning to this property in the future.

Room Tip: Villas around the main pool are very noisy, especially with kids who get up early and want to use th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Manager at Marriott's Grande Ocean, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Thank you for visiting Marriott’s Grande Ocean. As a Marriott Vacation Club owner, we truly value your feedback and apologize the resort did not exceed your expectations. While the ocean front category was not available for your travel dates, we hope the front desk team was able to find a view that was acceptable to you. Your comments about concierge services, room condition and the overall guest service experience will be shared with our leadership team so we may appropriately follow-up with each department. Thank you again for your honest feedback and we thank you for being a part of the Marriott Vacation Club family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

We stayed at the Marriott Grande Ocean for a couple days, and really enjoyed it- we wish we could have stayed longer. The villas are huge and well appointed. It works well for families, and would definitely work even for a long trip.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Manager at Marriott's Grande Ocean, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thank you for providing a five-star review of Marriott’s Grande Ocean! We are delighted to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your vacation. Please come visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott's Grande Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Grande Ocean

Address: 51 South Forest Beach Dr., Hilton Head, SC 29928
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Grande Ocean 3.5*
Number of rooms: 290
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Marriott's Grande Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Grande Ocean Hotel Hilton Head
Marriotts Hilton Head
Marriotts Hotel Grande Ocean
Marriott Hilton Head

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Grande Ocean, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.