We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well appointed and great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Grande Ocean

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott's Grande Ocean to your Saves list
Marriott's Grande Ocean
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   51 South Forest Beach Dr., Hilton Head, SC 29928   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #3 of 27 Hotels in Hilton Head
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Well appointed and great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

This was lovely accommodation and very well appointed. It was very clean and the suite was refreshed each day. It was right on the beach and also had three pools with loads of chairs. Parking was very easy and close to our accomodation. We found the staff very pleasant and each day we were kept updated about weather activities etc. We has a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    115
    23
    9
    3
See reviews for
239
131
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

When we arrived the Concierge was applying makeup and brushing her hair. There was another lady sitting beside her. Was not sure if she was in training. Someone asked where to print brooding passes. She never got up and escorted the guest to the business center. She just said "over there." The next morning she was working, she called a guest in their room and said, " I head you wanted me to ringy dingy you." Theses are not Marriott standards. I think they must hire out a " Concierge." She was bragging about how many tours she book for the month. I guess she is getting kickbacks. Obviously she is not striving to be a golden key Concierge.

Nice property. We were here last year and you can see it is not kept up as well. Needs better towels.

Less planned activities this year.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Very nice property directly at beautiful beach, 2-bedroom apartment was huge with extremely comfortable beds. 5 pools (1 indoor, 1 heated outdoor, 3 other outdoor) kept our kids busy, extremely friendly staff, lots of activities for all age group. Prices for activities, drinks and groceries in the mini-mart are perfectly reasonable. You get a pass for sea pines to explore that part of the island.
The small negatives were the age profile the week we were there (quite a bit older than our family with kids) and the spotty wi-fi signal. But all in all a fun stay in very pretty surroundings.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita Springs, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We spent 3 nights and were very pleased with our accommodations. The property is a little dated but well kept and a wonderful spot on the beach. we would definitely stay again. The front desk was helpful with restaurant choices. the pool area was nice but could be larger ands an adult pool would be welcomed. The balcony area did not get cleaned the entire time we were there. All in all a good stay, nothing to complain about.

Room Tip: The lower levels do not have an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We've been coming to Grande Ocean for over 15 years, usually every second year. I own at another Marriott so this is always an exchange. We always enjoy the bike riding, the proximity to the Sea Pines plantation and the location on the island in relation to everything else we want to do. HOWEVER, the villas are starting to show use. They are still pretty clean (found a sock under a bed that wasn't ours) and well appointed. Like another review, I noticed that the showers did not completely drain. I heard coins dropping on the tile in the floor above but all in all an enjoyable vacation. I just can't give a 5 anymore.

Room Tip: 4th floor in Pelican is right at tree top level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed in this hotel in June on a weekend getaway. We will definitely be back. The service was excellent and the rooms are well appointed and very clean! We would recommend this hotel to anyone, we will be back

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
224 helpful votes 224 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

The reception ad check in was excellent the staff is very nice upon arrival. But the "villas" are just condos and a little worn but very clean. Cockroaches are seen on the stairwells mid day as garbage bind house the recycle debris just below them. The pool is too shallow to swim in and the crowd, er uh, really really OLD. Of course they come with their grandchildren butn they stay in the kiddie pool areas. Its a good location and pleasant enough but the time share owners think its so exclusive but all the guest are getting rates thru discount services so its not grande at all but t shirts and gray haired bingo folks. Take a pass and go somewhere you wont feel like you're in a retirement community. So boring.

Room Tip: Try asking for room #8014 (i think ?) is affords good views of the ocean and pool and is very privat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Grande Ocean, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay at Marriott's Grande Ocean. While this is a Marriott Vacation Club resort, all of our villas are completely renovated every 4 - 5 years. Marriott's Grande Ocean is also one of the premier family resorts on Hilton Head Island. However during the off-season, the resort does have fewer families staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott's Grande Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Grande Ocean

Address: 51 South Forest Beach Dr., Hilton Head, SC 29928
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Grande Ocean 3.5*
Number of rooms: 290
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Marriott's Grande Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Grande Ocean Hotel Hilton Head
Marriotts Hilton Head
Marriotts Hotel Grande Ocean
Marriott Hilton Head

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Grande Ocean, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.