We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional Resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Grande Ocean

Save Saved
You added Marriott's Grande Ocean to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Marriott's Grande Ocean
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   51 South Forest Beach Dr., Hilton Head, SC 29928   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #4 of 26 hotels in Hilton Head
Pittsburgh
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Exceptional Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We have been going to the Grande Ocean for over ten years and the facilities continue to impress. The rooms are updated regularly, and the outside amenities - grill, Pool Bar Jim's - are great, as well.

The staff has always been very helpful, and we highly recommend the Grande Ocean to anyone planning a visit to Hilton Head. We are excited to heading back to the island later this month for another stay at one of HHI's best resorts.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    278
    108
    20
    8
    4
See reviews for
203
119
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC metropolitan area
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

The hotel is a wonderful resort for vacationing families, couples.

We were here on a business. Gave us wonderful board and private rooms to meet in. Full security support. And gave best in the world treatment. All guests were well treated, They impressed the Boards, trustees.
This is not staying at the finest European resort - it is a Marriot. Great for an American business person anywhere in the world.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We usually stay at the Grande Ocean once a year and are always satisfied. The resort is right on the beach and also has multiple pools on the property to enjoy. There is also a bar adjacent to one of the pools along with a quick service grill-type restaurant. The property and rooms are always very clean and comfortable and the staff are always willing to help should a problem arise.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Perfect resort for mom and dad as well as kids. Tons of swimming pool options, games, organized activities, the beach, on site pizza hut and deli, etc for kids while adults also have the best world renown pool bar with pool bar Jim on property. He uses all real fruit in his drinks with old style blenders, not the island oasis machines. Best drinks you'll ever have pool side, guaranteed!! Location is also excellent, walking distance to many shops, restaurants and ice cream places. Bike trail right off the property and they rent bikes on site. Just a great place to go. Rooms are also nice with full kitchen, patio, washer and dryer, and spacious.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We have been going here for the past 15 years. Every year we have a great time. The kids love the pools and beach. The villas are excellent. Can't beat this resort. Glad we own and bought it many years ago. Super vacation.

Room Tip: Tough to get in if you are not an owner. I hear it is 2nd to Hawaii as far as trade value. Book ea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
262 reviews 262 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We've been going to HH for several years now each April school break. We've stayed at the Marriott Resort and Spa about 5 miles North most often, but decided to give this place a try. Very glad we did, and will likely go back here again. It's not a perfect spot, so depending on what matters most to you it might not be the best choice. Here are some facts to help as you consider a stay here or someplace else.

What we liked:

-Location. We liked that this was further South and closer to Caligny plaza and HarborTown area.
-On the beach. If you want a resort right on the beach this is good for that purpose.
-Close to bike trails. You literally cross the street and hit the bike trails. If you enjoy biking all over the island like we do this is a great location for that.
-Bike rentals on site. Very convenient to grab and return bikes right by your hotel room. Reasonable prices.
-Two room area choices. The resort is essentially two horseshoe shaped areas with the office in the middle. One area has a couple of pools and hot tubs, along with a natural lazy river with some wildlife. One of the pools is heated, and the only heated pool on the property. The other area has the bigger pool, the snackbar, the pool bar, shuffleboard, and bocce. Based on which atmosphere you'd prefer you can choose which area to be in. The heated pool area is much quieter, but less convenient if you want to be near the bigger pool area.
-Very nice accommodations. We had a two bedroom on the second floor. It's classic Marriott timeshare units, which to us are very spacious and nice with full kitchen, dining room table, big living room, big deck, big master BR and 2 bathrooms. Initially we didn't like being on the quieter side with the natural water area, but in the end were glad we chose it as it was much quieter and more peaceful. Even our 12 and 10 y.o enjoyed it. It's not a real far walk to the other pool area, but it's not right there if that matters to you.
-Indoor pool and hot tub. They aren't anything special but it's great having these in cold weather.
-Plenty of activities on property. Bocce, shuffleboard, cornhole, ping pong, foozball, giant chess
-Great beach. Perfect for lounging or biking/running/walking/playing.
-Nice pool bar area
-Pool snack bar food was pretty good, certainly not bad given the convenience.
-Secure location. There's a guard area and they check all traffic. Not a big deal, but a nice touch.
-Heated pool. Nice to have!

What we didn't like so much: (Keep in mind none of this would prevent us from going back, but important to note)

-Pools were cold in April. It would have been nice if they were more inviting.
-Market Place is not so great. We've been to several Marriott time-share properties and this was by far the worst market place we've seen. It was inconvenient at the end of the property, small, way too hot inside, very limited choices for essentials, gifts, etc. Just know that you will need to stock up on supplies rather than rely on the market place on site. The good news is that there's a grocery store about 1/4 mile away.
-Snack bar had a pretty limited menu, and didn't open until noon. Not a huge deal, but worth noting.
-No onsite restaurants. Not a surprise given that it's a timeshare property, but would have been nice to have one. Just know this going in so you're not disappointed.
-Parking is a bit of a pain. Not a huge issue, but you may need to drive around a bit to find a spot. And if you aren't lucky you may have to park maybe 2-3 min walk from your car worst case. Again, not a big deal but good to know.
-Housekeeping isn't typical so just get clarity on what you'll get and when so you know.

Overall we loved it here and will go back!

Room Tip: See review for choice of two main locations. I would shoot for a high floor in the main pool area if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We stayed at the Marriott Grande this past week. This hotel is great for children, but if you travel much and pay attention to details, this place falls short.
Pools are great for the children, but they did not seem clean. There are plenty of pools on property too. Rooms "villas" are a good concept with two bedrooms, two baths, kitchen, etc.; however, they seem a little dated. Things like the light switches were filthy. Those kinds of things need to be cleaned too. The proximity to the beach is great. I will say that the beach is nice on HHI- very pretty. I did not like renting two chairs on the beach for $32. The bikes that they rented us were in horrible disrepair. We got about 1/4 of the way to the lighthouse and had to turn around and come back.
Aside from the poolside restaurant, do not plan on having room service, spa amenities, etc. They do not exist here.

Room Tip: Our room had an ocean view. I think this would have been a bigger disappointment had this not been...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Grande Ocean, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
We are sorry to hear that you did not have a positive experience at Marriott's Grande Ocean. This is not typical of the guest experience at our resort and we would appreciate an opportunity to personally address your concerns. Please contact us at customer.care@vacationclub.com or at 800 860 9384. We look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marriott's Grande Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Grande Ocean

Address: 51 South Forest Beach Dr., Hilton Head, SC 29928
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Grande Ocean 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Marriott, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Marriott's Grande Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Grande Ocean Hotel Hilton Head
Marriotts Hilton Head
Marriotts Hotel Grande Ocean
Marriott Hilton Head

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Grande Ocean, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.