We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beach Front Stay on Hilton Head Island” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Grande Ocean

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott's Grande Ocean to your Saves list
Marriott's Grande Ocean
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   51 South Forest Beach Dr., Hilton Head, SC 29928   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #4 of 26 Hotels in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beach Front Stay on Hilton Head Island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

This is a great resort offering superior location, amenities and extras that is perfect for anything from a family vacation to just a relaxing week and everything between. The rooms are spacious enough for a small family or two couples. THe two bedroom layout offers plenty of space and the full kitchen and in unit laundry are great amenities. The grounds themselves were great, plenty of hot tubs hidden away around the property, three good size outdoor pools, one indoor pool, a nature walk and activities such as shuffle board, bocci ball, table tennis and much more. There was more than enough to do. Plus you are located on the beach as well. The room I had was in the back of resort with no view of ocean but we had a great balcony overlooking the grounds which was good enough for me. My dissappointment of not haveing a view of the Ocean was non existent quickly based on my satisfaction with everything else this resort had to offer. Some other great assets of this resort is the location. Located near Sea Pines (car and bike passes were given to us for Sea Pines access for the week) is great and you also have Coligny Circle a short walk away. One of the best assets of this resort is Pool Bar Jim's. By far the best frozen drinks I have had and it is right on the resort. It is a must stop for any visitors. Hilton Head is great for biking, and they rent bikes right here on the resort, but after renting from this resort and the "sister resort" Marriott Barony in the past I might recommend you rent bikes elsewhere if you want a better quality bike. The convenience of renting the bikes on the resort is great but both times we have had some issues with less than average equipment on the bicycles themselves. But overall, I loved the week we spent and would return in the future with no hesitation.

Room Tip: The Marriot Grande Ocean and Marriot Barony are close to identical resorts, THe Grande Ocean is on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    377
    130
    27
    10
    5
See reviews for
273
155
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lake Stevens
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

This was our first time to Hilton Head Island. We had 4 adults and 2 kids in a 2 bedroom suite. It was plenty large enough and had everything we needed in the rooms. We overlooked the Dolphin Pool on the 1st floor so we had a nice view of the pool. We asked for an Ocean view but they told us that is reserved for owners instead (we were staying on a trade). We walked right outside our door down to the beach...so much better than trekking across streets or driving to the beach! Rooms were clean, staff was friendly, property was clean (wonderful smelling flowers in the hedges surrounding the property), free wifi and fun daily activities on site. Our week was actually pretty cold by S.C. standards so the pools never really warmed up which was a bummer...we always swam in the small heated pool...oh well. Great stay overall and we loved Hilton Head!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Have stayed here twice and both times it was a wonderful stay. Amenities are wonderful. Beds are heavenly. Only downside is price per night is around $400. Grounds are well maintained. Bike rentals are on property.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breckenridge, CO
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed the week of 4/20/13 in the Sand Castle building, which is one of the best buildings as it is oceanfront. We really enjoyed the stay, but the timeshare was a gift to us, so I only gave it 4 stars as I would have felt differently if I had to pay such a hefty nightly fee!

It was good value, but I feel like there are better resort properties in the US where you can pay that much and get a lot more value.

The photos on tripadvisor are great, they are actually almost "too good" as I had higher expectations upon arriving. Nonetheless it is still a very nice property, there are hot tubs near every building which is what most folks used as it was a very chilly week. There are 4 pools, but only 1 of the 4 is heated - which was a surprise because I would think so many visitors in the November through April timeframe would need heated pools. Only a few folks entered the pools due to the cold water, and the one pool that is heated is actually a "lap pool", and so lap swimmer folk weren't too keen on kids being in their pool while they were trying to work out.

The front desk and concierge staff was 5 stars. They offer a ton of bikes for rent and that was good value and a great way to get around the island. The beach was excellent. The rooms were large, at one point we had 25 friends in our 2 bedroom unit and there was plenty of room.

The exercise room was excellent. We used the kitchen in the unit for most breakfasts as there is not typically a breakfast provided by the resort, and we ate out for most lunches and dinners, but did use the grills one day for burgers and that was nice. My father-in-law did not like the price of the $15 mudslides at Pool Bar Jim's, he was expecting $6 but he was probably remembering back 20 years ago.

Being my first trip to Hilton Head, I did feel like the properties in general were older and starting to show their age, typically built in the late 70's, early 80's, but I can see why compared to what else is available and how they haven't renovated as much as they should have, I can see why the Marriott Grande Ocean scores so high - it is in comparison to what else is available.

Compared to what else is available, the Grande Ocean is a really great Hilton Head property.

Room Tip: Ask for the Sand Castle building, though I bet it's difficult to get in to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We spent 6 days at the Marriott Grande Ocean during the first week of April/2013.
Let me start by saying this is an absolute gorgeous property, very well kept grounds and well maintained units. We had a 2BDR view of the gardens and it was very nice! They have several pools on the large property with at least one of them being heated, may have been two but one for sure which was important because the weather was not the greatest when we were there and I have two sons 11 and 7 who love to swim. They have a very large nice kitchen and gas grills situated all over the place if you choose to cook as we did from time to time. They also have a beach grill which had burgers, wings , fish tacos etc. the food was good. Pool Bar Jims is a tiki bar that sits on the far end of the property great drink selections to choose from and friendly staff to take care of you!

Check in and check out very friendly and courteous they tell you about the weeks activities and also leave a voicemail of each day’s activities on your room phone voice mail which is very nice.
Lots of shops and restaurants nearby and they have a bike rental place on the property. They a have a mini market which sells Starbucks coffee, breakfast sandwiches and things like pizza as well.
The property sits on a nice stretch of beach that didn’t appear to be too crowded but that could have ben do to the weather.

If you like seafood and jazz you MUST go to the Jazz Corner it’s an awesome place!!! I had fried lobster which was perfect! Warning make your reservations weeks before your arrival or you will not get in.
Overall this is place that definitely see me and my family again!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

August of 2011 and 2012 is when we stayed at this wonderful getaway. The pools are great, location just right, and a staff that is more than helpful! We are a family of 4 who shared a villa with our best friends who are also a family of 4. The villa says it sleeps 6, but we were 8 who had more than enough room. We can't go this summer, but hope to return to this "happy place."

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
54 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Loved loved loved the Grande Ocean. Our two bed suite was amazing, clean, spacious, fully equipped, great view of the pool, fabulous bath tub ... I could live in it :)
We swam in the pool by Jim's Pool Bar. The pools are not heated but it wasn't unpleasant once you were in. The hotel is right by the ocean and you are literally steps from poolside to sand.
We ordered lunch from the poolside grill ... standard fare (hot dogs, burgers, quessidillas) but tasty. We hired bikes and cycled to the Harbour Town Lighthouse using the Sea Pines pass that the hotel provides. There are cycle paths the whole way and we even saw alligators by the side of the paths. We cycled back along the beach which was easy as the sand is very compacted. It was wonderful! There are many restaurants and a supermarket within a short drive.
I can't wait to return and next time I will stay longer!

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
2.8 mi away
Inn at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort
0.6 mi away
Beach House Resort
Beach House Resort
#13 of 26 in Hilton Head
4.0 of 5 stars 749 reviews
1.8 mi away
Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
#7 of 26 in Hilton Head
4.5 of 5 stars 511 reviews
7.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head
#11 of 26 in Hilton Head
4.0 of 5 stars 501 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Grande Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Grande Ocean

Address: 51 South Forest Beach Dr., Hilton Head, SC 29928
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Grande Ocean 3.5*
Number of rooms: 290
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Marriott's Grande Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Grande Ocean Hotel Hilton Head
Marriotts Hilton Head
Marriotts Hotel Grande Ocean
Marriott Hilton Head

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Grande Ocean, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.