We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family and friends vacation 2 years in a row!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Grande Ocean

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott's Grande Ocean to your Saves list
Marriott's Grande Ocean
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   51 South Forest Beach Dr., Hilton Head, SC 29928   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #4 of 26 Hotels in Hilton Head
New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Great family and friends vacation 2 years in a row!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

August of 2011 and 2012 is when we stayed at this wonderful getaway. The pools are great, location just right, and a staff that is more than helpful! We are a family of 4 who shared a villa with our best friends who are also a family of 4. The villa says it sleeps 6, but we were 8 who had more than enough room. We can't go this summer, but hope to return to this "happy place."

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    116
    24
    9
    3
See reviews for
243
136
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
UK
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Loved loved loved the Grande Ocean. Our two bed suite was amazing, clean, spacious, fully equipped, great view of the pool, fabulous bath tub ... I could live in it :)
We swam in the pool by Jim's Pool Bar. The pools are not heated but it wasn't unpleasant once you were in. The hotel is right by the ocean and you are literally steps from poolside to sand.
We ordered lunch from the poolside grill ... standard fare (hot dogs, burgers, quessidillas) but tasty. We hired bikes and cycled to the Harbour Town Lighthouse using the Sea Pines pass that the hotel provides. There are cycle paths the whole way and we even saw alligators by the side of the paths. We cycled back along the beach which was easy as the sand is very compacted. It was wonderful! There are many restaurants and a supermarket within a short drive.
I can't wait to return and next time I will stay longer!

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, NC
Top Contributor
233 reviews 233 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We have been owners here since 1996 and this place continues to be the best resort on the island. The staff here is well trained and focused on service. We love it here and will continue to visit every year.
Pool Bar Jim's bar is a real asset!

Room Tip: book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

If you look at the hotel reviews for Hilton Head Island, you should not be surprised that the top ones are Marriott properties. Marriott purchased the best locations, built and designed them very well, and have managed and maintained them to very high standards. Their customer service is the best!

Other things I like about the Grande Ocean: you get both car passes and bike passes into Sea Pines Plantation. This year we easily biked into Sea Pines for the Heritage PGA Golf Tournament. Lots of fun, great golf, and up close and personal viewings. We bike on the beach which is wide and flat, bike to restaurants and bars at nearby Coligny Plaza, and even bike to the grocery store because if you rent bikes from the Grande Ocean at a reasonable price, they provide helmets and baskets. There are bike paths all around, so it is very safe and, in most places lit enough to bike in the evenings.

Pools and hot tubs, in both sunny and shaded areas are in abundance. And you MUST go to Pool Bar Jim's for one of his incredible frozen drinks. Jim has published two cocktail books, so he can provide you with an old favorite or something new, either with or without alcohol.

Yes, this is our favorite Marriott property, but all of them on Hilton Head are great too!

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Great location near Sea Pines, Shipyard and Coligny shopping. The two bedroom layout is very large, perfect for four. The weather, late April is a pleasant mix of warm during the day and cool at night. Dining on the property is limited to lunch but there are many great restaurants nearby. We were hare RBC Heritage week.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

It is in a great location, right next to Sea Pines. Rooms were the standard 2BR time share layout. The pools (4 outdoor+1 indoor) and grounds were pretty good for a time share. The weather was awful for Easter week so the indoor pool was used every day. There were some activities for kids (2 outdoor ping-pong tables+2 outdoor pool tables) and a few other kid related activities during the day.

Overall it's a pretty nice time share resort. But I'm not sure about the value. When we go to the beach, we want to stay on the beach, open the patio door and hear the waves and we know what it costs to do that. With that in mind paid the AAA rate, got a time share presentation credit and worked hard at check-in to get an oceanfront unit but felt underwhelmed at the end of the week when I got the bill. The pool bar is close to the beach, but again I wouldn't say it was a real value. Maybe it was the rain, the 50/60 degree tempratures, or the fact we stay in oceanfront condo in Hawaii for about the same price in the summer, but we will probably look at other options in the future.

Room Tip: Oceanfront, as close as you can get to oceanfront in Hilton Head, rooms are in the Sea Horse and San...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth NH
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Marriott's Grande Ocean timeshares, wonderful location on the beach in Hilton Head.
Still one of the best timeshares on an island with many options.
Spacious well maintained 2 bedroom units ..Great for families, ride your bikes on the beach, .
Lots to see and do, restaurants galore, lovely Sea Pines plantation, nature preserves, shore birds, alligators...always a pleasure to return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott's Grande Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Grande Ocean

Address: 51 South Forest Beach Dr., Hilton Head, SC 29928
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Grande Ocean 3.5*
Number of rooms: 290
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Marriott's Grande Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Grande Ocean Hotel Hilton Head
Marriotts Hilton Head
Marriotts Hotel Grande Ocean
Marriott Hilton Head

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Grande Ocean, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.