We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top notch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Grande Ocean

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott's Grande Ocean to your Saves list
Marriott's Grande Ocean
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   51 South Forest Beach Dr., Hilton Head, SC 29928   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #4 of 27 Hotels in Hilton Head
Cape Girardeau, Mo
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Top notch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Stayed here last week and found it extremely enjoyable. 2 bedroom condo was plenty large for the 6 adults we had in our group. Wonderful grounds and ammenities, right on the beach. The fitness facility was also great as one could look out over the ocean while working out. The market place located right below had items to purchase in case you forgot something. However, it was extremely pricey, so I would suggest going to the grocery store about a mile away.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    116
    23
    9
    3
See reviews for
239
132
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Loved the Grande Ocean. The condo was clean and large. It felt like being home. Had a little parking problem the first night, but just moved over to next building parking garage. We were in Starfish and had a good view of the ocean. Our unit was happicapped accessible, which was perfect because I broke my foot the week before. Kitchen was well equipped and having 2 bathrooms was wonderful. All the employees were friendly. Liked having towels refreshed. There was a recorded call daily listing all scheduled activites for the day, plus the weather forecast. Received a free pass for Pine Island, which we used twice. There were plenty of lounge chairs around the pool area. I didn't like that we were asked to attend a time share presentation, but we said no and that was it. Also, the last morning the water in the shower was luke warm at best. My husband called the main desk and we were told because we were the first to use the shower, we would need to run hot water in the tub until it got hot.The reason being we were one of the buildings furthest away from the hot water source. Wished we'd known before the luke warm showers. We would definitely return. Super relaxing stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PEORIA
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

This was our second visit to Hilton Head and second stay at Marriott's Grande Ocean Resort. My parents have a timeshare and they exchanged their resort for this one, as they do every year. It is a very nice place, well-maintained and in a great location, right on the beach. We stayed in the Laughing Gull building on the third floor but still had a view of the ocean, along with the pool. Two bedrooms, two baths, full kitchen, dining area, living room, laundry room and balcony in our unit. All facilities were nice. Being able to rent bicycles right at the resort is convenient too. The resort has many activities available on a daily basis for all ages. I'm sure we will be back again someday.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I would like to thank the marriott
s Grande Ocean for a WONDERFUL honeymoon Oct 7-10 my new wife was over whelmed with the villa room and the beach. We Had a great time the rooms were clean the accomadatiions was great just a perfect stay and very romantic for a new couple. I have plenty of friends here in tennessee and i have told them all about Marriiott Grande Ocean in Hilton Head,SC.Thanks to you all and God Bless

Room Tip: Any room is great!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

Great hotel with large suite. Beautiful views of the ocean. Grounds are extremely well maintained and exude a South Carolina feel. Fantastic beaches with easy access. Great location with access to bike trails throughout the south side of the island. Very attentive staff. Will definitely return.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mason, Ohio
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We LOVE Grand Ocean! As a couple, we 've discovered the best time to visit is Sept, after school is back in session. We've been there during the crazy summer rush but much prefer the quieter time when the facilities aren't as crowded, the water is still warm and you can get a seat at a restaurant without a wait.
Grand Ocean is wonderful with pristine grounds and a staff that cares very much for the property and it's owners. The villas are spacious, well appointed and have everything you need for your visit, including free washers/dryers in the villa. The property has the largest stretch of beach of any on the island. With 5 pools (1 indoors), several hot tubs, organized activities, onsite pizza and mini shopping, Grand Ocean is a wonderful place to relax.
A favorite place of ours is Pool Bar Jim's where frozen drinks rule! They have now included a nice, beachy table area to enjoy also. The Marriott management has heard the concerns about persons coming in from the beach and is trying to more closely control access...but not turn off the public.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side (garden side ) are quieter than those on the south side around the larger po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

My cousin invited me to accompany her for a week's stay at Grande Ocean. It is September and still summer here in Hilton Head. The units are fabulous: clean, roomy, and well-appointed. Most units do not have a direct view of the ocean, but the courtyard is quite nice too. The resort is well-maintained with three large outdoor pools (only one is heated) and a fourth indoor pool. There are several hottubs located throughout the resort. There is a great outdoor bar within the resort and the fitness facility is located on the fourth floor oceanfront. It is a great view when exercising. There are lots of scheduled activities for children and adults; some are free and some require a nominal charge. I honestly loved this place and would love to bring my children and grandchildren here for a visit. I also loved being here in September: the weather was fabulous and the resort was not crowded. No jockeying for a lounge chair.
In short, I truly loved my stay here and would love to return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott's Grande Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Grande Ocean

Address: 51 South Forest Beach Dr., Hilton Head, SC 29928
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Grande Ocean 3.5*
Number of rooms: 290
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Marriott's Grande Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Grande Ocean Hotel Hilton Head
Marriotts Hilton Head
Marriotts Hotel Grande Ocean
Marriott Hilton Head

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Grande Ocean, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.