We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We LOVE this pizza! It's our new Fave!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Paulie's Coal Fired Pizza - CLOSED

Paulie's Coal Fired Pizza
1034 William Hilton Parkway, Hilton Head, SC
843-785-3510
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“We LOVE this pizza! It's our new Fave!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We have tried every pizza place on the island, and this is it. We LOVE this pizza! We always order the original...simple mozzarella, which is just perfect, but I have had the BLT pizza and some friends had something with figs...they loved it ! the BLT is really wonderful, we will order for sure when the weather warms up and we are craving fresh food. But for now, when it is cold, and we want healthy comfort food...Paulie's pizza is it. Not greasy, perfect crust, and a super fresh sauce that is just right. Mmmmmm, mmm good! We do worrry as the restaurant is often empty, but we have a small child, so often eat far too early to be social, so hopefully they are busy enough to keep in business. If you are a visitor to HHI, skip the nasty delivery, Call in an order togo for Paulies, and you will not be disapointed!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    28
    21
    12
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bluffton, South Carolina
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“SO BAD - and now they are closed!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is the Paulie's off of Buckwalter Road and near the cinema movies in Bluffton. Poor food, poor service, dirty tables and floors, poor management and just a dive. Maybe the one on the Island is better, I would certainly hope so

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

In the mood for pizza but the place we selected was closed on Sunday so stopped here. Only 2 tables had guests but service was very poor. I had to wave to get attention to have a water refill as wait staff too busy watching football on TV. They have a full bar but can't serve on Sundays as restricted license. Pizza was average;tried their speciality.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“World-class pizza!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We ate at the bar so we could watch the AFC wild card game. Brad, the bartender, took great care of us. He was very knowledgeable about the menu, the ingredients and the preparation.
The spinach salad was excellent with walnuts, apple and crumbled blue cheese accented by their made in-house vinegarette dressing.
We went with Paulie's traditonal pizza which was just tremendous. Mozzarella made in house, real Italian tomatoes, fresh basil and a wonderful light crust.
Nice selection of beers and wines and cocktails. Service speed was jusr right, not rushed or slow.
We're going back!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apc2889, Owner at Paulie's Coal Fired Pizza, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Wow! World class pizza-- I am very happy you enjoyed your experience with us. It feels great to know that you appreciate the time and effort that goes into such a simple creation. We use fresh made mozzarella , fresh basil , San Marzano tomatoes from Italy and olive oil. That's the secret ! I look forward to seeing you guys on your next visit with us. Take care

Andrew Carrabba
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Coal fire pizza and wings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

The wings were coal fired and had a great taste. We like we'll done pizza and had a nice dinner. We even had take ou later in the week. Nice service and decor.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paulie's Coal Fired Pizza also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paulie's Coal Fired Pizza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.