We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and fun at a reasonable price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of South Beach Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hilton Head
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
South Beach Inn
Save
You added South Beach Inn to your Saves list
232 South Sea Pines Dr, Hilton Head, SC 29928   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 26 Hotels in Hilton Head
Duncan, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Relaxing and fun at a reasonable price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed at the South Beach Marina inn in late October and had a wonderful stay. The accomodations are bright and colorful. The loft unit we stayed in has a spiral staircase to the loft area which had two queen beds. The loft made the unit very spacious, but some people might find it uncomfortable to climb the narrow spiral staircase. We have stayed in several different rooms at the inn and each has some uniqueness to them so customers who are more particular may want to discuss the room options with the staff before booking. The staff is very friendly and the accessability to the shops, marina, beach and Salty Dog Cafe was great.

Room Tip: If you are ok with the narrow Spiral staircase the loft rooms are very spacious, open and airy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    16
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
16
12
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hendersonville, NC
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

The people checking us in were very helpful. It was a spacious room. The location is ideal. The price was right. We spent our time riding bikes and walking the forest preserve. We didn't spend much time in the room. There is a refrigerator, coffee maker and microwave. Mugs and other dishes are in the kitchenette too. Filters were provided and coffee packets. No cream or sugar.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsboro, Alabama
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

We just returned from a stay at South Beach Inn, it couldn't have been better. We loved the location, the accommodations, and the Inn staff was wonderful to us. Trip Advisor was very helpful in our choice to stay here. We went to many restaurants/happy hours on the Island, one of our favorites is Kingfisher. Very cozy bar, with a fireplace going in the winter months. Todd was very friendly. Took walks on the beach every day. Very relaxing trip, hope we can get there again!

Room Tip: we saw several rooms, all were very clean and nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

South Beach Inn would've been a real pleasure had we been able to access Bradock's Cove by boat as planned. Instead, however, we were forced to dock a few miles away at the famous Harbor Town Marina...you know...the one with the iconic barber pole lighthouse. A short $25 cab ride then got us to South Beach Inn.

The place is quaint with a sort of New England sea coast look to it and includes lodging tucked away here and there, multiple restaurants and pubs and shops. A rather nice place!

Our 2 bath and one bedroom and loft accomodations were just fine and very competitively priced...more than adequate for two couples. While we were there, some of the features, the on-site pizza stand for example, were closed because the peak season hadn't kicked in just yet.

It's a fun place to watch the harbor, fishermen and others on the water.

If you time your arrival at the mouth of Bradock's Cove to coincide with high tide, presuming you don't draw more than 3-4', you may clear the bar. But there's always Harbor Town a few miles north! Now there's a place!!

Room Tip: Try a loft on the second floor overlooking the marina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We found the South Beach Inn on Trip Advisor and decided to book it based on the reviews. We are glad we did! The reviews are accurate. This is an adorable "beachy" accommodation in a great location. We loved riding bikes and being close to the activity surrounding the Salty Dog Cafe. If you have young kids, they have some activities for kids that would make this a great place to stay! Thanks for a great vacation!

Room Tip: I would ask for a room with a harbor view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

THe South Beach Inn was a wonderful respite for us for a week. The staff was great, the view wonderful, and restaurants, bars, activities were all nearby. We'd definitely come back if possible, to ride the bike paths and see the gorgeous forest, and wildlife.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wake Forest, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We just got back from a short stay at the SBI and had a lovely time. The hotel is definitely a little dated, or quaint, depending on your outlook. It was also clean and in a great location. It is hard to beat for convenience. The Wreck & The Salty Dog are right downstairs as well as some little touristy shops and "general store" for necessities. We were meeting up with some friends staying in one of the homes in Sea Pines so this was the best place for us to stay. It was inexpensive - $150/night in peak season and has a kitchenette if you want to keep food/drink in your room. We waited til we got there to rent out bikes from South Beach Bikes (also on site) and had no problem getting that done in a short amount of time. There was a coupon in one of the pamphlets the hotel gave us for 10% off the rental. We used the bikes almost exclusively to get around as it seems many people do. We rode them on the bike path to Harbor Town and to the beach and to our friend's house etc.

I would agree with others though that if you are seeking luxury - this isn't your place. I'm not sure about other rooms, but our shower head probably could have been replaced years ago. The pressure was fine, but a lot of mineral buildup or whatever that made adjusting the stream impossible. And it kind of feels like staying in your Grandma's spare room - which was ok for us. This wasn't a trip where we wanted to be pampered with luxurious linens and such. The room was very functional and met our needs and we would go back. Everyone we encountered that worked in the South Beach marina area was very friendly and helpful. Great place for families.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to South Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Beach Inn

Address: 232 South Sea Pines Dr, Hilton Head, SC 29928
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
South Beach Hotel Hilton Head
South Beach Hilton Head

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage South Beach Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.