We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look forward to returning!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of South Beach Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hilton Head
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
South Beach Inn
Save Saved
You added South Beach Inn to your Saves list
232 South Sea Pines Dr, Hilton Head, SC 29928   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 26 Hotels in Hilton Head
charleston,sc
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Look forward to returning!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

My sister had rented a gorgeous house across the street from the South Beach Marina, I decided at the last minute, to stay for a night or two at the South Beach Inn to "check it out". What a pleasant surprise! They have funky little condos complete with a kitchenette right inside the marina complex. I ending up only staying one night, my sister really wanted me to stay with them, and their house was amazing. However, I am really looking forward to coming back with my husband. This is a perfect weekend getaway place, no need to even drive your car once you arrive. Restaurants and shops right there, beach just a very short walk away and even a pool (though I never did even use it). Renting a beach cruiser was perfect, too! Hilton Head has great bike trails. I can't wait to return, thanks South Beach Inn.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    16
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
16
12
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, SC
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2010

My husband and I drove down from Charleston, SC for a date night on November 20. We needed a little getaway from our busy lives and children. Sea Pines in November was the perfect spot for a quick night away. It was relaxing and peaceful and the Salty Dog gave us just the right amount of food/entertainment needed. South Beach Marina is small and quaint, which is what we were looking for. Yes, the rooms could use a makeover, but for $97/night for a clean, spacious room in a great location who can complain?! We were able to check in early and the staff was super nice. We can't wait to bring our girls (ages 2 1/2 and 5) back in the spring for a weekend away with the family! Overall a good experience. I have stayed in some four and five star hotels and South Beach Inn doesn't compare - but then again, they are in a whole different category so you wouldn't even be comparing apples to apples so why try.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pepper Pike, OH
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2010

We were the only car in the parking lot in March
even up until Easter
The locals must not refer anyone
The hotel room is very dated
The floor is not level
And there is some danager in accessing room and inside, not safe for kids
The staff can be distant and short.
I wanted to cancel reservation because my son was sick and they refused

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SW Illinois
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2010

Our traveling philosophy is to pay as little as possible for our lodging so we can take the savings and extend our stay; after all, we spend way more time out and about than we do in the room (as long as the room is clean and has the basic amenities -- all we need is a place to sleep). So when we saw the ratings here at tripadvisor.com for the South Beach Inn, we knew that we'd found the place for us on Hilton Head ... and now we can visit HHI twice as often, thanks to the savings!

The room was very clean, had a lot more room than your typical hotel/motel room, had a small kitchen (handy for storing my ever-present stash of Diet Coke LOL), and had just a very short walk to the beach (the reason we come to HHI in the first place). Granted, we prefer the ocean beach to the sound beach, but we just made a left as soon as we got to the beach and within minutes we were on the ocean beach. ;-)

We enjoyed our stay at the SBI so much that we have reservations there for our trip in 6 weeks!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2009

We enjoyed our stay so much we didn't want to leave. The room was so very comfortable and convenient to every thing we needed. Felt like we escaped the real world and found a little bit of paradise. Would recommend this to anyone who needs to get away and relax.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2008

We stayed at the South Beach Inn for one night before our reservations started at the Disney Hilton Head Inn. We booked a 1 bedroom suite with a queen bed and a queen pull out sofa. The room was very clean and nicely decorated. It is on the 2nd floor in the shopping area adjacent to the Salty Dog store and near the Wreck of the Salty Dog. There is no elevator/handicapped access, so you are schlepping luggage and everything up and down a flight of wooden slat steps. We had a nice view of the quaint little village from our room, and the room was easy walking distance to the Salty Dog, the beach, restaurants, shopping, a playground and a small pool (in the middle of the parking lot.) We checked in around sunset, and then went over to Jake's pizza and ate, and enjoyed some live music outside with a couple of drinks and then back to the room for rest. The next morning we ate breakfast foods we had brought and we went for a stroll at the beach prior to checking into Disney. All in all, we enjoyed our one night stay here - but I would say that we would not choose this resort for our entire vacation. Our kids were 5 and 7, and they shared the pullout bed. There was only one TV in the room and it was where the pullout was; we ended up moving this into the bedroom. It has an "intown" feeling (because it is literally among the shops) and you can hear some of the nightlife, so I would not recommend this for more than a night or two, especially if you have young kids. While we did have a good time here, I'm not sure we will stay here again.

  • Liked — Location - very good for a short trip
  • Disliked — 2nd floor location
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2008

We stayed for four days here in late June. It was quaint, clean and fit just fine for our family consisting of four young children (our room slept 6 and that is hard to find sometimes). We do a lot of our own meals to save money, so room 212 worked well with the kitchenette. The kitchenette is a bit older, but everything worked fine. The suite is decorated to fit the area. It is not extremely fancy, but that was ok with us. At night the Wreck of the Salty Dog Restaurant is right out the window, but that clears out by 10:00. We enjoyed the marina, and the local beach where we saw a ton of ocean life - dolphins up close eating, crabs, stingrays and jellies, some were catching shark. The only downer is the ocean beach is a bit up the road, but we knew that before going. Parking at the beach was very crowded. My kids loved the pool and everyone at the Inn was friendly and helpful. We would recommend the Inn.

Stayed June 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to South Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Beach Inn

Address: 232 South Sea Pines Dr, Hilton Head, SC 29928
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
South Beach Hotel Hilton Head
South Beach Hilton Head

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage South Beach Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.