We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value - Great Stay - Close to everything!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island to your Saves list
Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5 Regency Parkway, Hilton Head, SC 29928   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 27 Hotels in Hilton Head
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good Value - Great Stay - Close to everything!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We booked this for a family vacation, and we were looking for a nice hotel on a budget and we were very satisfied with this hotel. It's not a 5 star resort but this room was clean, comfortable and completely met our expectations. Not to mention, it was close to lots of the attractions we were interested in - Coligny Beach Park was like a 5-10 min drive at most.

If you have more than two people I would probably recommend the double suite if you're staying for more than just a day or two. The double suite had a separate 'bedroom' with two double beds ( these are definitely double beds and not Queen sized, and is a bit cozy for two adults). There is also a TV in the 'bedroom' area as well as in the 'living room' area where the sofa bed is. Sofa bed was decent, and we had a refrigerator and microwave in our room.

Don't rely on the 'free continental breakfast' it's pretty much coffee and muffins and that's about it. There is a restaurant right next door that specializes in breakfast, but we found it to be a bit pricey . As the other reviews have noted there is also a convenient store/gas station and BBQ restaurant right next door as well. Also centrally located to lots of shopping and restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris A, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you for your positive review. The suite is great and gives you that extra room with all the amenities for just a few dollars more. And it is true we are close to all Hilton Head has to offer.
The beaches are close, lost of shopping and great places to eat.

We do hope to see you soon again,
Chris Anselmo
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    98
    34
    19
    18
See reviews for
75
94
27
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

When we arrived and pulled down the spread, the sheets underneath were stained and dirty. We had to call and have someone come and change them. I would avoid this hotel if at all possible. We had a Superior King room, which was supposed to be the best room, so I can't imagine what the other rooms were like.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris A, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you for sharing your comments. I sincerely apologize that your stay was not enjoyable. We pride ourselves on Clean, comfortable rooms. Know that what you found is not our standard.
I want to resolve this issue and earn your confidence in our abilities to deliver exceptional service. please contact me directly at 843 686 6808

Chris Anselmo
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky, United States
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Well unfortunately every once and a while you are disappointed to find what other reviewers experienced not to be the ongoing standard. The room was clean, otherwise this property is headed in the wrong direction. Staff attitude was not what you are looking for after a long drive. We asked for a standard king bed; we had pre-paid via Expedia when the Red Roof Site would not let us book; we were told we must take a 2 double bed room because we used Expedia. While we were waiting another traveler came in with NO RESERVATION as was given a King Standard Room at a LOWER RATE than we had pre-paid; go figure? Then we found the room had neither a hair dryer nor an iron and one could not be provided.
The next morning by 8:30 AM the continental breakfast was out of coffee and only had a small muffin selection, nothing else and no attendant in sight. They run this place on the cheap trading on location and price, certainly not repeat business.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris A, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
I am so sorry about your experience. While it is true sometimes by booking directly with the hotel is cheaper then Exedia, or Hotels.com. The room you booked thru Expedia is a standard room, we have rooms that do have all amenities in them. We also have at the front desk hair dryers, and irons for our guests to use. All that you have to do is call the front desk and we are happy to provide these things.
Please call me when you have a chance, we do pride ourselves on making all our guests happy and have many repeat guests because of the service. I know we dropped the ball with you and would the chance to have you come back.
843 686 6808

Chris Anselmo
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Come on people, this is a Red Roof let's not get too nitpicky here ok. This is a hotel that was a little over $100 bucks that is right in the heart of the island. They have a great bbq place nearby, you are a stone's throw away from the beach, and I can easily say this is the nicest Red Roof Inn I've ever seen. Yes, the outside is dated, but the pool is nice and clean (my five year old loved it) and the rooms are completely renovated with laminate hard wood floors, new beds, and new bathrooms. The tv's are flat screen and the front desk as extremely helpful. There is a very modest breakfast area in the front with a few muffins and coffee but there is a great pancake house you can walk to as well. You can also rent bikes within walking distance of the hotel. For the price we could spend more days on the nicest public beach (Coligny) that I've ever been to. If you are looking for the Disney resort then you are going to be deeply upset, but if you know what you are getting you will be surprised and extremely happy. Tip, for an extra fee you can get a coffee maker in your room. Weird but still a great place.

Room Tip: We stayed upstairs, don't know if all of the rooms have been updated but I assume so.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris A, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Thank you for you wonderful review. You are correct, we are a no frills hotel that is affordable on Hilton Head during the season. We are close to everything without the hefty price tag. And for just a few dollars more we have rooms with all the amenities.

I do hope you visit again,
Chris Anselmo
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orando
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We spent two nights at the Red Roof Inn in Hilton Head. It wasn't perfect, but it was a really good value overall. The location is great, the motel has been rennovated, and the price was under $100 per night. It seems like most hotels on the island were much, much more expensive, so we were happy to have found this spot. Most importantly, the beds were comfortable, the AC was cold, and the place was quiet.

We stayed in a deluxe room, which included a refrigerator and microwave, but it was still pretty tiny with two small children in tow. Our room the first night did have a broken toilet, so we had to switch rooms for the second night as it was not repairable. However, the staff was friendly, helpful, and apologetic when we reported the problem. They quickly got us a new room only two doors away. The door locks seemed a little sticky in both rooms, and you had to do some jiggling to get the deadbolt to go back into the door (or reuse the key card) so you could close it. It seems these are the kinds of issues you deal with in an older motel.

There is a good breakfast place next door to the motel, and the pool also looks nice. Given its location in Hilton Head and price, we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris A, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you for your review. I am sorry if you experienced any problems while here, and I am glad the staff was quick to make things right. I do hope you will come and stay again, you may want to try one of our suites which will give a lot more room. I would be glad to look at a preferred rate for the next time you are visiting Hilton Head.

Chris Anselmo
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

The hotel overall was "ok." The room was clean and updated, but I felt like there were spiders and bugs on me all night. There are many webs outside the building that need to be cleared away.
The pool is cute and nice for a small hotel and you are very close to everything that you might need.
The beds were a bit uncomfortable and the cold air ran loudly all night.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris A, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
I am sorry if there were webs on the building, I will make sure we are clearly them a little more often. Always let us know if the ac is loud, we can usually take care of this.

I do hope you will come back for a visit, It would be my pleasure to give you a preferred rate the next time you are coming to Hilton head
Chris Anselmo
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daufuskie Island, SC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

If you are looking for a great place to stay on Hilton Head you have found it. The Red Roof in run by Chris Anselmo is the best place on Hilton Head to stay. They have a very friendly staff that is always willing to go above and beyond to make your stay memorable. They are also very accomodating and willing to offer help to get what you are looking for in a stay away from home. The rooms have all been renovated and they are beautiful. The beds are soft and the amenties and the best. I highly recommend that you stay here during your trip to Hilton Head.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are great at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris A, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you for such a positive review! The staff really tries to make all the guest feel welcome.
Please call me directly the next time you are coming, so that I can take care of your reservation.
We look forward to see you again soon!
Chris Anselmo
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island

Address: 5 Regency Parkway, Hilton Head, SC 29928
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 27 Hotels in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island 2*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Red Roof Inn, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island Hotel Hilton Head
Hilton Head Red Roof Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.