We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for us!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island to your Saves list
Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5 Regency Parkway, Hilton Head, SC 29928   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 27 Hotels in Hilton Head
Saint George, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Perfect for us!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

This is the best of Hilton Head at the best price. Other rates were simply out of our reach and the Red Roof was the perfect solution. We stayed 3 week nights in June for about $75 a night. We stayed in a king ground floor room and we were quite pleased. The room wasn't huge and the mattress wasn't new, but it was clean and quiet. Located a short drive from Coligny, it was easy to drive everywhere on the island. The bike path runs in front of the hotel, too. We enjoyed Island Bagel across the street. Hotel breakfast in very slim, but that's an ok compromise for the great rates. Pool was small, but clean. Employees were friendly. I loved that we had a micro fridge in our room, but we lacked any kind of table. Ultimately we throughly enjoyed our Hilton Head trip and we're planning a return to the Red Roof.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris A, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thanks for your review. I agree the bagels are wonderful across the street. We hope the next time you are in Hilton Head you will come and stay with us again.
Chris Anselmo
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    98
    34
    19
    18
See reviews for
75
94
27
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Anderson, South Carolina
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

I stayed at this hotel 5/30-6/1 of this year. There were spiders, roaches and even a tick in our room. There were 4 of us in a suite and we had 2 towels. When I asked for more, I was told they "would get to it." Took a very long time. I fell through a rotten pool chair (I am not heavy). When I expressed disppointment, I was told by Chris I would get a free night at a Red Roof Inn , and guess what? It is July and that certificate for a free room never showed up! Imagine that...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris A, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
First I am so sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. We hope all our guest have a postive experience with us. We did send you a VIP pass for a free night stay and will follow up with you pronto and send another one.

Chris Anselmo
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

This Red Roof Inn fits in with most Red Roofs.
However, the staff makes the most of making one's stay as good as possible.
Tammy put herself out to right all wrongs.
The location is fine. The parking is fine.The room is more than adequate.
We will be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris A, Manager at Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Thank you for your review. Tammy is wonderful and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay.
We look forward to seeing you soon!
Chris Anselmo
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Chris the manager and staff went above and beyond to make our stay very pleasant. The first night we stayed in a double bed room which was nice and clean but not big enough for my husband, my adult son, myself and 2 Westie dogs. So the next morning I spoke to Chris and she was wonderful in getting us a deluxe king room suite which was wonderful. The room was clean and I loved the hardwood floors and it was on the bottom floor. I needed a freezer to freeze my ice packs to take back in the cooler to keep my dogs turkey cool on the trip back and they froze them for me. I just cant say enough about how friendly Chris and staff were. Looking forward to visiting Hilton Head again in the future and would gladly stay again at the same place in the same room. Great price also!!!

Room Tip: Bottom suites are large and on the east side are quieter. Room 146.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris A, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Thank you for the review! It really was a pleasure getting tou know you and your family(the four legged ones were so cute!) I look forward to your next visit.
Chris Anselmo
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Not bad for the price, that being said, it was not worth it to me saving the money versus getting a place on the beach. Unless you're the type person that can wing it, which is not me. I am annoyed by high traffic volume and trying to find a place to park, eat, shop, etc. This place is too far away from the "public beaches", which is what you have to use when you don't have a beachfront property.
Other than that, the rooms are good for the money. Clean and updated. Airconditioning unit in our room was not working correctly, had it been any warmer than it was, the unit wouldn't have been able to keep up.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris A, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Thank you for your review!
Chris Anselmo
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Based on recent reviews on Tripadvisor, I booked to stay here for 3 days, finding the cost, location and comfort of the beds to be what I hoped. They delivered! The Inn had been recently renovated, so it had decent decor, nice tile, carpets and good tv and mattress. It is next door to a pancake restaurant, across the street from a good bagel shop (had Seattle's Best coffee!), and centrally located between the beaches and golf plantations. At $89 a night, includes taxes---a bargain the end of June! The manager told me about the Palmetto bugs--keep the door shut, they fly towards the lights--we never saw any.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris A, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
We thank you for your positive review. We hope that the next time you are planning a trip to Hilton Head you will stay with us.
Chris Anselmo
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Johns
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We stayed just for one night and for sleeping only - the location was great. Very convenient to family who were in Shipyard. If I were staying for an extended time - I would not find this place up to snuff. But, for one night it was okay.

It is clear this is an older, really older motel. It used to be smoking for sure.. there is still hints of it in the rooms. But is it your basic lodging - so, for the price it was fine for the purpose it served.

If you go in knowing this and have reasonable expectations - you'll be fine!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris A, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Chris Anselmo
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island

Address: 5 Regency Parkway, Hilton Head, SC 29928
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island 2*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Red Roof Inn, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island Hotel Hilton Head
Hilton Head Red Roof Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.