We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recently re-furbed hotel, reasonably priced for HHI” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island to your Saves list
Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5 Regency Parkway, Hilton Head, SC 29928   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 27 Hotels in Hilton Head
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
753 reviews 753 reviews
221 hotel reviews
Reviews in 270 cities Reviews in 270 cities
321 helpful votes 321 helpful votes
“Recently re-furbed hotel, reasonably priced for HHI”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

The location is pretty good as it's not too far from the beaches, harbour town and the ubiquitous strip malls.

The room was on the second floor (first floor for non-Americans!), nicely decorated, clean and neatly laid out, with a large desk for working.

There's no breakfast included, but there are plenty of restaurants around to take care of meals. The fridge and microwave makes this a good place to stock up and stay for a weekend or week, with a Piggly Wiggly store just up the road.

There's parking all around the building.

I recommend this hotel if you need inexpensive non-resort accommodation on Hilton Head Island.

Room Tip: Room 225 was upstairs, quiet and near the end staircase with parking below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris A, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are so glad you discovered us here on Hilton Head. It is our pleasure to have you as one of our valuable guests and look forward to having you here again
Chris Anselmo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    98
    34
    19
    18
See reviews for
75
94
27
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Merritt Island, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

The only thing I would suggest is to put a mini fridge! Because you have so many left over meals so there was no place for storage. Otherwise cute, clean, close to the action and great price for holiday weekend!!! Couldn't ask for better

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris A, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
We are delighted your stay was a postive one, and thank you for the great review. Next time you are here ask for me and I would be happy to upgrade you a room with a micro/refrig.
Chris Anselmo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This hotel was recently renovated and they did an excellent job. They installed hard wood flooring with a carpet under the bed. The room had an outside vanity and sink, a built in desk and a great flat screen TV. The hard wood floors are terrific as they also allowed our Goldendoodle at no additional cost. We were in walking distance to a great breakfast/lunch restaurant and delivery was available from other nearby restaurant.
We were there for 5 nights in transition to our new home. The employees were great, very friendly and couldn't be more helpful.

Room Tip: If you want to be on the beach this is not your hotel. If you want a pet friendly, great value this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris A, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We love our pets at the Red Roof Inn! Enjoy your new home.
Chris Anselmo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmaus
Top Contributor
401 reviews 401 reviews
172 hotel reviews
Reviews in 265 cities Reviews in 265 cities
219 helpful votes 219 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

This was a pretty nice Red Roof Inn, with a large and clean room and comfortable beds in a nice quiet area. Considering the price of many of the motels in Hilton Head, it is a bargain, especially as we got a fridge and a microwave included in the price.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris A, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for your great review. We are so glad you discovered us here on Hilton Head. It is our pleasure to have you as one of our valuable guests and look forward to having you here again.
Chris Anselmo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette Hill, PA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

I was visiting friends in Hilton Head and didn't need a resort. I was hesitant on staying at a Red Roof Inn but we were assured by the reservationist that the location was just renovated. We got there and the rooms were just redone. We got a room on the first floor as we requested. I was the perfect place in a perfect location is you are visiting others and don't need to be on the beach where the rates are much higher.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris A, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
We are glad you tried the Red Roof Inn here on Hilton Head and had a pleasant stay.Your feedback is wonderful and I will share your comments with the staff.
We look forward to having you stay again when in Hilton Head.
Chris Anselmo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

First, I was pleasantly surprised with an outstanding customer service at the front desk, when Krystle checked me in. THe manager Chris Anselmo was there, too, and they made me feel right at home. Second, the hotel is beautifully remodeled, clean, I could choose to have daily service or not, I really liked it. And third, the location is great, it's probably about 3 miles or so from the beach, but the drive is easy. I truly enjoyed my staying there, and will return as soon as I can.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris A, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We are so glad you discovered us here on Hilton Head. It is our pleasure to have you as one of our valuable guests and look forward to having you here again.
Chris Anselmo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

My wife and I have never stayed at a Red Roof and we were pleased with the renovated rooms, free wifi, and the check-in staff (Tammy and Krystle) were very sweet, helpful and professional! Unfortunately, we weren't too happy with the outside of the hotel, the outside of the building could use a good power-washing, plus there were alot of people outside of their rooms talking loud and drinking beer. I tried taking a nap, but couldn't due to this. Other than that, we had a pleasant stay and I love the fact that you guys are very close to the Stacks restaurant and gas station! I would recommend this hotel to family and friends.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris A, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for your response. We are working on the power washing and an general clean-up of the outside, and are scheduled for painting the outside first of 2014. If at any time guests are bothering anyone please let the front desk know, we will address this so that all of our guest are comfortable.
I hope you will come back and visit, and call me directly and I would be happy to give you a special rate.
Chris Anselmo
General Manager
843-686-6808
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island

Address: 5 Regency Parkway, Hilton Head, SC 29928
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island 2*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Red Roof Inn, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island Hotel Hilton Head
Hilton Head Red Roof Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.