We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Suprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island

Save Saved
You added Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5 Regency Parkway, Hilton Head, SC 29928   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 26 hotels in Hilton Head
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Pleasant Suprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

There was not much available on the island during our stay, so, we chose this hotel and were pleasantly suprised. Friendly staff, clean rooms and close to everything. The room was very large (superior king) and he price was incredibly reasonable. Well one!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris A, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for your kind and postive review. I will share this with the staff. We hope you will come and stay again.
Chris Anselmo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    87
    86
    30
    16
    16
See reviews for
66
82
23
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Georgia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

My family and I needed to save some money but wanted to go to Hilton Head. To the public, YOU NEED TO SERIOUSLY CONSIDER THIS HOTEL. When I checked in last night, there was a glitch with the reservation (not the front desk's fault). Jayme went the extra mile to assist me and worked out the bugs. When I went to my room, it was the right temperature, VERY CLEAN, recently remodeled, new bed linens, and everything worked in the room (unlike other Red Roof hotels I have stayed in). HEY, President of the Red Roof Corporation, hire more people like Jayme. She was friendly, professional and went the extra mile to help the customer. Because of her friendliness and wanting to be helpful to the customer, I will come back here and recommend this Red Roof to all my friends. To Chris, the manager on duty, thanks for your help, but Jayme is better looking than you. :-) WineJazz

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris A, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
I am glad that you had a great stay and thank you for a positive review. Jayme and all the staff do care about our guests and go above and beyond to make sure the guest is taken care of.
We hope to see you soon!
Chris Anselmo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

Our first stay at a Red Roof Inn and what a wonderful experience. Very friendly staff, immaculate room with new wood flooring and very comfortable beds. Yes once again free WiFi (Sheraton hotels take note). To cap it all they are very pet friendly. It is also in an ideal location for the beaches and golf courses on Hilton Head. We will definitely be back.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris A, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for a great review! We too think the new flooring makes a wonderful difference. I will share your positive comments with the staff.
Please come and see us again next time you are on Hilton Head Island.
Chris Anselmo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Great experience.Friendly staff,pet friendly,brand new hardwood floors and matresses,great housekeeping and affordable price.The hotel has very friendly,helpful and professional staff.Jayme and Tammy were great.Would recommend and visit again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris A, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Hello and thank you for your postive review. I am glad Tammy was helpful, and will share your words with her and the team. We hopw to see you again soon.
Chris Anselmo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naugatuck, CT
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

For being on Hilton Head in the middle of the places we wanted to go, this was very reasonable. Anything of comparable price was not on the island itself, and it's a pretty big island so that isn't very close at all. For the $90 or so we paid, we got a newly redone room with flat screen TV and laminate floors. Parking was very full, but it's not a big property so even parking on the other side of the building wasn't that bad.

Only negative was no included breakfast. They did have 24 hour coffee in the lobby though.

I should also mention they have a stupid policy of a $1.50 surcharge for the room safe. You need to say you didn't use the safe at the start of checking out, otherwise you get stuck with this. We tried to tell them we wouldn't use the safe on check-in, and they said "well, if the staff knew who used the safe and who didn't, we could just follow you up and rob you." Really. I think they might need to work on that message.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

I work in a feild that can be very pyhsically demanding, and time consuming. Ten to fourteen hour days can really take a toll on your body. My father and I had stayed with another hotel on the island before we decided to check out the Red Roof Inn.

Let me tell you how big of a mistake that other hotel was. With college spring breakers waking us up at 3:00 Am no wifi and horrible beds, i was begining to get testy and easily aggitated.

When I walked into our room at the Red Roof Inn I instantly knew that this is were we should have been all along. Jayme the very kind receptionist who checked us in called us in very short order just to make sure everything in the room was fine.

This is the best part though, the beds are brand new. They rooms still smell like a brand new house. When i fall asleep and find myself waking up fully refreshed and ready to go an hour or more before i had set my alarm. Thats amazing.

Jayme has done a great job making sure that we enjoyed our stay. When you go down to the office for coffee she tells you wich pot is freshest, and is also a great conversationalist.

WiFi works great, great selection of channels on the flat screen tvs (3*hdmi connections, sd card reader, and vga)

This is a great hotel, from the fluffy towels signature brand new beds and bedding, perfectly sized pillows, and friendly understanding and knowledgable staff.

These guys have youto covered.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris A, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Thank you for such a positive review. Jayme is always very helpful and I am glad she added to your stay. We do hope to see you again soon.
Chris Anselmo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weehawken, New Jersey
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

This hotel is set in a tree-lined lot. Recent renovations didn't make it "brand new," but it sure was nice (especially the rate). We stayed on the lower level near the outdoor pool. The back units overlook a tree-lined parking lot (not a fence like other units) and have places outside to lock up bikes.

I liked our unit's floors, which mimicked wood. I am not a fan of rugs in motels/hotels because they get worn quickly. In this case, the only rug in the room was placed between our two beds. Walking on a rug prior to getting into bed shakes the dust off feet, whereas walking on a standard floor in the rest of the unit gave us the impression of cleaness.

Great Internet connections!

There is no breakfast service (outside of coffee), but you do get a 10% discount on food served next door at a popular breakfast and lunch restaurant.

Note that a large portion of the island is off limits as corporations with huge amounts of cash has walled it off. Nasty stuff. Tourists who are not guests of the wealthy or are not staying at a resort are limited to roaming the main park and neighborhoods that branch off that park. This is not to say that one's stay will not be nice, but it should set your expectations have you never visited before.

In terms of really nice tourist experiences, drive for about an hour over to Savannah, GA, and enjoy their Old Town and Riverfront area. Make a point of getting goodies at Savannah Candy Kitchen and The Peanut Shop. The Riverfront area is beautiful, has many restaurants/bars, standard tourist shops, and many places to sit and enjoy the beautiful area. Old Town, of course, is spectacular. For a little longer ride, visit Tybee Island just outside of Savannah.

Room Tip: Next door is a fab restaurant that specializes in breakfast and lunch (closed in the evening). Very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris A, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for your positive review. We are glad you liked the newly renovated rooms, and agree the plank flooring is really a nice addition. We hope you will come and visit with us again.
Chris Anselmo
General Manager
.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
Free Parking, M...
Show More
5.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head
#8 of 26 in Hilton Head
4.0 of 5 stars 356 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Hilton Head
Days Inn Hilton Head
#19 of 26 in Hilton Head
3.5 of 5 stars 237 reviews
Pool, Free inte...
Show More
2.5 mi away
Beach House Resort
Beach House Resort
#13 of 26 in Hilton Head
4.0 of 5 stars 423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pool, Free Brea...
Show More
0.9 mi away
Park Lane Hotel and Suites
Park Lane Hotel and Suites
#20 of 26 in Hilton Head
3.5 of 5 stars 377 reviews
Budget, Pool, F...
Show More
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
#12 of 26 in Hilton Head
4.0 of 5 stars 304 reviews
Quiet, Budget...
Show More
2.5 mi away
Comfort Inn South Forest Beach
Comfort Inn South Forest Beach
#21 of 26 in Hilton Head
3.5 of 5 stars 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island

Address: 5 Regency Parkway, Hilton Head, SC 29928
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Tingo, Red Roof Inn, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island Hotel Hilton Head
Hilton Head Red Roof Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.