We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HORROR STORY.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Hilton Head

Motel 6 Hilton Head
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hilton Head
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Motel 6 Hilton Head
Save
You added Motel 6 Hilton Head to your Saves list
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   830 William Hilton Parkway, US 278, 29 miles from I-95, Hilton Head, SC 29928   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 27 Hotels in Hilton Head
Buckhead GA
Level Contributor
68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“HORROR STORY.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2009

DO NOT STAY at the Motel 6 on Highway 278 in Hilton Head. The hotel we were supposed to stay in was over sold and we ended up at the Motel 6 for one night out of sheer desperation. We should have slept in our car. That would have been cleaner! Our sheets had cigarette holes in them. Our bathroom floor was apparently rotting and when you walked across it the floor was sagging and squeaking under the filthy carpeting. All the room's carpet was strangely discolored and frightening. We kept hearing people screaming randomly in the night and did not know what was happening. There was all kinds of debris in the parking lot (limbs down, dead leaves, trash, broken furniture). There were SKETCHY PEOPLE hanging out in the parking lot that kept eyeing our car so we totally unpacked our car of everything we had brought for our vacation and put it in the hotel room. Then we put a piece of furniture up against the door because the bolt and lock was not working. WHY is this motel still open???

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank cmcnally56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2009

Dirty, dirty dirty......bugs, bugs, bugs and a very unkempt property. I should have spent a little bit more and stayed next door at the Red Roof Inn.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Charlotte Leigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2009

This motel was TERRIBLE!!!! I booked online and by the way the pictures online looked the motel look decent. Well the pictures must have been from the day the originally opened this location or pictures from a different location. The room was nasty and we had a LIVE cockroach in the room to great us! We were there 2mins! Went to the front desk and just telling the lady about the bug, she gave our money back right then! She said the place was closing. We could see why!! STAY AWAY!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TechFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fleming ga
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2009

I thought it was really funny how whenever we went to the front desk to check out a room that it said on the wall that there was free wifi in every room. Then when we went to try to connect to it, we couldnt. So we called up to the desk and they said they dont have it there. WTF???

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lulu918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasper, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2008

We made our reservations at the Motel 6 website before looking it up on Trip Advisor, so I was a little worried. However, service at the front desk was awesome and the staff was very polite/helpful. To my suprise, our room was very clean and we didn't have any bugs. The AC was cold and the pool was clean. I will definitely stay here again. We stayed in room #225.

  • Liked — Clean & Cheap
  • Disliked — No free breakfast
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bstargel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2008

This is one of the dirtiest place I have ever visited. Not only was our room infested with cockroaches but it was also plain dirty. Unfortunately, we reached late and had a dog so we could not go anywhere else, but you can! We had to leave a light on to avoid major bug attacks and I spent most of my night killing bugs and hiding under a sheet. The hotel staff tried to help by giving us roach killer but there was not much else they could do. Consider yourself warned! Management ended up giving us a refund after I told them about our experience.

  • Liked — Location.
  • Disliked — Condition.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank LaCastafiore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United states
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2007

This wasn't my most favorite motel ever, not even my most favorite Motel 6 but I've stayed worse places. The front desk woman was nice but the room smelled (in part from the waste water treatment plant out back). The heat smelled like a burning cat. The volume on the TV wouldn't turn down very far. There were cigarette burns on the blanket (in a no smoking room). The bathroom door wouldn't shut tight. There was a wierd noise coming from the bathroom. There was mold on the wall. It was pretty cheap, which was good, but not very near teh beach which was not so good. On the whole it was an average Motel 6...but don't you think they could strive for better than average? By the way, those 2 inch roaches that people mention aren't roaches, they're palmetto bugs. Yes they're disgusting but they're everywhere in the south, even at the high class resorts. Ignore them and they won't hurt you. Don't step on them unless you want a huge mess to clean up.

  • Liked — price
  • Disliked — Loud TV/smell
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Cretch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island
Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island
#15 of 27 in Hilton Head
4.0 of 5 stars 353 reviews
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Hilton Head
Days Inn Hilton Head
#18 of 27 in Hilton Head
3.5 of 5 stars 374 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
#12 of 27 in Hilton Head
4.0 of 5 stars 531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Beach House, a Holiday Inn Resort
2.7 mi away
Ramada Hilton Head
Ramada Hilton Head
#17 of 27 in Hilton Head
3.5 of 5 stars 380 reviews
2.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ocean Breeze Inn
BEST WESTERN Ocean Breeze Inn
#6 of 27 in Hilton Head
4.5 of 5 stars 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Hilton Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Hilton Head

Address: 830 William Hilton Parkway, US 278, 29 miles from I-95, Hilton Head, SC 29928
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 27 Hotels in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Hilton Head 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Hilton Head Hotel Hilton Head
Hilton Head Motel Six
Hilton Head Motel 6
Motel Six Hilton Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing