We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Now Known As Hilton Head Suites” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Hilton Head

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hilton Head
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Motel 6 Hilton Head
830 William Hilton Parkway, US 278, 29 miles from I-95, Hilton Head, SC 29928   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 26 hotels in Hilton Head
Hilton Head Island, SC
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Now Known As Hilton Head Suites”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Be advised that the former Motel 6 is now operating under the name "Hilton Head Suites". Nothing has changed (at least not for the better). Perhaps nowadays they're operating primarily as a low-income residential motel, as it is not listed in the phone book, and sketchy-looking people abound. There is a big sign on the highway with the name "Hilton Head Suites ", and the address, 1 Marina Side Drive. I checked it out for out of town guests, and the room I was shown was terribly shabby, and frankly, dirty. It just reeked of cigarette smoke! Avoid at all costs! There are other inexpensive, but much nicer, places very close by.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    0
    6
    2
    3
    11
See reviews for
6
2
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012 via mobile

Ok so we are moving to Florida. We have been driving for many, many hours. We decide we are going to stay here. Yes a little out of our way. But heck we were lost anyway. So we get there at 10 PM. We are greeted by a lady (loosely used) who couldn't see over the counter to hear me yelling into the ghetto hole in the plexiglass. Anyway. Our room was nothing spectacular. Dirty, old, dated. The wonderful motel 6 bed spread. They are the ugliest. Especially adds to the ambiance with burn holes. The table in the room was tilted to say the least. We brought our pillows, blankets in from the car. When we "locked" the door. There was a gap big enough for pee wee Herman to fit through. And the curtains didn't cover the whole window. So we left as early as possible. We were rested. But we had also driven from Upstate NY without a break. I think the CEO of this chain needs to get his/her butt out to these motels and see what is going on. Motel 6. Don't leave the light on. The bulbs probably blown anyway.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckhead GA
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2009

DO NOT STAY at the Motel 6 on Highway 278 in Hilton Head. The hotel we were supposed to stay in was over sold and we ended up at the Motel 6 for one night out of sheer desperation. We should have slept in our car. That would have been cleaner! Our sheets had cigarette holes in them. Our bathroom floor was apparently rotting and when you walked across it the floor was sagging and squeaking under the filthy carpeting. All the room's carpet was strangely discolored and frightening. We kept hearing people screaming randomly in the night and did not know what was happening. There was all kinds of debris in the parking lot (limbs down, dead leaves, trash, broken furniture). There were SKETCHY PEOPLE hanging out in the parking lot that kept eyeing our car so we totally unpacked our car of everything we had brought for our vacation and put it in the hotel room. Then we put a piece of furniture up against the door because the bolt and lock was not working. WHY is this motel still open???

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2009

Dirty, dirty dirty......bugs, bugs, bugs and a very unkempt property. I should have spent a little bit more and stayed next door at the Red Roof Inn.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2009

This motel was TERRIBLE!!!! I booked online and by the way the pictures online looked the motel look decent. Well the pictures must have been from the day the originally opened this location or pictures from a different location. The room was nasty and we had a LIVE cockroach in the room to great us! We were there 2mins! Went to the front desk and just telling the lady about the bug, she gave our money back right then! She said the place was closing. We could see why!! STAY AWAY!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fleming ga
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2009

I thought it was really funny how whenever we went to the front desk to check out a room that it said on the wall that there was free wifi in every room. Then when we went to try to connect to it, we couldnt. So we called up to the desk and they said they dont have it there. WTF???

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasper, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2008

We made our reservations at the Motel 6 website before looking it up on Trip Advisor, so I was a little worried. However, service at the front desk was awesome and the staff was very polite/helpful. To my suprise, our room was very clean and we didn't have any bugs. The AC was cold and the pool was clean. I will definitely stay here again. We stayed in room #225.

  • Liked — Clean & Cheap
  • Disliked — No free breakfast
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Motel 6 Hilton Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Hilton Head

Also Known As:
Motel 6 Hilton Head Hotel
Motel 6 Hilton Head Hotel Hilton Head
Hilton Head Motel Six
Hilton Head Motel 6
Motel Six Hilton Head
Address: 830 William Hilton Parkway, US 278, 29 miles from I-95, Hilton Head, SC 29928
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 26 hotels in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Hilton Head, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Motel 6 Hilton Head to your Saves list