We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Kayak Trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marsh Grass Adventures

Marsh Grass Adventures
55 Fording Island Rd, Hilton Head, SC
(843)684-3296
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #48 of 129 Activities in Hilton Head
Type: Boat Tours, Water sports, Adventure
Attraction details
Wethersfield, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Kayak Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

Along with another couple we enjoyed a great Kayak Trip through the oyster beds and grasslands near Hilton Head on April 27, 2012. . Eric was there to meet us and his equipment was in great shape. We used double kayaks and along with a group of 6 celebrating an annual reunion, we set out to explore. We enjoyed a gentle kayak trip through the oyster beds and marshlands. Water was calm and weather was perfect. The highlight was to get near to several dolphins who were just fine letting us get real close. Eric was a wealth of information and we highly recommend this excursion.
Brian and Connie Morin
Wethersfield, CT

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    1
    0
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wiscasset, Maine, USA
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
47 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Wonderful Paddle Adventure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

My wife and I were ready for a couple of hours out on the protected waters of the May River.
We called Eric Burns, who met us at the appointed time and location, providing the Kayaks, paddles and gear. We headed out and had the best of times, reveling in the beauty of the area, the wild life, and marsh scenes. Eric was extraordinary in his knowledge of the ecology, and in spinning yarns of local color about historical and current events and people.
We extended our trip a half an hour as we really did not wish to return.
Treat yourselves to this adventure. You will enjoy it as a highlight of your time hereabouts.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great way to see the marshes on a kayak.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012 via mobile

Eric took 4 of us out into the marshland areas. We used double kyaks. He started with a lesson on kayaking and then went on to guide us through the oyster beds, aroud Pickney Island, and on the look-out for dolphins and birds. He really made the 2 hours enjoyable and educational. Would definitely go out with him again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedartown, Georgia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“What a fun and educational tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

We found this tour on Groupon on our way into Hilton Head. It ended up being one of the highlights of the trip! The guide is laid back and is willing to go at whatever pace will make the group comfortable. Do not feel like you have to know what you are doing to go on this trip. The guide has different boats from really stable to really fun. It will give you a bit of a work out but afterwards I went and played three hours of tennis with no problems. He said this was uncommon but my wife and I had a wild dolphin swim within two feet of our boats and wave. Pick a nice day and take this tour!

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wadsworth, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great adventure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

My daughter and I had never Kayaked before. It had been on my bucket list for a while!!!
Eric made the trip exciting and informative. His instructions had us paddling like pros in no time!!!
Never saw a canonball Jellyfish before let alone held one. Eric caught one and gently placed it in our hand. What a thrill. We watched it gently swim away, leaving us with an experience that will not be forgotten.
Eric knew the area well. We learned a lot about the ecology of the area as well as some history. I would highly reccomend this adventure for anyone one who loves both nature and fun times.
We took home an adventure that will long be remembered. Thanks Eric!!!!

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marsh Grass Adventures also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Marsh Grass Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marsh Grass Adventures, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.