We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Several problems made interfered with my enjoyment” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort

Save Saved
You added Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   23 Ocean Lane, Hilton Head, SC 29928   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
12% Off! Book Now & Save!
Ranked #6 of 26 hotels in Hilton Head
Richmond, United States
1 review
“Several problems made interfered with my enjoyment”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Nice property, but the staff were inconsistent. Some were very nice, others had an attitude. There were a few issues with our stay, none of which the staff worked to resolve. The biggest was I was injured from the soap dish they have mounted at 5.5 feet in the shower. It is the same white as the rest of the wall and invisible until you bump your head on it. The staff was aware and chuckled "yeah, it's a bad design."

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

865 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    480
    249
    89
    36
    11
See reviews for
338
319
11
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I felt the omni was the perfect location - not in the middle of the chaos of coligny beach and just close enough to bike or drive to the more touristy places (sea pines and harbor town). The beach was wide and less crowded. I did feel the rules and pricing for the beach chairs and umbrellas were a little much. Most resorts offer these for free and with the additional price of a resort fee, I thought chairs would have been included in that price. The pools were great - the adult pool was a little small and too warm and would have thought it to be closer to the bar, instead the family pool was closest. The staff was super friendly and accommodating. There was a musty smell in our room, but after a day or two, we got used to it. Located in palmetto dunes, there are several restaurants to take advantage of, although we did not. I think Alexander's is the sister restaurant to the oyster factory. Great place to bike too. We biked up and out of the resort and then down the beach to hit the beach bars. Really fun and a good workout. Overall a nice hotel, but the next time I'm in hilton head, I may try another place.

Room Tip: Stay way from the stairwells. You can hear everything the next morning and kids get up early to get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Couldn't have picked a better place for our honeymoon. Perfect location on the ocean with beautiful views. Excellent staff. Best cleaning staff ever! Great restaurant and spa. Definetly would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Recently spent 5 nights here with my husband and 5 year old son. Lovely, relaxing property with friendly staff and two fabulous pools for families (plus an adult pool). Huge, well-appointed room with king bed, sitting area, dining table/chairs, fridge and microwave. Nice big balcony. Quiet rooms well insulated from outside noise. Lovely gardens with fire pits and a huge chess set. A few tips:

1. Don't rent bikes here - they cost much more than outside rental places. Hilton Head Outfitters is walking distance from the hotel and much cheaper.

2. The hotel charges a $20/day resort fee on top of your room cost. It doesn't get you much - free internet, free parking, use of fitness center - things that most other hotels give you free anyway.

3. Join the Omni rewards program before booking your room - you will likely get a better room and 2 free morning drinks each day (coffee, juice).

4. Many of the rooms face the parking lots. Ask for a garden/pool view room if you want to spend any time on your balcony. Only a few of the rooms truly face the ocean due to the hotel's design, so any room advertised as "ocean view" probably only has a partial view.

5. Bed was nice and luxurious but mattress was very soft - much softer than most hotel rooms. I slept well, but this may be an issue for those who really need a firm mattress.

Really enjoyed our stay here. Would definitely go back again and would highly recommend it for families.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

What a great place to relax and wind down from a busy schedule! Enjoy the adults only pool and the great service from the Buoy Bar. Great beach location with easy access off-premises. Tons of golf opportunities very close by.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville Centre, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

If you need a vacation and need someone to cater to your needs you must go to the Hilton Head Omni. The rooms are great, views spectacular, friendly staff, beach & pool side relaxing and food delicious. The staff knows you by name and always at your service. This hotel is a definite must when at Hilton Head.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manalapan, New Jersey, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We loved our time at the OMNI. Spent 5 nights and loved it! Beach and pool are awesome. Staff was incredible. Room was huge!!!! The activities they did for the kids were the best. My kids made do many friends. Very family oriented. Food in hotel was delish!!!! Security was on the ball! Felt very safe . We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort

Address: 23 Ocean Lane, Hilton Head, SC 29928
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Hilton Head
#4 Luxury Hotel in Hilton Head
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Hilton Head
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Oceanfront Resort Hilton Head Island Hotel Hilton Head
Hilton Hotel Head
Hilton Oceanfront Hotel Head Island
Hilton Head Island Hilton Oceanfront Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.