We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort

Save Saved
You added Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   23 Ocean Lane, Hilton Head, SC 29928   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
12% Off! Book Now & Save!
Ranked #6 of 26 hotels in Hilton Head
Leesburg, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

First trip to Hilton Head for our family of three - mom, dad, and 9 year old son. Decided on Omni based on proximity to beach, overall cost, and reviews read online. We made the right decision on all three.

The Omni is set in a very tropical environment, with palm trees and outdoor paths all over the grounds. It has three pools, including one adult only. It is also right on the beach, with direct access from the pool area, and beach equipment and rentals. The hotel itself is top notch. Rooms are very large, with mini kitchens - fridge, microwave, toaster, dishes.

The resort has great amenities on site, too - including pool side bar with great drinks and food, steakhouse with high level quality food, a market place for morning coffee (Starbucks), pastries, a good light menu, and the various things you'd find at a convenience store. A spa, nightclub, and outdoor ping pong and kid sized chess/checker board add some variety.

On to prices... You can do your own research on nightly room rates. But I can say that I was pleasantly surprised by the reasonable prices of food and drink. I've been places that have you captive on their resort, and gouge you for upwards of $20 per piña colada or daiquiri - as well as the food prices. But we paid your average Ruby Tuesday prices for stuff - $4/5 beers, $9 mixed drinks, $12 sandwiches with fries at the pool bar. We also got an awesome steak dinner special for $30 for a three course meal.

Overall, Hilton Head is beautiful with plenty of things to do and places to see. If you want the best of resort and beach fun, Omni should be at or near the top of your considerations. You'll be glad you went. We are, and we'll be back next year.

Room Tip: I wouldn't worry about a beach front room. A courtyard view room gives you a view into the cour...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

788 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    444
    225
    77
    33
    9
See reviews for
300
297
10
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed for 2 nights in July. I had paid for an Oceanview room and when we got to our room, it had a view of the parking lot with a small peak of the ocean way off into the distance if you stood in the corner of the balcony and peeked around the corner. On a positive note, we asked to change rooms and that request was granted immediately but it was still a pain. The rooms are big and nice but nothing spectacular. The bed wasn't that comfortable and the bathroom seemed a bit dated.

Our second night there was my mother's 50th birthday and even though I let the hotel know prior to our trip and again at check in, there was no acknowledgment of it AT ALL. I found that absolutely crazy. We were at a previous hotel 2 nights before and they sent my mom champagne and chocolate covered strawberries and it wasn't even her actual birthday. But nothing on her actual birthday from the Omni. Such a disappointment.

The restaurant situation here is a bit odd. The lunch/bar area closes at 7pm, then there is a grab and go type place and the Steakhouse for dinner. I feel like there should be a more casual restaurant open for dinner at place this size. They do have a lounge but it is only open on Fridays and Saturdays. There was no place for us to grab a drink a and relax after dinner on Sunday. Again, a disappointment.

The pools are nice but nothing special. There are 3 different pools. 2 are large and for children and families. There is a smaller one off to the side for adults only but the bar is over by the children's pool. There is no bar by the adults only pool. There is pool service but you have to wait for that to come around. The bathrooms outside the adult pool are basically upscale porta-pots. Gross. And you can't see the ocean or anything from the pool. You can't even hear the waves. Could have just hung out at my pool at home. It was basically the same experience. But at least I would have had an umbrella if I was at my pool at home. There are about 5 umbrellas for all the chairs in the adult pool so most people are stuck with no shade. Everything was just so-so but it was missing so much.

Which brings me to the ocean. This is really a disappointment as I have never been to the atlantic side before but the ocean is not the resorts fault. But FYI, it is dark and murky and you can only see about 6 inches down. I would not get in. The BIG disappointment is that you have to pay for beach chairs and the beach chairs are ridiculously old and terribly uncomfortable. Beach chairs, beach lounges AND a cabana are all included in the resort fee at the place we normally visit in Florida (not to mention bike rentals and kayak rentals (for 1 hour/day)). The resort fee was the same as the Omni but the only thing you get at the Omni are towels, free wi-fi, SELF Parking and a complimentary shuttle. PLEASE.

Everything about this hotel kind of feels like a rip-off. Room services was $99 for 6 chicken wings, chicken quesadillas (which included 4), a bottle of Coke and a bottle of $14 Kendall Jackson that the hotel charged $55 for. Then upon check out, there was an additional $40 added to our bill for food we never ordered. It was removed but still an inconvenience. Which just seemed to be one of many here.

The resort is very family friendly and had lots of activities for kids. I may have a different review if I was there with my kids but I wasn't. I was there on a girl's trip celebrating my mom's 50th birthday and, unfortunately, it was sort of lackluster.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, IL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Don't be fooled by the pictures for this resort. We found out that while the grounds have been renovated, the hotel certainly has not. The exterior is rotting in some areas and worn. The inside feels like a cave with low ceilings and again, very worn and dark and musty. We had to run back and forth with card keys that were not working. The beds & pillows were awful. We chose to see what else was available because, quite frankly, this hotel was depressing! We were lucky to get a room at the Sonesta Hilton Head. WOW! For an extra $50, this was a true 4+ star resort inside & out. Staff was over the top and the grounds and rooms were spectacular. Pool-side music and Steve at the pool bar, just the best!

Room Tip: we were by parking lot...loud!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Beautiful compound, pool area is gorgeous, especially at night!
Literally steps away from the ocean. So picturesque with all the umbrellas & chairs scattered across the beach, loved it! The rooms were nice, a tad outdated, but we were informed that they are in the process of renovation. Nonetheless, rooms were clean, nicely decorated, with extra touches like nice, plush robes. On site store, affordable priced, restaurant on site, kayak rentals, bike rentals, anything you'd need. You wouldn't really need to leave the resort. Only problem we encountered was the air conditioning began leaking & saturated the carpeting. It made it a bit troublesome walking through it, but they knocked the resort fee off for the bother, so that eased the trouble somewhat. If you are looking for constant excitement, go to myrtle beach. Hilton head is more of a laid back, chill environment.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stay at this resort every year and have always had a wonderful experience. It is pricey but you get what you pay for. Love the adult pool, weight room, and convenient location. Ocean view room is fabulous.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

On-the-beach resort. Our favorite place in Hilton Head to stay. Adult pool, plus a large walk-in pool and a smaller pool. A beautifully landscaped property. Great breakfast at HH Prime. Buoy bar, great views and lunch, plus drinks. Very friendly staff, especially Mary at HH Prime, Anthony and Carl. Remodeled rooms coming this winter with new beds!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalton, PA, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We've been vacationing on Hilton Head for over 30 years and the Omni Beach Resort is by-far the best beach hotel experience we've had. All the amenities are world-class and the staff is well-trained and have very high customer service orientation. Room refresh over the winter of 2014-2015 will make it even better than it already is!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort

Address: 23 Ocean Lane, Hilton Head, SC 29928
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Hilton Head
#4 Luxury Hotel in Hilton Head
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Hilton Head
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Amex, Orbitz, Tingo, Venere, HotelsClick and Agoda so you can book your Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Oceanfront Resort Hilton Head Island Hotel Hilton Head
Hilton Hotel Head
Hilton Oceanfront Hotel Head Island
Hilton Head Island Hilton Oceanfront Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.