We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“omni is nice and kid friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort to your Saves list
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   23 Ocean Lane, Hilton Head, SC 29928   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
12% Off! Book Now & Save!
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, Usa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“omni is nice and kid friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights during the 4th of July holiday week-end, Don't come here at this time for an adult week-end getaway There are kids everywhere we have 3 kids so that is what we expected the atmosphere was very casual and very friendly. the rooms are decent--nothing glamorous but the tv is really a nice touch--big Panasonic flat screen. the staff was also very nice.

Go to lunch at the Palmetto club inside the main lobby--better food than what is available at outside bar and grill which is a bit pricey--nice friendly service though. Easy to get cocktails by pool at bar etc which was nice as well. nice pools and close walk to the beach--100 yards from pool. All in all a very decent place to stay!

Room Tip: too much traffic on first floor don't stay there DONT TO MY CLICK TO SELECT A RATING REVIEWS A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    726
    351
    116
    48
    14
See reviews for
464
501
24
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Modesto, California
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Enjoyed a very nice three day stay at the Omni. The staff was always polite and willing to accommodate. The House Keeping was amazing. Always polite and spoke to you by name, quite impressive. The room was on a high floor with partial ocean view - very clean and comfortable.
They had just opened up the new pools. It's nice that they have an "adult" pool in addition to two pools for kids. One of the best things they have is the Palmetto Market - a market, deli, and cafe all for the person on the go.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louisville
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Great luxury hotel! We were very pleased with the accomodations. Hotel located right on the beach, 3 outdoor pools one of them being an adult only pool. My husband and I were able to spend a great deal of time alone as the resort offered so many activities for the children. We plan on staying again next year, same time, same place. Our only complaint would be with the safe, it did not work. Tip: wear lots of bug spray in the evenings mosquitos the size of birds.

Room Tip: wear bug spray in the evenings
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

This was as close to perfect as I have ever had on a vacation with my family. The views are stunning from the Ocean view suites. Staff is extremely warm and attentive. I really liked the upscale market to go grab a snack, a beer or a bottle of wine. If you are not on a budget this is the hotel for you.

Rooms are extra large and give you the feel of a small apartment. My family of 4 did not feel crowded or on top of one another. The spacious balcony overlooking the pool and the ocean was the perfect size for us and the best part of the room.

The beachfront was very private and quiet for a July 4th weekend. No signs of drunks at the hotel pool or on the beach. Safe, clean and wonderful stay.

We have already booked a return for labor day weekend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniHiltonHead, General Manager at Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for your kind review regarding your recent experiences at the Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort. I appreciate the time you took to compliment our resort, associates, and the convenience of our Palmetto Market. The information we receive from guests like yourself is invaluable. Daily we share the comments our guests provide to us with our managers and associates.

We at the Omni strive to exceed our guests’ expectations and appreciate your feed back. We look forward to celebrating Labor Day Weekend with your family here at the resort!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed July 4-8. Excellent accommodations, staff was friendly and efficient. Rooms were large & clean,common areas were always tidy. Would highly recommend this hotel for all ages. 1st night we had a resort view room, actually parking lot view and it was dark. The remainder of our stay we had an oceanview room and I would suggest the oceanview room. Just can't say enough nice things about The Omni in Hilton Head.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Omni! The hotel had a great vibe! We were celebrating our anniversary so the kids were not with us! We spent the mornings at the beach. Tip: Bring your own chairs, beach towels and coolers if you can. There are not many shells on the beach but plenty of room to spend out in front of the Omni. We did notice other areas at the beach were very crowded. In the afternoon we used the adult pool most days and enjoyed the quietness. However we did use the other two pools and there was plenty of chairs and it seemed people moved around pool and beach throughout the day as well. There are lots for a family or couple to do here. They had fire pits, ping pong table, large chess set, bikes, activities, etc.

We ate lunch at the pool, nothing great but fine for lunch. We did not have dinner at the hotel but went off sight. However we did enjoy the XO Lounge, not sure if people knew it was there due to being in back corner. However, if you stay here check out the reggae band! They were wonderful and so good! The hotel needs to do more to spread the word they are there and the Lounge would be a lot busier!

The location was great to the island and we enjoyed the Palmetto area! We played tennis and kayak there too! We would definitely stay here again but I am sure we will have family in tow. My only feedback is the hotel did not acknowledge our anniversary which I was disappointed but oh well!

Room Tip: We had courtyard view and tried to upgrade for ocean view but they was sold out. However when we got...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia, United States
Top Contributor
233 reviews 233 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We are just back from a 4 night vacation at the Omni Hilton Head. It was absolutely fantastic - the service is top notch. All the staff members are always smiling and cheerful - we arrived around 9 PM EST - checking in was a breeze - they had already put up a crib in our room for my 2 year old and they also left him milk and cookies. The resort is beautiful to lounge around or walk around any time of the day - we actually walked around the resort enjoying the rocking chairs and fire pits till around midnight. The access to the beach is fantastic - its literally 10 steps away. We spent a lot of time on the beach - it is clean and delightful, especially during low tide, there are puddles/pools of water on the beach which was great for my 2 year old to play in. We spent hours playing in the sand with beach toys.

The hotel had arranged shuttle service to go watch the fireworks at Shelter Cover which was great and very comfortable. We also took the shuttle to the outfitters. They also give a small back up to the kids which is pretty neat - my 2 year old had great fun strapping it on his back and walking around the resort. They have 3 pools with 2 of them geared towards family activity.

The room is huge with a balcony - it has microwave, fridge, toaster, sink, dishes,etc - so its great as we made some meals in our room for our son - and we were also able to enjoy to-go dinners in our room balcony - listening to the waves. We stocked up on beer and mixed drinks in our room so we didn't pay for any pricey drinks

There are some nitpicking which the resort can improve upon - first and foremost - the internet (part of the $18 resort fee) is bad. I have stayed at many mediocre chain hotels who have blazing fast internet compared to this resort - they need to improve it. Also cell phone reception is very spotty in the room and is bad on the resort in general. The ocean view from our room 523 was average - there is a lot of foliage blocking the view - instead of paying $100+ more for ocean view - next time, i would probably stay courtyard view and spend that extra cash else.

All is all - fantastic vacation - great property, beautiful surroundings, gorgeous beach and superlative service. We will definitely consider it if we return to Hilton Head Island

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort

Address: 23 Ocean Lane, Hilton Head, SC 29928
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Hilton Head
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Hilton Head
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 323
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Omni Hotels & Resorts, Expedia, Despegar.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Oceanfront Resort Hilton Head Island Hotel Hilton Head
Hilton Hotel Head
Hilton Oceanfront Hotel Head Island
Hilton Head Island Hilton Oceanfront Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.