We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort

Save Saved
You added Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   23 Ocean Lane, Hilton Head, SC 29928   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
12% Off! Book Now & Save!
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in Hilton Head
Buford, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
“Great family resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

This resoort was pretty for family or even a couple getaway. We had my 2 year old with us and she loved the ocean and the playground as well. The balcony was great, mines overlooked the courtyard. Plenty of pools and a short walk to the beach. Loved it! The breakfast in the morning was delicious!! Worth the cost of it...and large buffet and variety to choose from. Staff was pleasant and rooms were clean and comfy. The kitchen just had refrigator, sink and microwave...but it was manageable. It's a short drive to the main strip to get more food, not so expensive. Would definelty go there again! Hotel is in need of some repairs so I understand they will be updating it soon, but still worth the value

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

918 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    511
    267
    91
    38
    11
See reviews for
360
346
12
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights...what a beautiful resort. We used free nights that we had accumulated through the loyalty program. The staff put us in a big suite which was pretty, but was on the first floor with no ocean view. When we expressed some disappointment they set us up in an equally suitable and spacious suite on a higher floor with a perfect view of the ocean. Upon arrival to our room we found that the Loyalty Ambassador (Adam) had sent a bottle of wine to welcome us and the TV was turned on to a serene station playing soft music. We had turn down service every night with fresh towels. The room was very clean. The resort grounds are very nice and clean. A lot of renovations were done recently is my understanding. There is an adults only pool, a family pool and a pool for the young ones (and fountains), as well as a hot tub. The access to the beach is direct, only 1-2 minute walk. The workout room is newly renovated and has fruit, towels, headphones and several cardio machines and weights. Machines have TVs on them. There are a few firepits. There is a little store for essentials, snacks, pastries at the resort which is convenient. There is a ping pong table, a huge chess set for playing. There is fruit water served in the lobby, as well as fruit available. We went on a dolphin cruise which Adam quickly set up for us. We were shuttled directly over to the harbor for no fee. The staff throughout the hotel were very polite and always had a smile and a hello. We ordered coffee each morning and it was always there on time, as requested. The outside restaurant has a simple, but good menu so you can eat by the pool but under the shade. Prices were reasonable. Overally, we were entirely satisfied with our stay here and really appreciated the special attention we felt the staff gave to us...as I'm sure they do to all their guests! Thank you for a wonderful visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piedmont, Oklahoma, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from 7 nights at the Omni. Had a wonderful time with our 4 kids (ages 1, 7, 10, 12). The new pool is awesome. We stayed in a luxury oceanfront suite. We were on the 5th floor and had an amazing view from the HUGE balcony. Plenty of room for all of us in the room. We stayed here last year and I felt the staff was much friendlier this time. We were always greeted with a smile and the housekeeping staff was so friendly! The staff in the Market always went out of their way to make sure all customers had what they needed and wanted. I must say that I was impressed and can't wait to go back next year. The kids enjoyed the activities poolside. The beach access is great, too. One warning...watch out for stingrays. My oldest got stung on the foot. My only complaint...the bathrooms in the room were a tad small, but that would not deter me from returning.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apex, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Just returned from celebrating our 30th wedding anniversary at Omni Hilton Head Resort! The location was awesome and rooms very large and spacious!! Loved the proximity to the beach and the ease in renting beach chairs/umbrellas. The staff was very attentive and friendly from the pool bar attendants to the maid staff in our rooms. We especially loved the multiple pools to choose from (adult pool, children's pool, and family pool), also we enjoyed the jacuzzi after a busy day kayaking and shopping!! It was especially surprising when the staff delivered a bottle of bubbly and glasses to our room for our anniversary! Loved the "omniance" of the resort, palm trees, live music, and the fire pits in the court yard! On the down side was the internet service...was very difficult to make a call on our cell phones from our rooms or sometime get internet connection. Will definitely visit Omni Hilton Head again !!!

Room Tip: Ask for court-yard or beach view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

OK. Back again. Been here about 20 times already. What is different is now Omni runs it. They have renovated the rooms. MUCH nicer. Less sand in the carpet. The rooms are comfortable. Small kitchen. Nice flat screen TV. Opens to the outside. Still hear the usual crashing of doors opening and closing like I do everywhere.
Rooms in HH are expensive as you would expect. We got the conference rate. Now. Here's the part that I can't stand but it seems to be the industry norm.
Resort fee.
Here's what you get for the resort fee: Self park. Wi fi ( which is horrendous) Fitness room (no one ever in there) and ...LOL...in room coffee service ( the usual small crappy plastic unit and freezer burnt filter packs that no one uses unless you're totally desperate and need to get your money's worth)
That's another 18 dollars a day. Used to be part of the room fee. Why don't these hotels just be honest and increase the room fee rather than racking their brains coming up with items that used to be free to put in a "resort fee?" What's next.....air in the hotel room as part of the resort fee?
Now. One good change. The pools and decking were spruced up and are much better. I quit going into the "family pool" years ago to avoid bumping into diapers so this was improved.
As with all resorts, bring your wallet. Wife and son ordered in their market place, NOT the sit down restaurant, eggs, turkey bacon, toast coffee. 25 dollars for the two. Save yourself the money and go to the Hilton Head Diner where 2 eggs, grits, and toast are 4.99.
I was stuck right after conference for lunch. Ordered a shrimp caesar salad and bottled water. 18 dollars. Oh year. Can get a filet at Longhorn for that. So just know that eating onsite is New York prices. It's good. But Hilton Head in general has perfected the art of separating the tourists from their dollars. I'll be back. Because the conference is held here every year.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Although the resort needs a little freshening up, it has a lot to offer. The first thing I noticed was the wonderful smell of the air.... a combination of ocean and mossy trees..... kind of uplifting. The room was huge, but a little dark, with a partial view of the ocean. The little fridge and microwave came in handy. There were nice rocking chairs outside around the fire pit, and miles and miles of safe biking trails. The beach is level and clean. Just needs some sprucing up, although I read that they are planning a 17 million dollar renovation. The setting is lovely. Do I recommend this resort ? Yes.

Room Tip: Ask for an oceanfront room, because of the sunlight, and view, of course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumming, Georgia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Well I'll do a Pro's/Cons List.

Pros: Nice location on the island centrally located in Palmetto Dunes area. The Staff minus the front desk personnel were extremely friendly! The new pools...esp. the zero entry pool was very nice and great for young children. They have someone manning the beach pool towel area at all times and that was great. The poolside bar was a great idea except it does close early. The rooms are indeed spacious and mostly well appointed. Right on the beach so that was very nice and the Hotel has two entry ways to get to the beach with showers located on both of them.

Cons: The front desk personnel couldn't get our Select Guest membership in the system straight for some unknown reason and therefore we only got the paper 1 morning and only after asking for it the (USA Today not the Local paper as requested). We had also ask for our drink vouchers on the 2nd night as well as the nightly turndown service which only came that 1 night out of 3. The Wireless Internet in our room was HORRIBLE and practically non-existent. The Cell phone reception in the Room and even on the Balcony was Horrible. I noticed it as soon as we got in the room and called the front desk...they in turn put me through to the Omni Internet phone help that tried to help, but they couldn't change the location or the amount of routers the hotels has installed in the hallways. This "New Wireless" system they just had put in isn't working correctly for all the rooms and they are relying on their guest to let them know what rooms it isn't working in, instead of doing that part on their own before hand. The front desk personnel had even heard this numerous times before (System is a month or so old) and ended up crediting our bill $9.99 of the $18 Resort fee for each night. The rooms are spacious and the balcony's are large but the Hotel itself is old and you can see it on the pealing wallpaper in the bathrooms, and on the elevators that are supposed to be Air Conditioned...but instead just blow hot air on you. I had planned on getting my wife a Spa package but the rates were unreal and it didn't even open until 12pm on the day we wanted to go. $290 for a 80 min couples massage...I know this is the beach...but come on we're not at the Ritz Carlton here and the facilities are not to that scale.


Overall the resort is 3 to 3 1/21/2 stars.

Room Tip: Look for 1 that has an Wireless Router located outside of it...otherwise you may not get much recept...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort

Address: 23 Ocean Lane, Hilton Head, SC 29928
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Hilton Head
#4 Luxury Hotel in Hilton Head
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Hilton Head
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 323
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Oceanfront Resort Hilton Head Island Hotel Hilton Head
Hilton Hotel Head
Hilton Oceanfront Hotel Head Island
Hilton Head Island Hilton Oceanfront Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;