We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1575 Fording Island Road, Hilton Head, SC 29926   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed and Breakfast Package
Ranked #11 of 27 Hotels in Hilton Head
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Overnight for business and stayed in a king. Clean and well kept exterior upon entering the property. Found parking up front. I don't think the hotel was too full the night I stayed, due to the plentiful parking I found at check-in (late) and teh fact I was the only one in the breakfast area for half of my breakfast. Upon entering, you are faced with a set of stairs to take you up to the lobby. I think there is an elevator to the left though. Check in was quick, and I was recognized as a diamond member! Room was clean, and the bed comfortable. Two negatives; the arms on the desk chair don't play well with the desk, and I could not get NBC on teh TV. Had 3 channels of CBS airing the same program. Made to order breakfast was quick, and plenty of other food choices. Would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    135
    49
    13
    12
See reviews for
145
121
13
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chesapeake, Virginia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We have stayed at this Garden Inn several times and are never disappointed. The staff is wonderful and the Inn is always spotless. They have a wide variety of items on the breakfast buffet and will cook your eggs to order. If you are into walking the Pinckney Island National Wildlife Refuge is a short distance from the hotel. It is very peaceful and a wonderful place to see many birds.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, MO
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

In the U.S., my first choice for a mid-price hotel is Hilton Garden Inn. They are usually very consistent in quality, but this on strikes out with me on the room HVAC unit.

This one is very well designed in Southern architecture just across the bridge from Hilton Head Island. What I don't understand is why Hilton isn't more strict with their franchises on the HVAC equipment. The unit just under the window will only operate with the fan at high speed. There is no setting for low speed. So it just blows and blows loudly. I guess if you want white noise at night to sleep, that is great. But if you want to have a conversation on watch TV, the fan noise overwhelms the room.

Room Tip: Highway noise is no problem. Don't worry, with loud HVAC fan noise, you won't hear anything...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg-Burnes B, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you for picking Hilton Garden Inn as your brand of choice. I am sorry that your experience was not as positive as we would have wished for you. Your comfort and enjoyment are of key importance to all the team members at Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head. The HVAC units in our standard rooms and the VTAC units in our suites both have the ability to cycle(based on temperature) or remain constant (fan runs non-stop). It appears your room unit was switched to “constant”. It is through comments from honored guests such as yourself that we improve the service for you and fellow guests. We look forward to having you return for a restful night on your future visits to the island. Greg Burnes- General Manager greg.burnes@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

After a long 10 hour drive, we were a bit tired and just wanted to grab the room keys and go. But we met Iesha who was working the front desk that night. She was so friendly and cordial, we chose to linger a few minutes to talk with her. What a pleasant and helpful woman she is, Hilton Garden Inn is fortunate to have her working for them. In fact, everyone on the staff was friendly and was happy to help us with whatever we needed.
The rooms were clean and spacious. The breakfast was plentiful and refreshed quickly. If you are in the area, this is the hotel to choose!
I don't usually write reviews, but I was overwhelmed with the hospitality we received at this hotel Thank you to all the staff

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Early check-in was greeted with a quick "let me check and see what's available" as opposed to the stares of "can't you read the sign that says check in is at 3?" Staff was very friendly.

Rooms were very clean and the elevators had even been wiped down from hand prints. Small details but it tells me the property cares.

Wireless.. works great, high speed and no issue for accessing.
AC unit is in a locked closet and can make the door rattle a bit for the light sleepers could be an issue.
No bar at this HGI so the only after hours food is from room service or the pantry down stairs. Room service was provided by a local restaurant.

Plus for me was the first floor garage that is under the building. Weather is great here most of the time but it was nice staying dry when it wasn't.

Very nice pool area and lounge area just outside the lobby as well.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I can't even tell you how nice the entire staff was at this hotel. I could hardly believe it. 10 minutes from the beach, and everything was in between the hotel and beach. Awesome. Clean, great pool. Price is perfect. Best hotel experience ever.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Was so glad to find Hilton Garden Inn on Hilton Head, because it is a clean, beautiful hotel and the staff is the nicest and most professional of any I've ever encountered anywhere. And the price is very reasonable for what you get. It's right by the bridge to Hilton Head, so very easy access to the island's beaches, golf courses, shopping and dining. And it's set back in a peaceful setting, although it's so easy to get to from the main road. I was sick and had my dog with me, and couldn't keep driving, and one of the staff was kind enough to take care of him for me. That is an example of how the dedicated professionals who work here really go out of their way for their guests. I will always stay here whenever I'm on Hilton Head.

Room Tip: Corner suites are quieter and larger, away from elevator. Rooms above first floor don't have me...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve C, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Thank you very much for the kind words about our hotel and my staff. I will make sure and commend Jose for taking the initiative to watch your dog.
Thanks again for the kind feedback and hope you come back and visit.
Steve Cotton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head

Address: 1575 Fording Island Road, Hilton Head, SC 29926
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 27 Hotels in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head Hotel Hilton Head
Hilton Garden Inn Head
Hilton Head Garden Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.