We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Park Lane Hotel and Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Park Lane Hotel and Suites to your Saves list
Park Lane Hotel and Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12 Park Lane, Hilton Head, SC 29928 (Formerly Residence Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 27 Hotels in Hilton Head
Terre Haute, Indiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very nice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

I am always leery about staying in a hotel that is not a chain. But, we found this one to be an excellent choice. We stayed in a suite and found it very comfortable, spacious and clean. The staff were all very pleasant. The setting was beautiful. It was surrounded by lots of trees. The grounds were well maintained. The kitchenette was fully furnished. The continental breakfast was also nice.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    136
    86
    50
    41
See reviews for
138
154
14
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

We stayed in this hotel for one night during a family vacation. The front desk staff were very nice and hospitable. The room we were given was okay, but had a definite animal odor from past guests. I have pretty bad allergies, so I'm more sensitive than most to the smell, but even my kids complained about the odor. The pull-out sofa had a horrible mattress, and my littlest woke up numerous times that night as he "sunk" into the middle. The pillow left for the pull-out was also terrible. It was completely malformed, and when my son called to ask for a replacement he was told there were none (there were only 5 pillows total in our room that could sleep 6). He opted to sleep without a pillow rather than sleep on the one given. The bathroom was small, but adequate. There is a large kitchen in the hotel room. It actually takes up at least half of the room, so if you're planning to cook, that is an added perk. However, because the kitchen is so large, the room configuration is a little strange. There were 2 beds against one wall, the couch and coffee table on the opposite wall, and a TV stand with TV up against the side wall which meant you had to reposition the TV towards the bed in order to view it, and there was no viewing it from the couch since it was placed along the side of the couch. There was a DVD player though, which was another added bonus for anyone bring DVD's with them. One drawback was there was no kind of drawer space to store clothing. That seemed strange to only be given a closet. Also, there was a $10 per night resort fee that we knew about beforehand, but seemed strange for this location. We've stayed at a lot of "resorts" and this wouldn't meet our criteria for one. There was one unheated pool and small hot tub, a little playground area, and a tennis court nearby, but nothing above and beyond a normal hotel. We did have a small concrete slab out the sliding glass door that we could use to go outside, but there was only one dirty plastic chair provided for sitting, so we didn't utilize the area at all. Breakfast was fine and there was a nice seating area in the lobby for guests to use while they ate. Overall, this hotel was just so-so for our family, but might be great for guests planning to come and stay longer than a night that would like a full-sized kitchen to cook their own meals.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

We traveled to Hilton Head, Sunday, March 23, 2014 and stayed thru the 26th. We have stayed there once before and the service was okay then. I am handicapped and can not climb stairs. They assured me that there would be no stairs and my access would be good. We arrived late that evening for check in. There was 4 of us, my husband and 2 children, a boy and a preteen girl. When we got to the room, we found that there was only one bed at the top of a steep flight on stairs and no safety rail. The bed barely fit the room. The foot of the bed was only about a foot from the stairs. The area was dingy and smelled bad. The emergency exit was a door that went out onto the roof. The bathroom was so small that I had to have help getting in and out of the shower.
The children were stuck with a sofa bed. The mattress was dirty and had holes in the bottom of it. There was only 1 pillow for it. The only closet space was in the dining area behind a chair. It was an overall bad experience. When we asked to change rooms the clerk was rather rude and said too bad. I found out the next morning that they did have a better room on a single level the next day. The day shift apologized for the night clerk and promptly moved us to a much better room with enough beds for all of us. That room was clean and tidy. The rest of our stay was pleasant. I never had a chance to try the breakfast service because I woke up too late. They did have a nice tea and coffee set up in the lobby.
I would not recommend the hotel if you are looking for a very comfortable stay. But it is okay if it is for just a short stay. Hopefully they will update the rooms soon. AND put more safety for those top of the stairs bedrooms.

Room Tip: If you need any special needs, make sure the room is single level. Don't let the clerk bully you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringgold, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Not much that I can complain about. Front desk staff were all very nice. All the bad reviews on this site do not reflect this hotel. The room was clean, the bed could have been better a little lumpy. The layout of the room was good and the room was very spacious for me and my wife. We had some dishes in the sink that we were going to wash later that day and while we were gone the house keeper came in and put them in the dishwasher for us. The grounds were very clean. The breakfast was basic there was a good space for the breakfast area but there was never any orange juice as avertisted. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Check in staff was appropriately friendly, but from there, it was a disappointment. This was purchased as a Living Social deal, but the actuality doesn't match the web. The bathroom is very small (not really any counter space for personal items!) and the tub took forever to drain after a quick shower. The bed wasn't terribly comfortable, most likely needs to be replaced. Didn't bother to sit on the sofa and the TV could've been a bit larger considering the layout of the room. The worst part was being able to hear every thing outside of the room: dogs barking at people in the hallways, conversations, babies crying. As a seasoned traveler, I most likely wouldn't return to this property.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12parklane, General Manager at Park Lane Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you for your review. You are correct in stating that we have small bathrooms, however small bathrooms make room for large kitchen areas with full sized appliances! If you would email us the room you were in I can have our maintenance staff fix the tub drain problem so the next guests do not experience a slow drain.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, South Carolina
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

We stayed at the Park Lane Hotel due to a Living Social deal. We were pleased with the accommodation and would stay there again.

We had a loft suite (3rd floor A building) which faced the swimming pool area. The living area was very nice with a full kitchen including dishwasher, dining table for 4, a fireplace, and nice furniture (almost new), and a TV and DVD. There was a full bath on this level also. The kitchen was equipped well enough to handle cooking for a 2- 4 people if desired. There was a small balcony which overlooked the pool area.

The loft had a queen bed with a dresser and a small bathroom but no closet….you had to use the one downstairs. The bed was very comfortable and we did not use the topper we always carry with us!

While the hotel was well occupied, our 3rd floor was not and this helped us have a quiet stay. We had little noise in the loft area except for background A/C hum but while on the lower floor, door closings and people talking in the hallway where noticeable. Then there is the emergency access door of the loft which leads to the roof…..saw some comments about some people using it as a party area. Nothing like that happened while we were there.

The breakfast area seated about 30 and could get quite crowded. Starbucks coffee, wweet rolls, muffins, cereal, bagels and fruit were provided.

Location, while not near the beach, was good. Within a short drive are a Fresh Market and a new Kroger at Shelter Towne Center that has to be one of the largest grocery stores I have been in with a salad bar and deli bar which included BBQ, pizza, deli sandwiches and much more. Between the Kroger and the Fresh Market and over 200 restaurants on the island, you food needs are taken care of.

Coligny Beach is about 3 miles from the hotel. This is the main beach (free parking) where everyone walks at sunrise and sunsets as well as swims. From experience, the sunsets can have vivid bronze tints I have not seen elsewhere…..while the sun sets over land at the south end of the beach, looking down the beach makes a beautiful photo. There are several other beach access beaches within a couple of miles – Driessen and Alder Beach Lane.

At the Villages of Wexford Shopping Center nearby are the Smith Galleries and The Jazz Corner, both worth checking out. For a $5 fee you can explore Sea Pines Plantation which has Harbour Town, South Beach Marina, Sea Pines Forest Preserve, and Lawton Stables and petting zoo to mention a few attractions.

About the only negatives were some mildew around the tub in both bathrooms, no closet in the loft and a small bathroom in the loft. Everything else was clean and well kept.

Room Tip: For quiet, B building, back side away from parking area might be best. Loft gives a quiet sleep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12parklane, General Manager at Park Lane Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thanks so much for your review. I'm certain that your review detail will help many travelers with their decision of where to stay. We are glad to hear you will stay with us again on your next visit. Hope to see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Price-wise with the Living Social deal it was good however the bathroom was tiny, dated, caulk around the shower and walls was filthy, cracked and broken in places, the beds were not very comfortable (a bit lumpy), additional fees were added at checkout beyond the Living Social deal in the amount of $26 (resort nightly fees & taxes), we couldn't get near the breakfast area as it was extremely small and crowded so we ended up going elsewhere. Pool towels are handed out by the front desk and the lady working the desk was quite rude, made you sign a form with the number of towels and informed us that if the towels weren't returned to the front desk by 10am the following morning. You couldn't leave them in the room for housekeeping to pick up. All in all it wasn't terrible by any means but we would most likely stay elsewhere when next we visit Hilton Head.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12parklane, General Manager at Park Lane Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Thank you for your review. I would like to take the opportunity to respond to your concerns. Our housekeeping staff work very hard and diligently to maintain our accommodations that most people find great. There is nothing filthy in our bathrooms. Regarding the "lumpy bed" , the majority of our guests compliment us on our beds, so much so that they often request the manufacturer. However we do not like our guests to be uncomfortable so for that I apologize. The nightly Resort Fees are printed on all web sites prominently as was done with our Living Social deal so that should not have been a surprise to you. Our pool towels are presented to guests as most hotels do. It is unfortunate that you have to sign but so many guests would take our towels that we would have to replace them over and over. We apologize for the inconvenience but are assured that you would rather do that than have the expense of pool towel replacements reflected in your bill.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Lane Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Lane Hotel and Suites

Address: 12 Park Lane, Hilton Head, SC 29928 (Formerly Residence Inn)
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 27 Hotels in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Park Lane Hotel and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shaded by magnolia and palmetto trees, Park Lane Hotel sits in the center of the island, just minutes from beaches, shopping, and gourmet restaurants. The hotel caters both to those seeking relaxation and action, combining laid-back luxury with sports facilities including tennis courts, a basketball court, and a kids' playground. An arched driveway leads to the hotel's stately entrance, which is adorned with thick columns and white chimney stacks rising from a slate roof. Inside, each spacious suite features a full kitchen with granite countertops. Overstuffed armchairs and fireplaces create a cozy environment for unwinding. The Park Lane Hotel & Suites is the island's only all suite property with 156 rooms. Guests enjoy complimentary continental breakfast, high-speed wireless internet, outdoor pool and jacuzzi and is Pet Friendly! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Park Lane Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Lane Hilton Head

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Lane Hotel and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.