We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth it would not go back” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Park Lane Hotel and Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Park Lane Hotel and Suites to your Saves list
Park Lane Hotel and Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12 Park Lane, Hilton Head, SC 29928 (Formerly Residence Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 26 Hotels in Hilton Head
Lawrenceville, Georgia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not worth it would not go back”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

The service was hit or miss. First person was great others were rude and less than helpful. The rooms are noisy. You can here every sound including the noisy rude staff. They had no extra pillows it was freezing and they advertise fireplaces yet had no logs. The resort fee is a joke they have no amenities..a poorly heated hot tub and a cold dirty pool arent worth it. The dishwasher was broken. The one tv is small and inconveniently placed. The us mail is faster than their internet. I missed a deadline because it was so slow the pages coukdnt load and front desk refused to vheck into it saying try sitting at the one in our lobby....at 1am I dont think so. There location is poor and nothinh to make up for it. Was there on our anniversary and their timeshare salesman REPEATEDLY callef our room and my cell starting at 8 am even after we told them we were sick. We were woken up by his calls every morning. If we didnt answer he called til we did. We come to hhi often and this was by far the worst experience. Would not go back even for free..thankfully we enjoy each other and have fun wherever but we def regret our one year anniversary was spent in this dump

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLGeneralManager, General Manager at Park Lane Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. To have gotten additional pillows a quick call to the front desk would have taken care of that. I do apologize that we ran out of logs for the weekend...our weather was very chilly the prior week however that is no excuse for not having a supply of logs. Our pool is not heated which would make it cold, however it is not dirty and maintained by our pool company through out all months. Did you report the hot tub temperature? We have had no complaints regarding this issue. Our location is mid-island within walking distance of restaurants, shopping and family activities. We are not in the timeshare business and therefore do not have any employees calling your room. Or staff work extremely hard at providing the best experience for our guests....I am indeed sorry that you did not have that experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    149
    91
    53
    42
See reviews for
145
166
14
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Shelby, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

My wife and I had a three night stay and was very satisfied with the accommodations. The room was a king bed with a full kitchen. Don't go expecting a view from your room and if you are expecting beach access look for different accommodations. We were there to to enjoy the bike trails and shopping at some unique stores (and also the food). The staff was extremely nice and the continental breakfast with Starbucks coffee was a plus. For a golfing trip this would be a very economical place to stay and its sort of center island so it's convenient to several courses.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLGeneralManager, General Manager at Park Lane Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for your positive review. We love our central location and being just steps away from the over 50 miles of Island pathways! Believe it or not there are people that are not "beach people" and prefer our quiet surroundings. Come back and see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiken, SC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Spent 2 nights there and were very satisfied with size and condition of the rooms. A full kitchen and a balcony overlooking the pool were unexpected perks for the price. The staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful. A very nice continental breakfast buffet was offered (with Starbucks coffee) and served in a very pleasant sunny breakfast room off the lobby. Hotel is convenient to many restaurants and shopping areas. The beach is a 5 minute drive away. We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool on the 2nd or 3rd floor have a more pleasant view. There are elevators a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLGeneralManager, General Manager at Park Lane Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
The staff at Park Lane greatly appreciates your review. It is always great to have proof to our continued efforts to make our guests stay the best. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We had a 3 night stay there and was really surprised by how much space was in the room. because of the price we expected it to be a little less than our normal standards but we were pleasantly surprised. it had a full kitchen, balcony, living area and the staff was very friendly! With the hotel rices on Hilton Head normally around the $200 range we found this hidden jewel for just $99 per night and enjoyed the entire stay. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLGeneralManager, General Manager at Park Lane Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for your great review. You, like most of our guests consider the Park Lane a hidden jewel on our beautiful island. We continually work toward making your stay with us the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Hotel needs renovations. Rooms dirty with dead bugs, paint peeling on walls and furniture/beds old and worn out. Carpet is worn and smells of mildew. Bathrooms are extra small with small hot water heaters. You must take quick showers or hot water runs out quickly. We addressed our concerns with front desk and management to no resolutions. They did not even offer us a new room. Staff seemed to careless about our concerns. Limited hotel parking and overflow parking area has no lighting. Very scary coming in after dinner.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Forks, Maine
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Had a Groupon for this place and it's was well worth the value. Room was clean and neat. Hotel was a bit tired in places and the fitness center was in a weird location, out beyond the lobby in a room all it's own. Only 3 pieces of equipment and a weight machine. Staff was nice and directed us to some local places to get food and enjoy the scenery.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ravenel, South Carolina
Top Contributor
221 reviews 221 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We used a groupon which was $125 for 3 nights. We didn't expect alot but had viewed the photos, so were kind of prepared for our room. It was nicely done, but needed updating. The clothes hook on the bathroom door fell off and I could not fix it. When turing on the faucets, the pipes under the sink vibrated like a plane taking off. Position of the furniture was a bit cramped. Bed was up against the closet so hard to get to, and the tv could not be seen from the bed. On the wrong wall. It did have a very nice kitchen area, full stove, frig, microwave and sink. Two person table with chairs and a bar with two bar stools. LIghting was HORRILBE. Only one very dim lamp next to one side of bed, nothing near the sofa except the bed lamp, and bulbs were very dim. I'm not a big fan of bedspreads on motel beds (you never know when they clean them), so was not too comfortable with using it for a cover. WE took our own pillows, theirs were super firm. Area was pretty quiet but someone had a dog and it barked coming and going. Wasn't a problem as we were always up when this happened, but if someone was tring to sleep, good luck with that! Breakfast (continental) was adequate at best. Pool area was nice, but too cold to take advantage of. We did know when we booked that there was a $9.50 daily restort fee, but we figured we still got a great deal. We did use the free wi-fi, the paper and the breakfast, so I guess we did use $9.50 worth of these things. Breakfast had we eaten out been that amount easily. Would stay again if we had another groupon. Not sure we would if we had to pay the full price of $80 plus resort fee during their off season.

Room Tip: We were in room 226, right next to the eleveator and stairs, so would suggest you get a room further...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Lane Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Lane Hotel and Suites

Address: 12 Park Lane, Hilton Head, SC 29928 (Formerly Residence Inn)
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 26 Hotels in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Park Lane Hotel and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shaded by magnolia and palmetto trees, Park Lane Hotel sits in the center of the island, just minutes from beaches, shopping, and gourmet restaurants. The hotel caters both to those seeking relaxation and action, combining laid-back luxury with sports facilities including tennis courts, a basketball court, and a kids' playground. An arched driveway leads to the hotel's stately entrance, which is adorned with thick columns and white chimney stacks rising from a slate roof. Inside, each spacious suite features a full kitchen with granite countertops. Overstuffed armchairs and fireplaces create a cozy environment for unwinding. The Park Lane Hotel & Suites is the island's only all suite property with 156 rooms. Guests enjoy complimentary continental breakfast, high-speed wireless internet, outdoor pool and jacuzzi and is Pet Friendly! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Despegar.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Park Lane Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Lane Hilton Head

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Lane Hotel and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.