We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEWARE! Construction Adjacent to Monarch through June 2014!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines to your Saves list
Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   91 N Sea Pines Drive, Hilton Head, SC 29928   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double Rewards Points!
Ranked #7 of 26 Hotels in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
Landrum, South Carolina, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“BEWARE! Construction Adjacent to Monarch through June 2014!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Beware CONSTRUCTION noise! In April of 2013, we responded to a special offer with discounted rates at Marriott's Vacation Club resorts. We booked the Monarch at Sea Pines for a stay the first week in Sept. 2013. Now, two weeks out from our scheduled arrival, a notice is posted on the Monarch's website: "Sea Pines Beach Club adjacent to our resort will be undergoing a complete renovation August 2013-June 2014. This will include loud construction noise 7:30am-6:30pm Monday-Saturday." To the best of our knowledge and belief, this notice was just posted. Our time to cancel expires shortly. The construction project is a $10 million overhaul of the Sea Pines Beach Club next door to the Monarch. We have submitted a request to Marriott to be moved to another property (similar room at equal promotional discount). To our dismay, they only offered the best current rate and did not match the percentage of discount that was offered back in April when we made our reservation. BEWARE: check out the status of the nearby construction before booking at the Monarch at Sea Pines through June 2014.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Please contact us at customer.care@vacationclub.com or at 800 860 9384 so we can personally assist you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    73
    19
    8
    4
See reviews for
119
58
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

While not my favorite of the Hilton Head Marriott timeshares, I still would prefer it over any other brand of time shares. Location is great. Inside the Sea Pines plantation and beachfront. However unless you are an owner, it is highly unlikely you will get a view of the beach. It is the oldest of the Marriott time shares and it shows. Also not all the amenities that you expect of a Marriott timeshare are available - such as a store or restaurant/bar (although there is one close by). A few issues such as events listed that never occurred and pool attendants knowing nothing about although on the calendar given to guests. Most upsetting was that checking in, we were not given the required bracelets to use the facility. The next day our daughters were by the pool when a pool attendant approached them. Although they provided a room number and offered to go to the front desk, they were escorted from the pool. The attendant stood over them while they gathered their pool bag. I immediately went to the front desk. They admitted their error and offered me a toy for our daughters, however since they are 22 and 18, we passed. I would have to say that the behavior of the pool attendant was not at the level expected from the Marriott. On the other hand, the gentleman renting bicycles was very attentive and had the Marriott service down.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

My in-laws were some of the first owners at Sea Pines. Absolutely love getting to go stay there. The beach access is tremendous. A few year ago I would have said the accommodations were getting dated but they have worked hard at updating them. Sea Pines itself is exclusive and away from the rest of the island.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This place is a nice getaway for Hilton Head and gets you into Sea Pines which is wonderful in and of itself. Get an oceanfront view room, you will be pleased! Pools and hot tubs were quite pleasant. Rooms were spacious and inviting of relaxation and chilling. Walking out to the beach was quick and easy. Only thing that bugged us was we went to rent bikes and apparently it was the tail end of the shift so the bike renter was a bit short and hurried with us. While we understood the timing was not ideal, it was not characteristic of Marriott service. Easy drive to nowhere in Sea Pines was fabulous. Overall, a great time!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago,il
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Monarch is a wonderful Marriott property and has added many new improvements. Drake the property Manager listens to his guests and handles concerns with professionalism and experience. Thank You Monarch for another Great!! vacation.

Stayed July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

The location was great, the apartment was great, the beach was great. Unfortunately there are only 120 parking spots for 140 units resulting in frustration. Rather than limiting the units rented, they actually give more than 1 parking permit per unit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for providing comments regarding your stay at Marriott's Monarch. We apologize for the inconvenience with limited parking during your stay. While the parking is typically sufficient for the number of vehicles at the resort, during peak times, the lot will fill up and we have made arrangements for additional parking during those times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewis Center, Ohio
Level Contributor
88 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

This timeshare is located at Sea Pines and is accessible by bike to most of the island. You can rent a bike for $30 a week or $10 per day. Don't forget to ask for a basket.

The rooms accommodate 6 easily. The pullout couch has the greatest mattress that I have seen on a pullout. It reminds me of memory foam. Very comfy. Plenty of linens. Washer and Dryer are in the unit so that you can wash towels and clothes. Don't over pack since you can wash clothes easily in your unit. You really only need swimsuits and clothes for dinner. I only have worn about 20% of what I packed.

The kitchen has some open shelving which is great so you don't forget what you purchased at the store.

Unloading the car for luggage and groceries is a problem since the elevators aren't even with the ground. You have to carry your luggage about 12 steps up to get to the elevators.

There is only 1 elevator per building so you must wait often.

The landscaping is beautiful but it does block the views of the ocean.

Note that there is a handicap/stroller/beach cart path to the beach but it isn't clearly marked... go past the 4th building and the hammocks to find it.

The organized programs are great for the kids. They especially loved the pool party.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
2.4 mi away
Beach House Resort
Beach House Resort
#13 of 26 in Hilton Head
4.0 of 5 stars 775 reviews
1.5 mi away
Inn at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort
8.5 mi away
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
#6 of 26 in Hilton Head
4.5 of 5 stars 519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head
#12 of 26 in Hilton Head
4.0 of 5 stars 525 reviews
3.8 mi away
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
4.6 mi away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines

Address: 91 N Sea Pines Drive, Hilton Head, SC 29928
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 26 Hotels in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Monarch At Sea Pines Hotel Hilton Head
Marriotts Hilton Head
Marriotts Hotel Hilton Head
Marriott Hilton Head

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.