We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines

Save Saved
You added Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   91 N Sea Pines Drive, Hilton Head, SC 29928   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rewards Members Save 25%
Ranked #10 of 26 Hotels in Hilton Head
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Everything was nice, from the staff to the scenery. A beautiful resort. The beach is easily accessible and clean. The pools and deck were also clean and short walk from our room. The room are very nice and spacious. The kitchen was extremely clean, as were the dishes and refrigerator.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    60
    18
    7
    4
See reviews for
98
39
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

If being beach front is what you want, this is a good location. We especially enjoyed the heated pool, hot tubs and fire pit. very nice and relaxing. The property itself shows its age, despite a recent renovation. The workmanship was shoddy at best, for example--dishwasher not properly installed and wouldn't shut without force, tub water spout sticks out from tile half an inch, curtains don't quite cover the length of the windows. The bathrooms are very spacious and beds very comfortable. The living room furniture is cute, but hard as a rock! The property also boasts many activities including shuffleboard, bean bag game, huge chess board, foosball (broken), coin operated boats (out of order), pool table (incomplete set of balls and set on an angle so all the balls roll downhill). We rented bikes for the week and had a great time pedaling all over the place. There is no restaurant on this property.

With the great location, this place could be fantastic with just a little attention to detail. For the price, one of the other Marriott properties on the island may be better choices.

Room Tip: The Azalea building is ocean front--request floor three or higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We had a two bedroom oceanside unit, 4th floor, corner unit. Recently renovated, it belied its 30-plus year age. Tastefully decorated, beautiful bathrooms and kitchen. Superb sunrises!!!! Unit was spacious and well equipped if you plan on cooking while staying there. Was surprised that we had daily maid service on an extended stay (Usually it's only midweek unless requested and paid extra for, but here it was included in the price). Very well groomed grounds. Sits directly on the beach, and oceanfront units aren't that much more expensive and are worth the extra tariff. Biggest complaint is SEVERE lack of parking; they have 112 units with 100 spaces and they will allow 2 guest vehicles per unit......do the math because nobody at Marriott did. We went off-season and the parking was terrible. New couches look good but are like sitting on wooden planks, the remaining furniture is attractive and functional. Its a drive to most restaurants, but CQ's in Sea Pines is close and fantastic! If you like walking the beach or playing golf, this is the place. Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Pay the extra money to be oceanfront, views from some units are nearly non-existent as Hilton Head d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, Montana, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

My parents have owned a time-share unit at Monarch for over 28 years and I can say nothing but good things about this resort. Over the course of their ownership, I have seen the property completely renovated several times, and the most recent updating just took place this winter. I can't wait to go in May and see our newly renovated unit. In general, the entire place is extremely well-maintained, the staff is very friendly and helpful and the location is gorgeous. Whether you are looking for a time-share or just a vacation stay, you should definitely check out Monarch at Sea Pines. Marriott manages this property very well.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the units right on the beach. Take advantage of the activities offered each week. Fun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

However, we the first to stay in a room that was recently renuvated and we had numerous issues.
The staff was very attentive and really jumped through hoops to rectify ALL issues with a sincere and caring demeanor.
The GM Birgit Koellner-Gozlan was personally involved and became our didicated "Go to" for the rest of our stay. Hopefully, when we come back next year for New Year's ALL of the bugs will be worked out.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

It is a little older but well kept,rooms are big had a 2bdr so the kids had a lot space to play. Pool is nice has nice gas grills on the property many family's had cookouts. No restaurant onsite but plenty are close by. Staff is very nice and helpful. Would definitely come back.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delta, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Had a Interval TS that we had to use so we traded for this over Christmas. Had a good time. The place is just about finish with renovations. We had a new 2 bedrm. and it was great. Marriot is first class.

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines

Address: 91 N Sea Pines Drive, Hilton Head, SC 29928
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 26 Hotels in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Monarch At Sea Pines Hotel Hilton Head
Marriotts Hilton Head
Marriotts Hotel Hilton Head
Marriott Hilton Head

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;