We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Customer service makes up for the outdated decor.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 Hotel Circle, Hilton Head, SC 29928   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Up To 20% Off Resorts
Ranked #15 of 26 hotels in Hilton Head
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Customer service makes up for the outdated decor.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We have not stayed at a true Marriott in quite a while so when we drove up and walked in the lobby, the decor looked the same! It is clean and very tidy but it is in need of a facelift. Once we walked up to the front desk, the exceptional customer service we experienced all week began. The clerk upgraded our room and was very cheerful. All the employees were polite, friendly and willing to help in an efficient manner. The location of the hotel was great and the beach was also nice. The beach patrol that you rent chairs from were also extremely nice. We had great lunches and cocktails by the beach and the other meals we had at the conference were good. Someone mentioned that the hotel was going to be renovated this year and I would have to say that it is in need of updating. The beds are tired and the carpeting in the rooms and main areas is worn. We would definitely go back as we found the employees were helpful and the location is super.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonHeadManagement, Manager at Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
babsped,
Thank you so much for posting this review of our property. We are so excited you were able to enjoy many or our amenities with our exceptional customer service! We will be undergoing a full renovation of our hotel over the next few months and are elated to have a new fresh product to deliver to our guests! We hope you come back to stay with us when it is completed as well so you may enjoy the new look we will have to offer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

918 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    271
    343
    181
    79
    44
See reviews for
279
315
28
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

The hotel is due a renovation beginning in the fall. The rooms were ok but not what you would expect from a 4 diamond hotel that has lost its luster. Some rooms have humidity problems with dampness, while others do not. This appears to be a chronic problem from previous reviews.Dehumidifiers are offered to help to resolve the issue. I found the staff wonderful and the food offerings were abundant. There is a $15 a day resort fee for an internet that was slow and sporadic. The pool service was inattentive while often ignoring the handy flags attached to the chairs. The bar service was great. The exterior property was nicely landscaped and the location is great.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonHeadManagement, Manager at Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
ResortMike,
Thank you for posting this review of our property. Guest feedback is the best toll we have to improve upon and better the guest experience. As you stated we will be undergoing a full renovation in the next upcoming months and look forwards to the new product we will have to offer to our guests once it is completed. I want to apologize for the service you received poolside and want to let you know we are already working on expanding our internet so that it will be faster and stronger for our guests. We are working with our team to fix temperature/humidity control in our rooms. We hope you do come back to visit soon so you can experience the changes we are implementing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We went for spring break this year and this continues to be one of our favorite hotels. It is a beautiful property with great amenities and beach front including a great beach front bar. We had lunch on property and it was very good and reasonably priced as well. Bike rentals were easy and reasonably priced as well. Our room was spacious and had a wonderful view. The only complaint we have is that they were having a fraternity formal while we were there. These young people did not know how to behave and were just a bunch of drunken idiots the entire time. Then I heard we had paid about 50 dollars more per night for our room than they did. That is simply not right and to be quite honest, this is not the place for a fraternity formal at all.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonHeadManagement, Manager at Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Teresa0206,
Thank you for posting this review of our property. Guest feedback is the best toll we have to improve upon and better the guest experience. We are so happy to hear you were able to enjoy our hotel and its many amenities. We do wish to apologize for your experience with one of the groups that stayed at the hotel while you stayed with us. We have instigated certain precautions due to some of the groups' actions and now have more security in place for these kinds of functions. We do apologize they affected your stay and hope you will continue to stay with us in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinez, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

My wife and I have had a terrible time with this hotel and we didn't even stay there!

My wife made reservations using our debit card - the money was immediately withdrawn from our account. We ended up having to cancel the reservation and did so online receiving a confirmation email. After a week or two without receiving the refund we called the hotel and were told they would process it. After still not receiving the refund we faxed them a request, along with the cancellation confirmation email. Still no response. Finally we called again and were told the refund would take 7-10 days!

When I asked what they were going to do in order to make us satisfied customers they offered me 10,000 points. When I asked how many points I needed for one night at their resort she responded 30,000. I said I thought for my time and effort I deserved at least that. She was obviously unhappy, but agreed.

I did receive a follow up email from the Assistant Manager that day saying the refund and points had been processed and that I could see the points as early as the next morning. Eight days later I still have no points.

Simply based on their customer service I will not be staying here or recommending it.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonHeadManagement, Manager at Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
DrJim61,
Thank you for posting this review of our property. Guest feedback is the best tool we have to improve upon and better the guest experience. I want to apologize for the lack of communication you experienced as well as the amount of time and effort it took for you to receive what you had asked for. We are doing our best to delight our guests not frustrate them. We do hope you change your mind about coming to stay with us and that we are able to create a favorable experience for you and your wife.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peachtree City, Georgia, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We had 2 rooms on opposite sides of main bldg on 3rd floor. One room was right above the bar (during National Assoc of Insurance Adjusters convention). During the 2 nights we were there, ended up cranking the fan to high on the A/C to drown out the noise from the bar. We had handicap room to accommodate for wheelchair. Only thing in bathroom to put personal bathroom stuff on was 12" square table, which was holding free shampoo, conditioner, etc. The other non-handicap room had ample counter space. Handicap room had large soaking wet spot in carpet in front of sliding glass door. The other room had water literally pouring from ceiling outside door entrance. Hotel placed large garbage can in hallway to collect water and knocked off $40 for inconvenience. One of the lamps was missing lightbulb, another lamp had blown lightbulb, both were fixed.

Outside of the rooms, everything was pretty good! Pools were great for the kids, easy access to the beach, ate lunch at the pool bar. The only thing that leaves bad taste in mouth is the price we paid for crappy room conditions!! There was only $40-60 difference between handicap resort view and oceanfront view. Just figured that to pay that much, would've expected more from the Marriott. Will probably go back, but, at different time of the year, and ask for room on 4th floor or higher. Hopefully the money they charge will go to a room renovation before we come back?

Room Tip: 3rd floor rooms open up to lobby area AND bar!! You can hear everything that goes on downstairs. B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonHeadManagement, Manager at Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Tina G,
Thank you for posting this review of our property. Guest feedback is the best tool we have to improve upon and better the guest experience. I want to apologize for the leaks you encountered while staying with us. Also to apologize for the location of your room as we do try to keep the group members in the areas they will be in for their conventions. We are working on the best plan of action to take during the renovation to ensure our guests do not continue to experience these problems. I did want to let you know we will be undergoing a full renovation of the hotel withing the next few months and hope you intend to return after that time! I am glad you enjoyed everything aside from your poor experience in the rooms. Summer time is the islands busiest season another alternative would be to come during the spring time when its just warming up or the fall as it just starts to cool off if you are still looking for some beach time! We hope that when you do return you email us at hiltonheadays@columbiasussex.com so that we may better assist you with your room selection for your next trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

After reading all the mixed reviews, I was prepared for the worst - dated, noisy rooms, bad service - and was very pleasantly surprised.

First impressions are everything, and Thomas at the front desk was wonderful. (The woman at checkout was not a winner, but you can't win them all.) He extended our checkout time since we arrived late and upgraded our room when I mentioned that this was our first family trip with the baby. When I expressed concerns about the thin walls I kept hearing about online, he assured me we'd be fine but would be happy to help if there was anything we needed.

Our room was on the fifth floor of the main building and there were guests next door, but we never heard a thing. And the view was fabulous!

Sure it wasn't perfect. Our bed was a bit saggy. There was cracked paint on our wall, it was damp and the a/c was loud. But come on, everyone leaves their windows open to the balmy sea air; it's going to affect the room.

And yes, the grout around the pool needs to be redone, but the pools themselves were great. And I have to disagree with poor reviews of the poolside service and seating. Both were top notch for us.

Needless to say the beachfront access and central location on the island were stellar. I would definitely come back and recommend this hotel to friends.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonHeadManagement, Manager at Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Chenwilliams,
Thank you so much for posting this review of our property. We are so excited to hear your trip was much better than you had expected and that our staff were able to be so accommodating for your family. We will be undergoing a full renovation in the next few months and would love to have you come and stay with us! After our renovation is complete we will have fresh new rooms and a fresh new look for our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Springs MS USA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Ok so here on a convention and as such lower standards prevail. But this place is stuck in the 80's! Room smells moldy which is evident on vents. One look at phone shows never dusted or cleaned for a looong while!

Did not eat but lounge bar a joke if Jim is in residence. Makes bar tending look as tough as coal mining! Chris on other hand a gem at outdoor bar.

The point is unless you MUST be here for a conference DON'T.

Room Tip: Don't come here!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonHeadManagement, Manager at Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Nickshellie,
Thank you for posting this review of our property. Guest feedbacks are the best training tools for our staff to see what we need to improve upon. Firstly I want to apologize for the housekeeping service you received through the smell of the room, and poor cleaning. Also I would like to apologize for the service you received at the bar. I have discussed these issues with our food and beverage and housekeeping staff to see how we can ensure that this does not happen again. I will be sure that Chris receives recognition for assisting you at the outdoor bar. We are undergoing a full renovation starting in the next few months and do hope that you will reconsider your opposition to our hotel as it will be a fresh new product and we would love to have you come back. Please email us at hiltonheadays@columbiasussex.com so that we can see what we can do for any future stays you may consider to have with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa

Also Known As:
Hilton Head Marriott Hotel Hilton Head
Hilton Head Marriott Resort And Spa
Hilton Head Marriott Hotel
Marriott Hilton Head
Hilton Head Marriott
Address: 1 Hotel Circle, Hilton Head, SC 29928
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hilton Head
#5 Luxury Hotel in Hilton Head
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Hilton Head
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A corporate-style hotel where the majority of guests are there for business - many with children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.