We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some work needed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 Hotel Circle, Hilton Head, SC 29928   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Nightly Credit
Ranked #17 of 26 hotels in Hilton Head
Macon, Georgia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Some work needed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Let me start by contrasting this resort with the other ocean front resorts on the Island. The main building is 10 storys high as it was built before the town wisely legislated a 5 story max height on buildings thus saving HHI from the fate of Miami Beach. Also it is genuinely ocean front, there being nothing between the main building and the beach other than two large swimming pools. Some visitors prefer this to the large set back with landscaped lagoons provided by the Westin, Omni and Sonesta.

Our check in was brisk and efficient. We were refused an upgrade (we were using points) although there were unoccupied ocean view rooms. You would think Marriott would put it together that clients with large point accumulations and two paid stays in the last month might be worth spoiling. Anyhow, we did get a high floor room with a resort (aka parking lot) view.

The room was large as was the bathroom with two decent sized closets and plush bath robes. Unfortunately, some of the furniture, the phone and the TV remote were contaminated with food residue of some sort. The shampoo, conditioner and lotions had obviously been used. The staff quckly put all this to rights blaming newly hired and not yet fully trained seasonal staff.

The provison of TV channels was the most compehensive yet experienced on HHI.

The weather ws not conducive to using the outdoor pools. The indoor pool was nice but a tad small for lap swimming.

Our first nigh was sleepless owing to a totally shot mattress. You could push down on it with one finger and reach the box spring with zero difficulty. The hotel replaced it the next morning.

The hotel is due for a refurb in the fall, following similar measures at the other resorts. Should be interesting and maybe they will get back to Marriott's usually high standards.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,011 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    294
    368
    207
    91
    51
See reviews for
309
350
29
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, MN
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I just read the previous review of this property stating:

Employees - The people are friendly, to a fault. They'll all using the new norm of EXCESSIVE formality - something you'd hear from a call center employee. While this isn't really a complaint, it needs to be toned down. It comes across as really fake.

Really? How can they be fake? The valets were friendly and graciously to me and my husband, regardless of whether we had a car for them to park or not. Arriving or leaving the hotel, they greeted us with, "Good morning," or "Happy St. Patrick's Day." Neither of which seem excessively formal to me. Since they never parked our car (we typically park our own) the valets treated us with the same friendly manners as the guests who used their services. I thought the staff was both friendly and authentic.

I will agree with the previous reviewer's comment that this property does need to be updated. Uncomplicated and easy design changes to the hotel's current decor could provide instant style and panache.

Other than the decor, my only other suggestion that the hotel should either turn the volume down or eliminate the poolside music.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Missouri
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We just returned, after checking out early, from the Hilton Head Marriott. Here's a listing of specifics:

Valet - Valet is $18 per day plus tax. That's par for the course and a price we expected to pay. The problem came with the valet attendants. Wow, are they tip hungry. As soon as your car is brought up, they're looking at your hand for money. If the money isn't readily visible, be prepared for a lengthy conversation until cash exchanges hands.

Employees - The people are friendly, to a fault. They'll all using the new norm of EXCESSIVE formality - something you'd hear from a call center employee. While this isn't really a complaint, it needs to be toned down. It comes across as really fake.

The Room - It's apparent that this place is in major need of an update. It seems that the furniture/curtains/carpet haven't received an update since the late 1990s. The furniture is worn, the carpet is showing wear, and there's a lack of a functional desk/chair. So, it's difficult to accomplish any type of work comfortably. The bathroom seems as if it may have received a refresh somewhat recently. That said, the lighting was poor and the shower had weak water pressure.

Noise levels - I swear the room above us was moving furniture the entire night. All we heard were chairs scooting across the floor the whole night. We could also hear the rooms next door very well. We could also hear all movement and conversations in the hall. This place is LOUD. Don't expect a peaceful stay.

The pool/beach - This is the saving grace of this hotel. The pool is a great size with an awesome deck. The beach is large and clean. Unfortunately the weather was cool so we couldn't enjoy the beach, but I could imagine it's a great place to be in the summer.

Will we return? To Hilton Head, yes. To this hotel, no - unless it receives a major refresh.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

As a Marriott Gold Member I've stayed in a number of Marriott's. While this hotel is a bit older the location is unbeatable. A great value for such a pristine location. In addition to being steps away from the ocean it's also in a convenient location on the Island. Indoor pool, very large outdoor pool and multiple hot tubs are a plus. The staff was friendly and extremely helpful. There are a few drawbacks such as limited restaurant service, outdoor pool wasn't heated, full versus queen beds and thin walls. However, with proper expectations and a positive attitude you'll find this a great place to stay on HHI.

Room Tip: We opted for a smaller room oceanfront versus larger room oceanview and weren't disappointed. Fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We only had a brief overnight but the staff was very good at this property. Front desk and concierge were particularly warm and welcoming. It is large and spread out so consider whether you want to request a room near the elevators to be able to get around more quickly. Room was clean and efficient and up to expectation. Nice access to beach and I really liked the hammock section. Enjoyed a short swing around the island and would enjoy a return trip.

Room Tip: Long hallways - decide whether to request to be nearer an elevator. Rooms facing the ocean are more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simpsonville, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Pros:
Great Location, Great Property, Great Pool
Cons:
No free WiFi. No linen for the fold-out bed. Not enough towels. Took a long time to delivery linen and when they finally did, the children were already asleep.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Me and my husband stayed at the Marriott Hilton Head Resort and Spa last weekend for a bit of rest and relaxation. It is a very nice hotel and the whole HIlton Head Island is very relaxing. No hustle and bustle like so many of the beaches in South Carolina. Our room was very clean and comfortable. The furniture was a bit old and banged up but that didn't matter. The heat/AC was great and easy to control. The staff at the front desk and throughout the hotel were very nice and accommodating. We did not eat at the hotel for any meals because we knew there were several restaurants on the island with good reviews that we wanted to try out. I am reviewing them separately - The Hilton Head Diner, Steamers, The Salty Dog Café and Paulie's Coal Fired Pizza. The location of the hotel is awesome. You can walk to the huge bike and kayak rental spot. I understand that you can get bikes at this hotel also. We gave some thought about kayaking the beautiful waterway nearby but chose resting instead. My only problem with this hotel is the pricing during the peak season. It costs almost four times the amount we paid during the off season. Not sure it's worth paying that much for? We most likely will go back again in the off season.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa

Address: 1 Hotel Circle, Hilton Head, SC 29928
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Hilton Head
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Hilton Head
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A corporate-style hotel where the majority of guests are there for business - many with children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Head Marriott Hotel Hilton Head
Hilton Head Marriott Resort And Spa
Marriott Hilton Head

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.