We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Different than other Marriott stays” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Barony Beach Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Marriott's Barony Beach Club to your Saves list
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5 Grasslawn Avenue, Hilton Head, SC 29928   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rewards Members Save 25%
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in Hilton Head
1 review
“Different than other Marriott stays”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

This is our second time to Hilton Head, but the first time on this property. The property is set up for families and offers a lot of games, etc to keep them busy. We were disappointed to see they do not offer such services as providing new beach towels for free. This is the first property we have been to that does not offer this. The rooms are also a little older, but very clean.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    117
    32
    11
    7
See reviews for
229
84
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sicklerville, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

This resort is tucked away from the road. Its a beautiful resort with a nice beach. There was a lot of families with children and they all seemed to enjoy themselves @ the pool or beach. Our room was to far from the beach but the resort has a golf cart shuttle service to help w/ that. The "Garden Villas" are not the what I consider "Garden Villas" due to the layout of this resort. The staff is Very Nice and Very Helpful. I would definitely consider going back again. Even though I feel the amount of points is really out of line. I would recommend this place to anyone who is looking for a relaxing vacation. But not to anyone looking for "Nightlife".

Room Tip: All the rooms are well appointed. Take the room location that suits your need the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Barony Beach Club, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Thank you for your review Eric! We are happy to hear you enjoyed the resort and the beautiful beach. We hope you will be able to return again on your next vacation on Hilton Head Island!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wake Forest, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We enjoyed our trip to Barony Beach Club this past June. The resort is a bit more remotely located on the northern end of HHI than other Marriott Vacation Club properties on the island. While the room was conveniently located to the pool and the beach, we were a bit disappointed that the resort assigned us an accessible room although I am a Gold Elite member of Marriott Rewards. The BBC is an excellent place to stay for a family beach vacation, and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

This was our 15th season staying at Barony Beach and the overall appearance remains very high. Improvements are constantly being made so the investment of the time-share owners is assured. Our grandsons have vacationed at Barony Beach since they were toddlers and they are still finding enjoyment in our stays there.
The staff is always very, especially Ms. Nettie and John the Concierge. Any problem in the unit, and Engineer is right there. Issac at the bike rental stand has done a wonderful job for years.
The beach in front of BB is wide and clean and goes for miles. To the other side of the Westin Hotel are private homes along the beach, so there are very few people going in that direction. We enjoy that area of the beach because the shelling is superb and the beach is a wonderful place for bike riding. This year there were very few days of pounding surf, so the skim boarding was also excellent.
This year new, improved, boardwalks were installed from the pool area to the sand. The structures are a visual improvement, but be warning, the walking surface of the boardwalks get hotter than the sand. Many a child just touched them and cried. I am sure the management will have those hot boards somehow corrected very soon.
This year we tried a new Gulah restaurant and the food was excellent although the seating and service was somewhat chaotic, but it was a fun evening. BYOB with no uncorking fees. We probably will not be able to get a seat next year, but try Roasted Fish and Cornbread.
Hats off to the management for preserving the property so very well

Room Tip: Have John make those dinner reservations for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Barony Beach Club, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you for joining us for your 15th visit! We truly appreciate your kind words and are happy to be your destination of choice on HIlton Head Island. We look forward to your 16th visit and thank you for your TripAdvisor review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland area
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We just returned home from a week in HH at Marriott Barony Beach club. Our top notch 2 bedroom unit helped to make the trip a memorable one. Their well manicured , clean facilities in an outstanding location near the ocean are hard to beat. We also particularly enjoyed the pools and other outdoor activities.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

The best part is the rooms themselves. They are large and can easily accommodate 4-6 people. Everything was clean and worked well in the suite. The kitchen was well-equipped and there all kinds of dishes, pots and pans. The beach was at the front and very nice, though we had no view of it. The grounds were clean and the service was great except for what is mentioned below:

Now to the main reason why I would not go back: There were 2 pools which were small and shallow (4.5 ft at the deepest). There was lots of families whose young kids dominated the pools the entire time. For us, relaxing and enjoying the pool is a big part of the vacation. In this place that seemed impossible. If you are not families with young kids, this place is likely not for you, but if you are, then it's probably great.

Another point. Marriott needs to cool it with the solicitation about buying timeshare. We booked this place like we booked any other hotel room. We didn't know were booking a timeshare. We are young adults and have zero interest in buying timeshare here or anywhere. 1 week before the stay they call pretending to help you with your stay but the purpose of the call is nothing but to get you to think about buying timeshare. Then again at check-in, they do the same, and finally they call while through your stay. We answered that were not interested in the call before the stay and at check-in, so don't call us anymore through the stay. They also have some people roaming around the resort "current owners", who sometimes I doubted their true identity, given the exact timing of when they show up to give their testimonials about how great ownership is (like right at check-in when concierge was trying to get us to sign up for the session).

Another catch related to the above is at check-in, they try to make you feel like 2nd class guests saying that the rooms you booked not available and reserved for the timeshare owners, and then they send you over to the guy who is "nice" enough to help you become a timeshare owner.

Room Tip: they tell you have to become Marriott timeshare owner to get a good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Barony Beach Club, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you for your TripAdvisor review for Marriott's Barony Beach Club. We are pleased to hear the villa exceeded your expectations during your stay with us. Your feedback regarding solicitation is appreciated and will be shared with the appropriate managers. Thank you for being a loyal Marriott guest and for visiting us in Hilton Head Island!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

We have been oceanfront owners since inception of Barony's opening and each summer look forward to our vacation. I am dreading next years vacation. Our room was dirty and worn, mold in the shower torn chair in the bedroom. We invited our kids friends this year and the first thing my daughter asked was why did we get downgraded! We did voice our concern and was told upgrades were put off due to the building of the pool slide, it will be probably 2 more years! Deferring upgrades is no excuse for dirty, worn rooms, the Marriott should be embarrassed! Never thought I would consider another property but maybe our home property is past it's prime.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Barony Beach Club, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you for visiting Marriott's Barony Beach Club. We appreciate your feedback on your recent stay and apologize the villa did not meet your expectations. The resort is currently in the planning stages for upcoming villa renovations and we know you will be pleased with new look. Thank you for being an owner and we look forward to truly exceeding your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott's Barony Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Barony Beach Club

Address: 5 Grasslawn Avenue, Hilton Head, SC 29928
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Hilton Head
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Barony Beach Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 255
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Marriott's Barony Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Barony Beach Club Hotel Hilton Head
Marriott Barony Beach Hotel
Marriott Hilton Head
Hilton Head Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Barony Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.